We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Grand" place to stay.”
Review of Kahler Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahler Grand Hotel
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My stay at the Kahler Grand was chosen because of it's location to the Mayo Clinic as my husband would be receiving tests and treatments there. Our stay at the Grand was an excellant choice and did provide patient pricing. We were able to park our vehicle and not need it until we had to leave. All that we needed was in walking distance from the Kahler. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet. I plan to stay there again with future appointments at the Clinic. Also if you are just visiting Rochester, MN, the Kahler's location is a great place to stay to take in this area. Don't hesitate to stay at the Kahler Grand.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

The service and staff at this hotel is outstanding and of the highest quality.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbietexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

While I did not have to pay for this hotel as I'm here for business, I wouldn't recommend it. The walls of the rooms are paper thin and I can hear everything that the folks next door are saying and what's on their TV. The bathroom has a marginally functioning toilet and bathtub. It is clean, the staff are friendly, but if you need a good night sleep and don't want to worry about the plumbing, stay elsewhere when in Rochester. My collegues are reporting similar experiences so I know I'm not alone. Also when I went to check out the fitness center, it was at about 100 degrees with zero ventilation, not conducive to working out without serious risk of overheating. Ironically the sauna in the womens room was broken but you could just sit in the fitness room I guess for the same experience.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
Thank Karrieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

From the moment I made my reservations on line to the time we checked out we couldn't have been more satisfied with the overall service of the Kahler Grand Hotel. More importantly was the proximity of the hotel to the Mayo Clinic. We had direct access to the clinic and never had to step outside. We also enjoyed the on site restuarant's and lounges. Bottom line, the Kahler Grand Hotel is an outstanding value and extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbraun2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Wonderful location in Mayo Clinic area. Priced from about $89 to $109. Nice staff. Absent owners. Old property built in English dark old style. Tiny bathroom 40" x 80" added to corner of old room. Mismatched furniture. Smelly industrial carpet. Lousy room service and even worse restaurants. Some rooms have no closet - only hanging racks. Clientile seem to be Mayo patients on very limited budgets . This was my first and last stay here...back to the Marriott or the Marriott Residence Inn. If you can afford anything better don't stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedwar03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Great service an very accomadating to Mayo clinic patients.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

GREAT STAFF! GREAT LOCATION! GREAT VALUE!! I have stayed there about 20 times over last 5 years.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandy8111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 50 in Rochester
816 reviews
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 50 in Rochester
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
0 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Grand Hotel

Address: 20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: $85 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90+-year legacy of personalized service and world-class comfort awaits you at the Kahler Grand Hotel. Boasting a timeless charm and storied past, our Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota hotel is elegant and historic. Enjoy direct access to the world-renowned Mayo Clinic or downtown area via a climate-controlled pedestrian skyway and subway. Pairing the convenience of our location with a variety of accommodations ranging from smaller budget-friendly rooms to larger renovated executive guestrooms and services, the Kahler Grand boasts a hotel experience that maximizes comfort at every turn. We also feature 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for conferences, weddings and special events in the downtown area. Whether your stay is a family getaway, romantic retreat, business trip, or Mayo Clinic visit, you will love our vibrant urban setting. Situated in the heart of downtown Rochester, Minnesota. Directly linked to the Mayo Clinic, via pedestrian subway and skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Grand Rochester
Hotel Kahler Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing