We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahler Grand Hotel
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Kahler Grand is a very nice hotel. I have stayed their a few times for my trips to the Mayo Clinic which is directly across the street. It is very convenient. The rooms are nice and many have been remodeled. Even the ones that haven't been remodeled yet are still very nice and up-to-date. You can not go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relay-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

936 - 942 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

Booked the Kahler Grand (online) for surgery at the Mayo/Methodist Hospital, so choice was 100% based on location. Got a "special Mayo patient rate" of $115 a night. MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT!!! Room was very dated. Dirt on carpet, so either had not been vacuumed or poorly done. Toilet running when we entered the room: how could a caring employee have left the room that way? Had to take the top off the toilet to flush it. Torn wallpaper. Coffee stains on the wall next to the coffeemaker. Old, CRT-style TV - this should have been updated. Rusty water came out for the first shower. We paid more for this room than on a previous visit to Rochester (December 2010), and there was no complimentary breakfast at the Kahler. I called a manager and she had canned responses to my complaints - she'd obviously heard it all before. No adjustment to the bill. Never again will I book this place.

Room Tip: SIMPLE ADVICE: Don't book the Kahler. Try the Marriott next door. Or, most Rochester hotel/mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Director of Operations at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us for feedback on your stay at the Kahler Grand. I was certainly disappointed to hear that we did not meet up to your expectations with regard to carpet cleanliness, commode problems and general conditions. This is certainly not indicative of what we want our guest to experience and can assure you I have taken measures on correcting these defaults. I was also concerned regarding your encounter with management and apologize as this too is not reflective of our service culture.
Feedback such as yours allows us the opportunity to improve our product and services as we take each comment very seriously. Our mission is to be the first choice hotel for guest / patient travelers that offers a clean, friendly enviroment with value.
Once again, thank you for your response and when traveling to the Rochester area in the future would certainly like the opportunity to earn your business.

At your Service

Ray Landry
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I lived in a student room and do not know if these differ from the ordinary rooms. The student room was a bit old, but it was clean and OK. The bed was fine, the shower fine. The fridge was small but sufficient for some minor food. The room had a television.
Among the backsides were a net that covered one of the windows, which meant that there was less light coming into the room, and that there was little sound isolation - the doors let in some sound from the corridor outside.
Among the advantages, the prize, the gym on floor 10, very nice personnel, and the short distance to the Mayo Clinic. That the shuttle service to Minneapolis GoRochester starts from the hotel is also very good (booking service at the hotel). I would stay here again if I went to Rochester.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We chose this hotel because it seemed like a good middle ground without jumping up in price to the mariott. The lobby is a little outdated, but check in was quick and efficient. We opted to pay more for the executive king and definitely glad that we did. From the few quick glances we had of other rooms they looked very, very outdated. Our room was comfortable and clean and bathroom was nicely updated. The room also had a mini fridge and microwave which was handy. Free parking and Internet was a great bonus, the other high end hotels all seem to charge for that. Room service is 24 hour, quick and fairly cheap. The food is nothing decadent but simple and does the fine for an easy meal.

The hotel is perfectly located for the Mayo. Walk directly across the street to the Mayo building, or take the "subway" (underground walkways) to most other buildings. We were in the Eisenberg building in 3 mins. The hotel also has direct access to University Square shops and Barnes & Noble. We were in town to visit the Mayo so this definitely did the job for that. It was nice being so close we didn't have to worry about shuttles and could walk back between appointments.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_JaneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

On-line reservations, military discount and the closest hotel to Mayo clinic. Comfy beds, rooms can be small, but nicely appointed. Parking is validated for guests. We stay here every time we visit Mayo.

Room Tip: We have stayed here many times. My favorite room so far (and the one I spent the least amount of tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbaldwindufour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel is right across the street from Mayo Clinic. We chose to use the Subway to get around and easily made it from one appointment to another even though scheduled in different buildings. Our room was small but nicely appointed and the price was very affordable. We were offered help with our luggage although we chose not to use it. Parking was free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

One of the worst hotel stays I have ever had. There is not even a real shower. I don't expect a lot, but the $12 parking is higher then this place is worth. I had chosen it because it was recommended by the conference I was attending. A used camper would have been better. Never again! I would love to have posted pictures with the review. I did to Facebook because I was just so shocked.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#21 of 50 in Rochester
793 reviews
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Grand Hotel

Address: 20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: $84 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90+-year legacy of personalized service and world-class comfort awaits you at the Kahler Grand Hotel. Boasting a timeless charm and storied past, our Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota hotel is elegant and historic. Enjoy direct access to the world-renowned Mayo Clinic or downtown area via a climate-controlled pedestrian skyway and subway. Pairing the convenience of our location with a variety of accommodations ranging from smaller budget-friendly rooms to larger renovated executive guestrooms and services, the Kahler Grand boasts a hotel experience that maximizes comfort at every turn. We also feature 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for conferences, weddings and special events in the downtown area. Whether your stay is a family getaway, romantic retreat, business trip, or Mayo Clinic visit, you will love our vibrant urban setting. Situated in the heart of downtown Rochester, Minnesota. Directly linked to the Mayo Clinic, via pedestrian subway and skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Grand Rochester
Hotel Kahler Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing