We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to St Mary's Hospital, good free hot breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Handy to St Mary's Hospital, good free hot breakfast”
Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel is the all suites Springhill Suites but keep in mind it's not as nice as the Courtyard down the street. This hotel has free parking along with the breakfast but other than that I would pay a little more to sta at the Courtyard. Overall this hotel OK. Rooms were clean but entryway is dirty, outdated silk flowers in the lobby, nice pool. It is fine for an overnight stay. We didn't have to sign any contract for being quiet. Just me & my mom stayed while my dad was in the hospital. We booked online for $101 plus tax - $111. At the Courtyard we paid $89 plus tax plus parking but it's a much nicer hotel. Beds were comfy but they are only double beds. I would not stay again as I just didn't think it was very clean. Would be fine for a family wanting the free breakfast in the AM. Pool is very small but at least they have one...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    134
    61
    31
    10
See reviews for
234
75
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We've had 2 stays in February/March, each for 10 days, and really enjoyed the hotel. The staff was so accomodating. We came for the Mayo Clinic so we were under a lot of stress. This hotel clearly caters to the Mayo patients. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. They even cleaned snow off the cars. We had an appointment after check out and they let us keep our car in the lot so we wouldn't have to pay for parking at the clinic. Free breakfast was great. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling for medical reasons. This hotel certainly knows that their core guests are here for Mayo Clinic appointments. We'll be coming back in August and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Liked: Guestroom doors do not slam, brightly lit hallways, room painted sunny yellow color, comfy soft beds, separate desk area far from beds, nice continental breakfast, super clean public areas, sun pours in even number windows in AM.

Did not like: Open closet in room, no name in room coffee, one slow elevator, closet designed as a business center, popcorn ceilings, spot painted walls in room, heavy walkers in corridors can be heard a mile away.

What a difference a few days makes. No annoying kids to be seen during my stay of 3/19/2009. Hotel was very clean and bright. Overall very quiet although I was staying on 4th floor which I recommend. You may wish to take the stairs though unless you don't mind waiting a bit for the elevator.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snappyinchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We should have known something was amiss when check-in consisted of signing a paper about not partying after 10 at night.

Since this hotel is right across the street from St. Mary's Hospital and the Mayo Clinic shuttle stops at the front door, we thought Springhill suites would cater to people trying to remember when their next medical appt. was scheduled.

Alas, the real appeal is to sports teams. Since each "suite" has a sofa bed, you can pack up to 6 kids to a room and feed them all for free at the breakfast buffet. Then there is the pool, where they can gather and relax between basketball games, swim meets, etc.

One elevator and hundreds of kids going up and down means you take the stairs a lot.

They descend on the breakfast buffet like locusts. The hotel puts out a nice selection, but you need to get up early to take advantage of it.

If you want to use a computer in the business area, ask a staff member to enforce the 18 and over rule. Otherwise, forget about it.

I assume many guests have a calmer experience than we had. After all, how many basketball tournaments and regional swim meets can there possible be?

But as you can imagine, a hotel with this many young guests takes a beating. Our mattress had several stains. The towels had seen better days. And so forth.

If you have bunch of kids that you need to house and feed for a few days in Rochester, this is the place.

However, if you're looking for a calm place to relax between medical appts. or you have business you need to attend to, surely there has got to be somewhere in Rochester that caters to adults.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScreenwriterPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, Management representative at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, April 7, 2009
Thank you for the feedback. With our location being directly across from Saint Marys hospital, we do our best to cater to medical patients and guests. We sincerely apologize that you had a less then relaxing stay at the Springhill Suites during your visit. Your feedback helps us to improve customer satisfaction and we are grateful for your comments. On the rare occasion when there is a youth sporting event such as this, we do our best to inform those teams that the majority of our guests are visiting the hospital. We ask them to be respectful of other guests' need for rest and relaxation. You will also be pleased to know that, since your visit, we have replaced all of the beds in the hotel. Again, thank you for your feedback. If you are ever in the area again, we hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a kids tournament. Upon arriving, the staff was rude to me at check in. They offered no help with parking, (which is limited,) and made no effort to tell me where to park safely. We all had to sign "conduct forms", concerning curfews, smoking etc, which I am happy to do. After a late game, we slept and in the morning found an evection notice under our door. After contacting the manager, sure that this was as error, was told that someone made noise, even thought it was not my family, everyone had to go. I contacted the main office, only to be told that this was the hotel manager's choice. The manager called me and told me that this was too bad for me, even though I did nothing wrong. I packed up my baby and son, mid winter, and went to another hotel. We will never stay at a Marriot Hotel again.
Thank you for ;your time.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The rude staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, VP, Sales & Marketing at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, April 7, 2009
Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us in Rochester. We take all feedback very seriously and work hard to make each guest who stays with us feel welcome and appreciated. We are disappointed you did not have a great experience and apologize sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

A family member was having heart surgery at St. Marys and we stayed at the Springhill Suites in Rochester for 5 nights. The location is great, across the street from St Mary's hospital and about a mile away from the Mayo Clinic in downtown Rochester.

Our room was about the same size as a regular hotel room, but the layout made good use of space. A divider in the middle of the room separates the sleeping area from a small living room area with a desk and kitchenette. The small pool was nice and clean. It is big enough to get wet, but too small to actually swim more than a few strokes. However, the kids loved it. Breakfast was adequate, but arrive early. We showed up after 8 a couple of mornings and there was not much left.

The staff is what really made our stay enjoyable. They are very accomodating and friendly. Most of the guests are family and friends of Mayo patients and the staff goes above and beyond the call of duty. On a rainy day, the front desk gave us an umbrella as we walked out the door. We even left some items in the room and the hotel called us and offered to ship them to us before we even noticed we left anything. I can honestly say that is the first time I have ever experienced that!

This is a great choice for an extended stay. However, we had some family staying at the Courtyard two blocks away which actually has larger rooms and a slightly better location. It is also a newer property. The trade-off is that the cost was about $30/night without breakfast.

  • Liked — Location (St. Mary's Hospital)
  • Disliked — Breakfast items ran out quickly and were not re-stocked.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jalpnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Arriving from NYC with a terrible hotel experience, everything was fine at this hotel. Good value, welcoming staff helped a lot. Obviously not a luxury hotel but great for the price, clean, quiet rooms. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rbvfontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.6 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#8 of 52 in Rochester
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
1,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Property: SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Address: 1125 2nd St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rochester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#19 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each spacious studio suite features separate sleeping, eating and working areas. Amenities include Complimentary High-Speed Internet access, a pull-out sofa bed, pantry area with mini-refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, a large desk and 2-line telephones. We'll get you started each day with a complimentary breakfast buffet. Free local calls, business center, free parking and free Mayo Clinic and airport shuttles. Located across from St. Marys Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary`s Hotel Rochester
Springhill Suites Rochester
Rochester Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing