We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Galva, Ks
1 review
“Awesome Hotel experience!”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds. The fridge and microwave were an extra bonus. I really have nothing bad to say about this hotel. I think we've found a favorite here in Rochester and will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiechicl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    134
    61
    31
    10
See reviews for
234
75
51
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

For anyone needing to stay overnight in Rochester and be near St. Mary's Hospital, this hotel is great. Although the hotel could use some updating, it was clean, staff was friendly and extremely accommodating. There were 5 of us in one room, which was slightly cramped but certainly manageable. The one thing lacking was more drawer space to unpack your belongings. We pretty much "lived" out of our suitcases because there is nowhere to unpack your stuff. Breakfast quality was great and provided something for everyone. Although the pool was small and the shape questionable, it provided some fun time for our 10 and 13 year-olds. The exercise room had state of the art equipment and got the job done. We slept well as the hotel was quiet and rooms well insulated from outside noise.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDWFmly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My wife and 2 kids used Marriott points to have a short weekend stay in Rochester. The Springhill suites has a nice location that is easy off the highway, easy unloading and free parking. They had a small, but nice indoor pool that my kids enjoyed greatly. It ranged from 3.5 to 5 feet in depth and was nice and warm. There was also a warm whirlpool in the area. The workout room just had an eliptical and tread mill, nothing more. The room we had was a 2 double bed layout and the free internet worked great. While there were two TV's, they were the older kind. My wife enjoys HGTV and they had that channel. Within walking distance is a little grocery store, a Caribou coffee shop, and a small restaurant with a bar area (actually all a block away). The hotel is right on 2nd and it is easy to get to downtown. Overall, very nice and a great staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

My adult son and I stayed the night before an early morning procedure at Saint Mary's Hospital. When they say it is "across the road from the hospital" - that's exactly what they mean. We crossed the road, entered one of the connecting buildings and followed the signs to our check-in area. The rooms were clean and spacious (I'm kind of picky about the cleanliness part); the staff arranged for a later check-out time; the breakfast was great, plenty of seating and food when we returned around 9:15 (breakfast ends at 9:30). The Mayo Clinic is less than a mile from the hotel; hotel & hospital both have shuttle service, but we walked - it was a beautiful day and the fresh air was an added benefit. This was my first time to Rochester/Mayo/St. Mary's and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to that area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNSuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed two nights and this place is perfect. clean spacious rooms, comfortable bed,great breakfast options, free laundry with soap and softner etc etc.
All thatt and you can easily walk to St. Mary's or Mayo Clinic. If tha's a problem for you they have shuttle service.
The staff is uniformly courtious and attentive. All that for $109 with free parking!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAG102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The star ratings for this hotel in my opinion are completely misleading.Noramlly,I'm not a whinner and hate to complain.This is right accross from St Mary's hospital so I thought it would be convenient for me.
The rooms are small,the bathrooms are outdated and don't look that clean.TVs are ancient and had poor reception.Beds are not very comfortable.AC is very loud and also outdated.For $135 a nite this was way below the standard to expect.I was not a family member but an actual patient that had surgery.So I wanted to stay post op at this hotel in case of problems as I live 100 miles away.
In the middle of the night my wife had to take me to the ER for a complication .When we went back to the hotel 4 hours later there were no more parking spots left even though we had a specific parking pass for the hotel.
The desk personnel(who are way overworked) tried to help us and I give them an "A: for their effort.

Halls are very narrow.With many small children running unsupurvised in the halls I was concerned I would sustain an injury to my post op site!

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mottthehopple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, January 18, 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2010

While this hotel is a suite hotel (meaning that there is one room with a couch and another with a bed), this is mainly a studio suite situation. Our room was VERY small. There was a half wall separating the bedroom from the living area, but it did not offer much privacy. The sofa bed was very small and uncomfortable, and both rooms shared a single tv on a swivel that would not stay put. The room had an smell reminiscent of very strong carpet deodorizer such as the potpourri kind covering up a smell which may have once been smoke, although it says it is a smoke free hotel. AAA rates this hotel as a 3 diamond, but I suspect that their inspectors have not been there in a while. Also, the air conditioning was not working very well, and I noticed other people in the lobby asking to be moved because their air conditioning was not working as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivybelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorgersonProperties, Manager at SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take all of your comments very seriously and share them with our staff to help improve our performance for all of our guests. We apologize that we didn't wow you on this stay and sincerely hope you'll give us another opportunity when you are in Rochester again.

And please be assured we will carefully review each of the items you mentioned to ensure all our guests experience a clean, friendly hotel where everything works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.6 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#8 of 52 in Rochester
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
1,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Property: SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Address: 1125 2nd St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#9 Family Hotel in Rochester
#19 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each spacious studio suite features separate sleeping, eating and working areas. Amenities include Complimentary High-Speed Internet access, a pull-out sofa bed, pantry area with mini-refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, a large desk and 2-line telephones. We'll get you started each day with a complimentary breakfast buffet. Free local calls, business center, free parking and free Mayo Clinic and airport shuttles. Located across from St. Marys Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary`s Hotel Rochester
Springhill Suites Rochester
Rochester Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing