We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rochester
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We checked into the Hampton Inn on the 1st of June to attend the Zombie run in Millville on the 2nd. The front desk staff was pleasant and had us checked in within moments. We arrived at our room to be pleasantly surprised. It was well appointed and very clean...which is a huge deal to me being I work in the hospitality industry. They offered free wifi which is always a plus and a free breakfast in the morning. The beds were comfortable, the room had everything you would need with the desk having the little things you may have forgotten. Our only complaint and usually is with most hotels is that the pillows were very uncomfortable. You think by now I would remember to bring my own pillow....but I keep hoping to find the perfect bed/pillow combo. My wife did mention that the water pressure was lacking a little bit but nothing to major. The breakfast was decent but not great. It had the normal morning quick breakfast items and was perfect for our pre run meal. Overall the Hampton Inn definitely met our expectations and we would for sure stay there again if in Rochester. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an affordable and clean overnight stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you very much for the feedback from your recent stay! I have shared your comments with our team, and they were very happy to hear about the satisfaction you received. We hope to see you again, and next time you stay with us, give us a call and we can make sure you have comfortable pillows in your room. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 755 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I try to stay at Hampton Inns as I travel for business, as they are usually clean, with great design. This place seems to have been retrofitted to be a Hampton Inn, the rooms are tiny, the bathrooms tinier, and it all feels one step below this brand's usual quality. I'm wondering if the one on the north end of town is the nicer one?

It doesn't suck, but it could be a little better. I know there are a bunch of grimy old hotels to stay at in Rochester, so I wouldn't say don't stay here, it's nice enough.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you very much for the feedback. We appreciate your specific concerns, as it is something we can reference when we decide on any structural changes or improvements. An example of this is when we recently removed a few guest rooms to expand our brand new 'Perfect Mix' lobby, to provide more space for our guests.

If you have any other concerns, please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly, and we can address them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting the Mayo Clinic. We stayed from Monday to Friday. They have a free shuttle to and from Mayo every half hour from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and it takes about ten minutes. They serve continental breakfast every day, which is more than just coffee and muffins. They have everything from hot oatmeal to french toast, eggs, etc. They also have to-go bags in case you get up too late and need to catch the next shuttle. In the evenings during the week I believe, they serve soup from 6 p.m. to 7 p.m. and they have coffee and water all day and night. The hotel itself was super clean and our room location was ideal at the end of the hall near the stairs on the second floor. It was clean and updated. The hotel was very quiet at night. The pool and spa area were quite nice and the gym served its purpose of getting in a quick workout. All open 24 hours! The staff was excellent! Would definitely stay here again if we need to travel to Mayo again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BebeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and the team loves reading comments like these. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The helpfulness of the personnel and the shuttle service really make this Hampton stand out. New carpet and updated breakfast area. Very understanding of the need to change reservations as events unfold at Mayo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The service was the best I have experienced. The shuttle to Mayo was always early and thoughtfully managed. The location was fine. Just a 10 minute ride to downtown and Mayo. 5 minutes from a large mall. Best executed Hampton formula breakfast and I have stayed at several Hamptons.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AARPBenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have stayed many times at this property, as well as at numerous Hamptons around the country. Unfortunately the extra good service here that made it special in the past has become just ordinary. The rooms badly need updating. Carpet is worn and doesn't clean up well. My latest stay is my second in 6 months where the TV didnt work properly and staff could not do anything to fix it or provide an alternate room. The recently renovated breakfast room has a huge counter type table in the center with bar stools. It is not comfortable for those who prefer privacy or like having their feet on the floor. The couches at the lower tables are so soft and low that the table ends up at chin height. While the food is above average for this type of hotel, it's best to plan to bring it back to the room. The top mattresses move around on the box springs in every double bed room I have stayed in, moving 6 to 8 inches off center at the slightest touch (I am a small person). WiFi strength varies by time of day and room location. The only really good thing about this hotel is the extremely reliable shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic, with friendly, helpful drivers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passage1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emjonesy95, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

We are sorry for your bad experience the last time that you stayed with us. We are working on the issues with the sliding mattresses/bed skirts. We are training the front desk to be able to help with the TV issue that you experienced. We have rearranged the lobby area seating to provide firmer seating for our guests. Please call or email us so that we can discuss the issues and see how we can improve. Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My recent stay at the Hampton Inns - South in Rochester, MN met the continued expectations that the Hampton Inns continuously provides. The hotel was clean and and the staff was more than courteous.

Thanks for the professionalism!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#21 of 50 in Rochester
802 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rochester

Address: 1755 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#2 Family Hotel in Rochester
#5 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $108 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Rochester has 103 well appointed rooms with an indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour busienss center, & free parking. We serve our complimentary "On The House" hot breakfast buffet from 6-10am daily in our newly renovated lobby. We are conveniently located on South Broadway, near over 40 restaurants and also the Apache Mall. We are also only 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic. Free weekday shuttle service is available to the Mayo Clinic and local hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing