We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated by fellow Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rochester
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Before you arrive at this hotel, you are told it is the highest rated Rochester hotel by Trip Advisor, and yet it currently ranks only #3. That is not the only time this hotel overrates itself. The rooms are small, the walls are much too thin. The night we spent there, the hotel was hosting a group of young wrestlers, young people who had no problem running down the halls screaming whether at midnight or 6 AM. There was even a security guard roaming the halls, but nothing was done to stop the excessive noise.

The workout room was a joke. Three machines that barely fit in the room. The emergency stop key kept falling off of the treadmill, which led to my abandoing my workout early.

This Hampton has location on its side, especially for those going to Mayo Clinic. But that's all that can recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cresheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSTMNHX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2010

Dear Evanston, IL,
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Rochester, MN. I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and provide specific feedback I apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay. As the general manager I work to ensure all pieces are in place to make even a busy wrestling tournament weekend quiet and enjoyable for all guests. I apologize that the security guard didn’t effectively do his job to ensure comfortable surroundings for you and your family. I also appreciate your feedback on the fitness center and I have made arrangements to have the equipment serviced so it will work properly. I can certainly understand your frustration.

I was unsuccessful finding your reservation based on your TripAdvisor profile to invoke our 100% Hampton Guarantee for your stay. We guarantee clean rooms, friendly service, and comfortable surroundings. Understandably you were not 100% satisfied and we don’t expect you to pay. Please contact me 507-287-9050 or at nelson@raymondteam.com so I can make sure you are not charged. I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you and provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Thank you,
Dan Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 748 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Hampton Inn during a visit to the Mayo Clinic. We used their shuttle service to the clinic and found the drivers helpful and entertaining. In fact, everyone connected to the hotel was helpful and cheerful.
The morning breakfast was bountiful and good tasting. There were fresh offerings during the entire period breakfast was served, not simply at the beginning.
We will stay there again if we return to the clinic.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedRath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights while I had tests at Mayo Clinic--the staff is so friendly and make you feel at home--so kind and compassionate to Mayo patients--Lisa the front desk lady was so nice---answered every question and so friendly--even the shuttle drivers were kind and offered help with directions and suggestions about restaurants.
I'm going back in January and will definitely stay here again. The breakfast is fresh and typical of most Hamptons--fresh fruit, a variety of rolls, eggs, omelettes, coffee, juices,biscuits w/ gravy and from 6-7 PM they serve soup and finger foods for those who had a long day at Mayo--a very good meal and its free!! Better than some 4 star motels!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petvetataac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We chose this hotel for its location (shuttle) and its Hampton buffet breakfast, but we got a whole lot more.
Extremely helpful staff,spotless rooms and open areas, a very good gym and indoor pool and a great business center. Even though we had free wifi in our rooms I used the business center to print my messages.
I was told about the nearby bike trail (paved), so I that is were I went for a morning run. Good restaurants (Wiskey Creek and Perkins) is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Deceiving from the outside. Rooms updated, the beds were so comfortable, awesome sheets. My husband, daughter and I stayed for a wedding. Can't say enough great things. We used 20,000 Hilton Honor points, surrounding hotel points 25,000 - 30,000 and would have had to pay for parking. Walked in, gave our name, handed us our keys! Very impressed and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonnychacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I'll start right out with compliments to the staff, they made what was a difficult trip for my wife and me so much easier.

We made reservations for 6 days due to a Mayo Clinic visit; we only stayed for 4 but it was no problem and no extra charges. The every 1/2hour shuttles run on time and will accommodate a special request stop. The staff obviously remembers many of their guests who are repeat visitors to the Mayo Clinic. I can't think of a single thing the Hampton Inn should change.

The rooms were quiet and clean; nice flat screen TV's and fast wi-fi. The beds were very comfortable and had quality linens. I used the business center and the fitness machines---all good.

I'm so glad we read the reviews on this Hampton Inn and decided to risk it---we were worried about staying so far from the clinic. Don't worry and don’t miss this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chevybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Overall, an satisfactory stay.

We found the check-in person (an older gentleman) smarmy and interested in talking about himself. He told us an odd, irrelevant personal story about the dali lama instead of concentrating on what we needed as guests. So initial impression was kind of worrisome.

When we requested a quiet room he was dismissive of our needs. We are here to be seen at Mayo clinic, as so many guests are here, so we know we are not special. But in any hotel, some rooms are quieter than others, and we were in for some exhausting stuff, so quiet was important--and the room we got did have some problems with noise from the parking lot, garbage trucks, and a very bright streetlight that the drapes could not obscure.

So, if you request a quiet room be persistent in getting attention to that request, don't let them brush you off.

Other than that wrinkle, the breakfast is decent, with a good selection. The room was quite clean and the bed was comfy. The room AC tends to clunk and clank, and can be a bit annoying, however. Free WiFi is fast and no problems.

Other staff (especially the younger fellow at the desk) was very good. Location is convenient to clinics. Everything is along Broadway, so its quite central.

Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbojayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
1.8 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,257 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#21 of 50 in Rochester
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rochester

Address: 1755 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#2 Family Hotel in Rochester
#5 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $108 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Rochester has 103 well appointed rooms with an indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour busienss center, & free parking. We serve our complimentary "On The House" hot breakfast buffet from 6-10am daily in our newly renovated lobby. We are conveniently located on South Broadway, near over 40 restaurants and also the Apache Mall. We are also only 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic. Free weekday shuttle service is available to the Mayo Clinic and local hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing