We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rochester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rochester
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
RAPID CITY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Comfortable room, excellent and friendly staff (thank you Liz and Brandon), yummy breakfast, shuttle to and from clinic every half hour. A very cozy, pleasant place to stay when you are away from home for health reasons.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a King Sized bed - comfortable! And with one bed, there was room for a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PEGGY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for staying! We appreciate the kind feedback. Our team works hard to make this a great place to stay for our guests, and we enjoy hearing when we have accomplished this!

thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    143
    33
    15
    2
See reviews for
217
120
72
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Md/DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It depends on why you are in Rochester, most everyone seems ill and going to the Mayo clinic. This place seems well designed for those in that situation, hopefully nothing contagious? Food was average but also included which is nice. Room was fine, not elegant, but fine and adequate for the price. Would not vacation here, but I don't see Rochester as a vacation resort area. So this place seems to get good ratings and I was satisfied but not overwhelmed. The staff was very friendly.

I like the location as it is near enough to the airport but not right next to it, also near enough stores and restaurants that it was ok that they have no dinner restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eringobalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall, I am sorry you were disapponted we did not have a restaurant. We hope you asked the front desk for some recommendations, as we have some fabulous restaurants in Rochester, and a few nearby! Hopefully, we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've been coming to Rochester since 2007: often twice a year and have tried a number of cheaper options but have returned. The reception staff and drivers are friendly and helpful with a sense of humor. The shuttle is dedicated (runs 6:30 am to 7:45pm on the half hour) and you do not need to take a tour of other hotel parking lots. The breakfast is good with precooked cheese omelets, substantial sausage patties and fingers of french toast. Cereal, waffle maker, yogurt oatmeal (with cranberries, brown sugar and almonds) and danish complete the offerings. Fresh apples, pears, bananas and oranges are available during the day and evening. "Soup therapy" in the evenings. The coffee is great. Packaged breakfasts are available to take with on request.

Over the years the hotel has underwent major remodeling: the latest revamped the lobby and dining area maximizing the usable space. The beds are comfortable (we have bad backs) and we avoid noise risks by asking for rooms away from potential noise sources. The AC and fridge were quiet...almost unnoticeable. The bathroom was clean and well maintained: nothing noticeable to this picky eye. The exercise room was recently updated. Pool is available but no one used it: have to remember to bring swim gear next time!

Mayo clients like us seem to be dominant guests with a few younger business travelers thrown in. There are special Mayo and AAA rates which vary during the year. I found that you are better off to make your reservations directly.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd Floor to the back away from Broadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balticrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We appreciate your continued loyalty to Hampton, and to our hotel. I'm very happy you have enjoyed staying with us these last five years. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had to revisit Mayo Clinic and once again picked the Hampton Inn on Broadway.
The staff is always accomodating to uncertain Mayo schedules and their location is convenient.
This is truly a home away from home when there are medical problems.
They have recently renovated the lobby/breakfast area and the hotel looks great.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for the comments! I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, and that you felt at home, that is the biggest compliment we can receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This Hampton Inn my favorite hotel in Rochester, MN! The staff are always excellent and helpful. I love the recently remodeled public space. It's sleek and modern and comfy. The only bummer is the noisy air conditioning unit, but as a heavy sleeper it doesn't inhibit my sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and happy that you approve of our lobby renovation. We are proud of how it turned out.

I will check on that air conditioning unit. I am glad it did not detract from your stay with us.

thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

As usual, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. I also liked the pillows - not so puffy and firm that you feel like you are sitting up all night. On the "less than perfect side," there was a clicking sound intermittently all night long - we couldn't figure out where it was coming from; thought it was in our bathroom, but may have been from the room next door. Also, the people in the room above us were up walking around during the night (2:30am) and the sound proofing is not as good as other Hampton's I have stayed in. The drain plug in our bathroom was not attached to the lift mechanism, so we had to lift the sink plug with our fingers to get the sink to drain.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the top floor so you don't hear the footsteps of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello Linda,

I am very sorry your experience was less than perfect with us. We appreciate the feedback however, as it allows us to address the issues you had. I would like to chat with you about your stay, if you have a chance to contact the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I like these 'business class' hotels and I try to rate them within that catagory. I find that they generally provide a clean and comfortable place to stay for a reasonable price. This hotel was no exception.

We had a very clean room, including the bedding and the bath.
The king size bed was very firm with pillow top - so you're not sleeping on a board. I loved it, just a little too firm for wife's taste.
There was a very helpful staff at the front desk, and check-in was effortless.
The breakfast was typical (very good in my opinion) Hampton inn fare - eggs, sausage, fruit, yogurt, hot oatmeal, etc.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenM299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for the comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and our team hopes you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rochester

Property: Hampton Inn Rochester
Address: 1755 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#2 Family Hotel in Rochester
#5 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Rochester has 103 well appointed rooms with an indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour busienss center, & free parking. We serve our complimentary "On The House" hot breakfast buffet from 6-10am daily in our newly renovated lobby. We are conveniently located on South Broadway, near over 40 restaurants and also the Apache Mall. We are also only 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic. Free weekday shuttle service is available to the Mayo Clinic and local hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing