We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Rushville Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed just one night but, wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Motel. Nice room, comfortable bed, accommodating staff. Pleased in every way. In town for a appointment at Mayo. Easy access to Medical facilities. Plenty of dining options close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marty69360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Marty, thank you for taking time to respond about your stay here at Rochester EconoLodge.
We hope you choose us the next time you come back to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    56
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
62
52
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

For what it is -- a budget motel -- it probably is among the best of that class of motel. It is a very nice, sparkling clean place, and the price is certainly right. BUT - and this is a big BUT -- the mattresses are among the worst I've ever spent a night on. I didn't choose to stay there - I was with other people who picked this motel. After two nights, my back was crippled. Never again. Whatever we may have saved in price - I more than spent in chiropractic bills.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the opportunity to let our potential guests know what type of mattresses we have.
The Mattress you slept on was a Simmons Beautyrest with a 1.5" pillowtop. All our mattresses are this equivalent. We then encase the mattress with a Bed Bug protection enclosure, then add a 1" mattress pad to the top.
I can see by your Trip Advisor review of the Kahler hotel that your preference is in a firm or hard feeling mattress. Ours have a soft top, and a firm base and are a 1 step upgrade from the industry standard for our Choice Hotels brand. We do not want to disappoint guests, and for people looking for a very firm or hard mattress in Rochester we may not be your hotel of choice.
I apologize our mattress did not meet your specifications for what a good mattress is and I will forward your comment to Simmons.
A suggestion to all hotel guests: If the mattress is what you consider very important to you, I would suggest you ask to see the room and check out the mattress before you check in to any hotel. That tip is for free. :) :)

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

As Econo Lodges go, this is definitely one of the better ones out there. We would definitely consider this property again if we had another stay in Rochester in the future.

My wife and I stayed here during a fairly long road trip through the Plains and Midwest for just one night. The property is located on one of the main roads into Rochester, but despite the volume of traffic, the rooms were fairly insulated from traffic noise.

The room decor was distinctly homey with unique touches that added to that motif (e.g. the towel animals.) Beds were comfy, and the rooms were clean and came with free wi-fi, coffee, refrigerators, and hi-definition TVs with cable access.

Staff was very friendly; they were more to happy to get a picture of us and a friend, who had come by to pick us up to go into downtown Rochester for dinner.

Continental breakfast was a bit more expansive than normal (this spread had donuts as an option) but for those who feel the need for something a little more hearty, hotel guests get a 10% discount at the Perkins Restaurant next door.

The hotel has a shuttle that goes to the Mayo Clinic; as other reviewers have mentioned, it makes visiting the clinic much more affordable for those who have business there.

If you need to be downtown or really close a particular location (e.g. the Mayo Clinic), then the Econo Lodge might not be for you. Otherwise, this Econo Lodge should be at the top of your consideration list if you're looking for a great value in a hotel..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JO2TheSecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments. It sounds like you are familiar with the EconoLodge brand. I hope you had a great trip. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for the first time toward the end of February 2014 and we were quite impressed. This is a budget hotel so don't expect anything super-fancy, but they've executed on the concept of low-cost extremely well. Everything is clean, fresh and operates well. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Sometimes it's the little things that can make a big difference...case in point, we found a towel origami elephant in the bathroom (see photo). It just shows that the staff cares enough to add an unusual and personal touch. It certainly made us smile after a long day on the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Ken,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the nice comments you've made! The housekeepers are great at adding a personal touch to each room they clean. Your positive feedback will be much appreciated by the housekeeping staff and I look forward to sharing your comments with them! Thank you again for the great review.

We look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klemme, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

First time staying at this Rochester property and was pleasantly surprised at the comfort, cleanliness of the room and helpfulness of the staff. A four inch snowfall buried our car overnight and the hotel had the lot cleared, snow manually removed beside and behind our car, and blew the snow off the car before check out time. Truly service above and beyond that of most facilities. Breakfast was good and the towel animals really made us smile. In the past we have stayed at other facilities closer to the Mayo Clinic for much more money and less service. Won't make that mistake again. This will be our destination from now on. It is also convenient to a Perkins 24 hour restaurant and other area restaurants offer delivery. As a Choice Rewards member our checkout time is 2pm and the Mayo Shuttle stops hourly. This makes our Mayo Clinic visit much easier.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveler529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate the high scores and all the positive feedback. I'm very pleased to know that we gave you great service during your stay. We have a great staff and the housekeepers work very hard to keep the rooms clean! I am very pleased you decided to give us a try during your recent stay in Rochester.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, MN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is a great property! Pleasant staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfast; basically everything you could ask for, and more! They go far above and beyond what you will often find in similar brand properties. Just a couple of examples that I rarely see in similar properties; plenty of outlets for the electronic gadgets we all need to charge overnight, and the extra touch of housekeeping taking the time to make cute "towel animals"! That brought a smile at the end of a LONG day, which just makes you feel really good about the choice you made for the night! Thanks so much! I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcherFKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Steve,

I'm happy to hear that our hotel was "everything you could ask for, and more!" What a compliment! I'm so pleased you had a great stay at our hotel, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeepers! A little encouragement can go a long way, and your comments will make their day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I booked this based on the reviews and was not disappointed. The room was comfortable as well as the bed. We really didn't hear much noise from the hallway. Overall a quiet stay. Breakfast was good and they kept it refilled pretty well. Someone from housekeeping apparently has an artistic touch and turned some of the linens into an elephant in the bathroom. This was one of the first things we saw and it set the mood for the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, General Manager at Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
lockpak,

I'm happy to hear the reviews rang true. We appreciate you taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review, yourself. The fun towel designs are a creative touch that our housekeepers came up with! We have a great team of staff, and I will be sure to let our housekeepers know that you enjoyed that extra touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 52 in Rochester
1,213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
1.6 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 1850 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight consecutive year Platinum Award Winning hotel by Choice Hotels International is family owned and operated. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Hot Breakfast that includes Biscuits and Gravy, Eggs, Canadian Turkey-Bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing