We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overnight experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Saint Cloud
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good overnight experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was traveling to St. Cloud for a business meeting and did not get in until around midnight. I was greeted at the front desk by a very personable young man named Joe.

He offered me a nice big suite and I told him it was midnight and that I just needed a simple bed to fall into and get some sleep. When he told me the price I thought it was a little high and he worked with me on things like AAA memberships to get a rate that I could accept.

The room was clean and well stocked. I liked the nice toiletries that were provided. Nice size flat screen TV with a reasonable number of channel selections.

The one thing that I didn't like was that there was only a sheet and a comforter on the bed. I am a bit of a germ freak and always pull the comforter off the bed. So that left me with only the sheet.

I didn't go down for breakfast but it was free and available. Pool area looked nice and clean and is open 24 hours a day. Wi-fi was solid and I enjoyed a snicker doodle cookie from the front desk when I checked out.

When I left I wanted to change the card that they had billed at check in to a different one and Samantha was eager to help and very delightful.

Compared to some other Country Inn and Suites I have stayed at this one is showing it's age a little but nothing serious. I think that the price is a little too steep but overall I would say go for it if you are in the area. Lots of good restaurants and services are near by.

Room Tip: Second or third floor would likely be best to avoid the traffic of the lobby during busy times and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheesehead88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    72
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
118
37
11
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The complimentary breakfast at this Country Inn & Suites was exceptional - the eggs were real, not powdered as some had served us! All the food was great and the attendant was cheerful and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and well furnished, including a frig & microwave. This particular inn was especially good - but the Country Inn & Suites are generally great and a good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

First, the qualification: We apparently got the last room in the hotel, which turned out to be a smoking room that (not surprisingly) smelled like smoke. I didn't even think to ask about this since it has been a long time since I've even stayed in a hotel that allowed smoking in any of its rooms. The person who checked us in didn't tell us this prior to renting it to us, which I think she should have. So, the qualification is to be sure to verify that the room is nonsmoking (if desired) before checking in.
Now for the good: The hotel was generally clean, comfortable, quiet, and the staff was very friendly. Nice pool and whirlpool, as well. Breakfast was very good. The best part of all, however, was the truly outstanding woman, Brenda, who manages the breakfast area: She was extremely sweet, kind, and helpful, and clearly went out of her way (and seemed to love it) to make sure her guests were happy. We would stay there again just to see her. (But in a non-smoking room this time!)

Room Tip: Ensure non-smoking room if a non-smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky Country
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stopped here without a reservation after the Fairfield in across the parking lot could not accommodation us. Nice room. Great breakfast. Kids had fun in pool and hot tube. All clean and vey friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

After two days on the road, their hot tub was a blessing, with powerful jets and a clean pool area. The room itself wasn't fancy but it was clean, nice, and super comfortable. The bed was absolutely wonderful--I slept so well that I didn't want to leave. Great pillows and a perfect mattress: not too soft, definitely not too hard (though my partner prefers a harder mattress). The continental breakfast was a little nicer than most, with eggs, sausage, gravy, oatmeal, along with the normal cereals, breads, and waffles. The staff was also attentive and pleasant. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soulplanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel was very welcoming from when we walked in. EXCELLENT breakfast, pool area. The rooms are adequate, clean and the beds are mid grade quality.The only down side in the room was they have 3 pillows per bed. I asked for extra pillows and we were told that they were out. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdhockeytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

My brother and I go to Country Inn about every 5 weeks for rest and visiting family.
We have always been very satisfied with everything including room, food, atmosphere and the staff. Especially Jackie, Brenda, Samantha and Mary. We have come to know them as friends.
They all make our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Cloud hotels
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton St Cloud
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
Hampton Inn & Suites St Cloud
#2 of 19 in Saint Cloud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn
#4 of 19 in Saint Cloud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud East
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 19 in Saint Cloud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel St Cloud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West
Address: 235 Park Avenue South, Saint Cloud, MN 56301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Saint Cloud
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Cloud
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Cloud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Cloud West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Saint Cloud
Saint Cloud Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing