We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveler rating
733
231
76
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
231
76
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treethe executive loungepescara restaurantcookiesmayo clinicgreat hotelbell staffcar servicecivic centercomfortable roomseasy accessconvenient locationdowntown areaskywaystarbucksmnrandy
Filter
Updating list...
996 - 1,001 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Doubletree for both Thanksgiving and Christmas 2011 was wonderful. Hotel is clean, very comfortable and attractive (recently remodeled). Staff is extremely friendly and efficient. Rooms on ninth floor in Nov and eleventh floor in Dec were always quiet (although, admittedly, the hotel was not busy due to the holidays) and included extensive free meals in Executive Lounge. The complimentary Thanksgiving dinner there was a delicious buffet. Pescara (in lobby) is a wonderful restaurant and ranks with the best - should you plan to dine out. The Doubletree is located on Rochester's enclosed walkway/mall, which provides a place to walk for exercise (total 2.5 miles) and opportunities to shop and dine, without having to face winter weather.The cotton terry robes, mentioned by another reviewer, are large, plush and fun. The bathrooms are clean and well stocked. Small item but especially appreciated by me - if someone closes the bathroom door and then flushes the toilet at 3am, it can hardly be heard in the bedroom. Yippee! Undisturbed sleep! The studio bedroom on the ninth floor had a beautiful tile and seamless glass shower, a double sink vanity and a pull-out bed. Our physician son left his apartment to stay with us, on the pull-out couch, when he saw how nice the studio room was. (In almost twenty years of visiting him in various locations, don't recall that happening before!) The beds were plush, down filled (can request non-down, if you prefer) and a joy to sleep in. The Doubletree visits really were very pleasant experiences in all respects and I cannot think of anything which could have made them better.

Room Tip: Our rooms were very quiet and we requested "quiet room away from elevators".
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear Alice435: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stays with us over the holidays. It sounds like you had a great visit with your son while in Rochester. We hope that you will continue to stay with us when you visit your family here in town. If you would need us to arrange anything prior to your next visit with us, please email me at deb.knox@hilton.com
Thank you again.
Deb Knox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We were in Rochester, MN, going through the Mayo Clinic. The Double Tree was wonderful. We are reward members, so we were on the rewards floor, which included plush white bathrobes, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The staff was wonderful to work with and met every need that we had. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Stay on the backside away from the traffic. Ask if you can pay extra to use the executive floor.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarilynAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Dear MarilynAK: Thank you so much for your kind posting. We hope that we continue to be your hotel of choice when visiting Rochester, MN. Thank you again!
Deb Knox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Not our first stay, everything about the hotel is wonderful, including the restaurant Pescara. Service is above and beyond in both hotel and restaurant!! Will stay again, they hotel know and practice great guest service from beginning to end of stay. Thanks to a great staff!

Room Tip: 10th and 11th floor
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joycebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Dear Joycebaum: Thank you very much for your kind posting. I am very glad to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations during your stay. We do have a wonderful team here at the hotel and I will pass along your kind comments. We hope that we are your hotel of choice, if you should return to the Rochester, MN area. Thank you again!
Deb Knox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hotel does everything right, from the moment you enter the lobby to check in to the time you depart their property they strive to ensure that every need you have is exceeded in every respect.

The front desk staff is courteous, friendly and helpful at all time and make every effort to accomodate their guests needs. The housekeeping staff does an excellent job in keeping the rooms in top order and well stocked.

The beds are comfortable and clean as is the rest of the room. If there were any con to the rooms at all it would be the noise transfer through the walls, it is an older downtown hotel and while the building is maintained well and in perfect working order the walls are a little thin so if somebody in a room next to you is snoring you will hear it.

I have to say my stay was perfect in every regard from check in to check out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2015

Dear Ken D: Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Deb Knox, Revenue Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Lobby ultra sleek, cool vibes. Be sure to dance in front of the large wall hanging in the lobby and watch your 'image' on screen. Staff was very efficient. Rooms large and very clean. But the star of the show is the warm chocolate chip cookie especially when the temp outside is maybe in the 20s. On a previous visit to the area, we dined at the restaurant, Pescara, and had a wonderful meal but on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Room had microwave and coffee set up. Web site for Double Tree promised robes but there were none.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Dear helen m: Thank you very much for your posting. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the wonderful DoubleTree cookies! I made a note about the website with reguards to the robes. I will have that fixed. Robes are located in our suites and on our Executive Levels only. Again, I wil have that fixed. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Deb Knox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews