We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older, but still a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rochester
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
dune acres indiana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Older, but still a great place”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

On our road trip this July, we stayed a three HIs: a brand new one, one open probably 3-4 years and this one, which was clearly the oldest of the three. They all offered the same friendly, helpful service and new styled HI touches. While the newest Inn was somewhat nicer, as can be expected, the Rochester inn still offered a clean, well appointed room, comfy beds and free WiFi. Breakfast was excellent as well. So, we really had no complaints. We would stat here again if we're back In Rochester. Recommend it .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayclay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    173
    39
    16
    5
See reviews for
259
147
84
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Templeton, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Our group was 8 (middle aged sibs and elderly father). This was my BEST experience ever! Very clean rooms, FANTASTIC and accomodating staff. Really, I've never gotten this great of service in even 5 star hotels! I now know that Minnesotans are the nicest, most polite people Ive ever encountered, but these people were above and beyond! They do a huge business for the Mayo Clinic, which is so awesome, but we were ordinary family people travelling for a reunion. I intend to try Hampton now everywhere I go, but I bet no one will ever top this staff! Thank you so much for making our trip a pleasure on every level (pizza on the patio, takeout in the pool area, family coming and going: no problem). Thank you everyone. I understand why you have a trophy case of awards. I can't remember the manager's name, but clearly, the service starts at the top. Thank you thank you! (if I were ill and going to the Mayo, I would be so grateful for this wonderful service!
Anne Wheeler, and 6 sibilings and our Dad, from California

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne33167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I am not familiar with Hampton Inns but my colleague stays here so I did too. The bathroom was clean but the room wasn't vaccuumed as I found what seemed to be clipped hair in the corner by the desk, LOTS of it. The fridge I was provided didn't work well and my frozen foods thawed within 12 hours. The exercise room is crowded with one treadmill, one eliptical trainer, and one exercise bike. There were weights in the room but when I went to use them the Tuesday morning of my stay, they were gone. The front desk employee looked for them but couldn't find them. Apparently another guest must have swiped them.
The employees I dealt with were very kind and courteous and there was a good restaurant next door (Whiskey something, good food!). It wasn't a bad stay, but I like a well-equipped exercise room and I expect the carpet to at least be vaccuumed before I come in the room. To the hotel's defense though I did not contact the front desk about my concerns. I usually don't unless it's really serious because I don't want housekeeping in my room once I check in. I am very leery about theft.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzb_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ansgar, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We booked a suite as that is what our family of 5 usually does. Normally we can bring along an air mattress and everyone has plenty of room to sleep. Upon arrival in our room, we were not impressed with our suite. There was no room for us to pull out the hide a bed plus our air mattress. I asked for a larger room for the second night but was told that we were in the largest room they had. Not impressed!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This hotel is great. And the very first with a staff member who actively accommodated my request for room location. Very pleasant staff and helpful. You will not be disappointed. 1 mile from Apache Mall, three restaurants within watlking distance plus coupons at front desk. Nice place. The staff was very helpful and compassionate with their guests who were in Rochester for medical reasons.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nitesperyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This is a no frills, older Hampton Inn. The staff is friendly and the rooms and public spaces are clean. However, the hotel is in much need of an upgrade!

HHonor preferences not recognized and placed in room near elevator with obstructed view.

I have stayed at the North location and it is new with larger rooms. The North location also offers a shuttle to Mayo Clinic so you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manktripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penna
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We staying last week for a week of appointments at mayo Clinic for my wife and the service and staff outstanding and caring. The transportation back & forth to mayo was great. Nice restaurants close by within walking distance and shuttle will take you to other place if you desire. Again a great stay at at hotel with top-noch Staff. Thank You ROY & SUSAN ZOOG

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM75, Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
We appreciate your comments about our service. We strive to be the top-notch hotel in Rochester. We are glad that you stayed with us and if you need to return to Rochester please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
2.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rochester

Property: Hampton Inn Rochester
Address: 1755 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#2 Family Hotel in Rochester
#5 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Rochester has 103 well appointed rooms with an indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour busienss center, & free parking. We serve our complimentary "On The House" hot breakfast buffet from 6-10am daily in our newly renovated lobby. We are conveniently located on South Broadway, near over 40 restaurants and also the Apache Mall. We are also only 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic. Free weekday shuttle service is available to the Mayo Clinic and local hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing