We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Value and Big Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1125 2nd Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Brookston, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value and Big Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive hotel in the Rochester area for a quick visit due to a funeral. We were pleasently surprised by how big the room was. We had a king bed with a coach and wet bar area. The bathroom was a decent size as well. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly. Would stay here again for the value. The beds were very comfortable and did not wake up with back aching like at some hotels. The pool was heated though the air inside the pool area was pretty chilly so my 2 year old and I only swam for about 20 minutes tops. Breakfast was alright and had option of waffle or eggs and sausage with some fruits, yogurt , bagels and oatmeal, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringhillGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us at the SpringHill Suites. Your remarks on room cleanliness, staff friendliness, and room comfort was very much appreciated. Thank you again, and we look forward to future visits when in Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    121
    52
    25
    7
See reviews for
202
66
46
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel is well maintained. Staff was very customer focused. Only drawback was the breakfast area. My stay was over a Saturday night and the breakfast area was understaffed on the following Sunday morning. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WI_Parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringhillGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. Our team takes great satisfaction in provided excellent guest service. Thank you again, and we look forward to any future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has been updated in the last year. The rooms are bright and cheerful (light blue, greens and gray). We had a couch area,a small kitchenette (wet bar, microwave, small fridge) a desk two double beds. The room was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. They had a breakfast bar in the lobby. It was a nice place to have breakfast or a snack later in the day. The pool/hot tub/ workout room was next to the lobby and was small but clean and perfect for kids. I liked the fact that they had free parking but be warned the parking gets full. The location is perfect for those who need to visit the Mayo and St Mary's. The hotel is across the street from the St Mary's front door. Downtown Rochester is in the middle of major street repair and at the time of the post, it was right near the hotel. So keep this in mind when travel to and from the Mayo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringhillGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on our newly renovated SpringHill Suites. We also appreciate your very positive feedback on our guest rooms, staff, cleanliness, and breakfast area. We are delighted you chose to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montevideo, uruguay
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

during a stay at the Saint Mary Hospital at Mayo Clinic, our family stayed 10 days at the Springhill, it is very comfortable, we had two suites, but if neeeded you can put 4 people in one....comfortable beds, nothing to complain of, one short block from the Hospital, good restaurant next door, breakfast included, and not expensive at all. Very convenient

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringhillGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the SpringHill Suites. We pride ourselves with our location, values, and service, but more importantly making your stay an enjoyable one.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed Saturday, 9/1/12 and had chosen this hotel because it was the only one we could find that would allow 5 people in a room. (Big savings in that we did not have to rent two rooms!) We arrived early but were still able to check in (at 2:30 PM) and had gotten a room on the top floor, as we had requested. The room was clean; the sleeping area wasn't huge but it was adequate for our purposes. The hotel appeared to be full when we arrived back that night but we never heard a sound that night, which is what I really want in a hotel. Breakfast the next morning was great - yogurt, dry cereal, muffins, eggs, waffles, sausages, and drinks. Also got a free Sunday morning newspaper. We didn't use the fitness center or the pool - both of which appeared small but well kept. Overall, I thought we got an excellent value for our stay and I would stay again.

Note: By booking online directly with the hotel, we could have canceled up until 6 PM of the date of our arrival. Other sites did not allow us to cancel. All sites were the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobkat1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringhillGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We appreciate your positive comments and the five star review regarding your stay at the SpringHill Suites. Our goal is to make your experience as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Our staff prides itself with great guest service. Again, thank you, and we look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal QC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

While receiving care at the Mayo Clinic, we spent four nights in this hotel. It is theoretically non-smoking... However, someone was smoking all night long (in the room below us??) and the smoke came into our through the bathroom vent. Suffocating! The staff clearly does not enforce the non-smoking rule. Moreover, people sat right outside of the front door (even though it says, "No Smoking within 15 feet") puffing away. And St. Mary's employees, who are not allowed to smoke on hospital turf, cross the street to the hotel parking lot and light up there. If you are sensitive to cigarette smoke, I would recommend you go to the Courtyard for $10 more per night. In addition, the decor is really tacky at SpringHill Suites. It looks like cheap 1950s. In fact, I thought this might have been a converted Howard Johnson's or something. We left and moved onto the Courtyard when we couldn't take it anymore... It's clean, but there is better out there.

Room Tip: An even numbered room to avoid being on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringhillGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Springhill Suites. We also appreciate you letting us know what didn't go right with your stay. The fact that we are a 100% non smoking and is extremely importantto us, especially given our location to Saint Mary's Hospital and the number of patients who stay with us. I truly regret that we didn't handle things better and I have followed up with my team to better handle such situations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here on a Thursday checking out on Saturday. Easy to get to from the main highway. Rooms are huge - had two queen beds and they were very comfortable with lots of pillows. Room a/c unit was great as it ran constantly without the annoying kicking on and off that some units do. I liked the sink area being separate from the shower/toilet area so both of us could get ready easily. Note - look for hairdryer to be hanging in a black bag by the closet area.

Hot tub/pool area was very clean. I didn't use the exercise room but looked in and there were two machines, an eliptical and a treadmill and the area looked clean. The complimentary breakfast was good - about the same as other hotels. Really liked that this is a non-smoking hotel, though the smokers do hang out very near the entrance door. I would definitely stay here again.

Had a great dinner one night at the Canadian Honker just down the street in walking distance. Highly recommend going there. Onion rings are awesome!

Room Tip: Room 316 was just fine. Close to elevator but couldn't hear any hall noise at all. But bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaBeachdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringhillGM, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Springhill Suites. We also appreciate your very positive feedback on our guest rooms. Our goal is to make your experience as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#13 of 56 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 56 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Property: SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Address: 1125 2nd Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rochester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#19 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each spacious studio suite features separate sleeping, eating and working areas. Amenities include Complimentary High-Speed Internet access, a pull-out sofa bed, pantry area with mini-refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, a large desk and 2-line telephones. We'll get you started each day with a complimentary breakfast buffet. Free local calls, business center, free parking and free Mayo Clinic and airport shuttles. Located across from St. Marys Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary`s Hotel Rochester
Springhill Suites Rochester
Rochester Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing