We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Kahler” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahler Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kahler Grand Hotel
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Rochester
Fairfield, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Kahler”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pretty from the lobby but thats about it. Our room view was pigeons and trash outside and the rooms seemed pretty runned down.The plus side was that there was a starbucks and that Mayo Clinic was right across the street for my mom. The staff was frendly and the pool decent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kalliann2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    222
    185
    146
    153
See reviews for
246
176
189
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wild Rose, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is a great place to stay for people visiting Mayo Clinic in Rochester. It is very close to the clinic and the staff are very helpful to people with medical issues. Good restaurant and parking ramp. It is not overly fancy but is comfortable and safe. It is connected to Mayo Clinic by a subway, which makes it very easy to move from place to place.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms are very quiet and promote good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrimmKorolewskfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Historic dump. Epic fail in hotel hospitality.

Bathrooms are 1950s high school gym style. Rooms are unclean and poorly maintained.

Do yourselves a favor and pass this terrible hotel.

Front desk management was the poorest I've ever experienced. We waited for ten minutes while the clerk tried to reconcile a $5 breakfast charge that the restaurant had not posted to another guest's account. It was insulting to see how petty this hotel is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

When reserving the standard room here ($110-$210) do not expect much besides a good location for the Mayo Clinic and Methodist Hospital. If you can spend $450 + per night you will find nice rooms and suites. I checked the full spectrum of available accommodations at the Kahler Grand Hotel and International Hotel (the top two floors are represented as the International Hotel not the Kahler. I would truly have liked to stay in one of the 11th floor suites instead of the standard double double I did reserve. Small is a good word to describe the room. Minuscule is a good word for the bathroom. It was well maintained and clean, the staff was pleasant and for the money spent we enjoyed the location since we had business at Mayo.

There is a pool and a fitness center. However it is not easy for guests not staying on the top two floors to use. You cannot take the elevator direct to the 11 th floor if you are not staying on it, the elevators are locked out, requiring a special key for the top floor. So you will need directions or a guide, go to the 10th floor and climb a double set of stairs to the eleventh. OK, you wanted exercise didn't you? The experience is somewhat humbling as you are reminded that you are a have-not staying in a low price room. Once there, you will find the exercise equipment is not well maintained. I did appreciate the unintended humor as one of the tred mills had a sign on it that read "out of order due to maintenance"

If you are traveling on a standard room type budget, I suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Book a suite on the eleventh floor, or at least a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your previous stay. We certainly appreciate all comments. While the Kahler is obviously a historic hotel, we're paying attention to your advice on furnishings and amenities.

I hope you do take the opportunity to stay with us again in the future at the Kahler Grand Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great place to stay for a Mayo Clinic visit - we need a handicap accessible room & the one we got this year was SUPER - Old hotel, but updated rooms, comfortable beds, room was large with very large bathroom & no barrier shower much appreciated. Price was fair & easy access to Mayo.

Room Tip: Ask questions that are important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJW1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

One of the Worst hotel I have ever stayed. Stayed in the student room. Very old hotel, small room, old TV, bad shower, they lost my mail, charged on my wrong credit card, cleaned the room once a week and old minibar.
The only positive that I see is that this hotel is the closest one to Mayo clinic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinhexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was pleased with the affordability and convenience. I also liked having so many amenities so close. I booked because I used the GoRochesterDirect shuttle but was pleased with my stay there. I would like for the maps of the complexes to be a little clearer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAnn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 53 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Grand Hotel

Property: Kahler Grand Hotel
Address: 20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90+-year legacy of personalized service and world-class comfort awaits you at the Kahler Grand Hotel. Boasting a timeless charm and storied past, our Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota hotel is elegant and historic. Enjoy direct access to the world-renowned Mayo Clinic or downtown area via a climate-controlled pedestrian skyway and subway. Pairing the convenience of our location with a variety of accommodations ranging from smaller budget-friendly rooms to larger renovated executive guestrooms and services, the Kahler Grand boasts a hotel experience that maximizes comfort at every turn. We also feature 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for conferences, weddings and special events in the downtown area. Whether your stay is a family getaway, romantic retreat, business trip, or Mayo Clinic visit, you will love our vibrant urban setting. Situated in the heart of downtown Rochester, Minnesota. Directly linked to the Mayo Clinic, via pedestrian subway and skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Grand Rochester
Hotel Kahler Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing