We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous”
Review of Munsinger Gardens

Munsinger Gardens
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Saint Cloud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located along the scenic Mississippi River, these gardens are known for their shade-loving plants including numerous hostas and ferns.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a fantastic free activity in the St Cloud area. It is only open during summer, since it is entirely outdoors. It is quite a good size and they are continuously expanding. There is a wide variety of flowers including a garden area just for all different kinds of roses. They have an area that is divided into colors, such as all flowers are purple and blue, or all flowers and plants are red, or white. It is quite stunning. They also have a number of benches, fountains and swings along the paths. The Mississippi river goes past the gardens, and ends in a dam at the edge, which is fun for kids to watch. They have a peacock pen on site as well as a small gift shop that is open limited hours. If you check on the website, you can find days that they have music or art in the gardens. IMPORTANT: If you park at the top of the gardens, go around the bushes and follow the path to the bottom gardens. If you park at the top, follow the path up the hill to the top gardens. You do not readily see one half from the other, you have to know that it is there. And you do not want to miss either one!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank FoderickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    51
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Sunday Afternoon...”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

So, it was a beautiful Sunday morning in the middle of the summer, and my wife suggested that we drive to St. Cloud to enjoy Munsinger Garden. We did so. And, although the afternoon was hot, we thoroughly enjoyed the stroll through the gardens. We ran into some friends with the same idea. It was just beautiful.

We have visited a variety of botanical gardens across the United States and Canada, and Munsinger is among the best. It is a great collection of gardens and plantings that should not be missed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rdeank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rose Lovers Delight”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Munsinger Gardens is the perfect place to meander through multiple gardens of roses of every color imaginable. Although there were other varieties of flowers intermingled, the roses are what stick in my memory. When my husband and I visited, there was a wedding party having their pictures taken, but there are so many areas to stroll through, that you didn't feel you were in their way. It is truly an oasis in a busy city, one well worth the a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank camaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Love going through each garden and then relaxing beside the Mississippi River, some of the most beautiful flowers!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mkm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Flower lovers heaven.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This has all varities of flowers and next to a beautiful Rose garden.
Site of many weddings. Area covers several blocks. Also has a gift store with garden items available.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank B Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munsinger Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Munsinger Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing