We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected for Marriott” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not what I expected for Marriott”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference in March, and it was OK. I guess I was expecting more from a Marriott, but it just seemed a little run down and given that, the price was a little steep. The location is great, downtown, on the subway and skyway system with access to everything you need. For parking, trust me pay for the valet, it's worth not having to haul your luggage through the skyway system, as parking yourself isn't exactly convenient. The room service was very good actually, I highly recommend the tuna melt. Again, nice hotel, but not what I expected, and there are better options in downtown Rochester in this price range.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Brian M,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay with us back in March at the Rochester Marriott, 101 1st Ave SW, Rochester, MN. I am sorry we did not meet all of your needs. I will use your comments as a teaching tool to the staff on how they need to work better in the future to meet the needs of our guests.

Bill Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    101
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
73
48
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is by far one of the nicest hotels in very close proximty to the Mayo Clinic. The handicap accessible shower was my 84 year old Mom's nicest surprise, she truly enjoyed it. The room service was excellent and rapid. The house keepers do a wonderful job, everything was clean and fresh each day. After a day full of medical visits this hotel is a nice respite from all the waiting. The bellhop service as excellent and very friendly.
There are several great places to eat nearby and in the subway system the weather is never a problem for anyone.
This is the place I will stay for every Mayo visit. Excellent facility!!

Room Tip: Each room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chief1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Chief1990,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay at the Rochester Marriott, 101 1st Ave SW, Rochester, MN. I will let the bell and room service staff know how happy you were with their service.

Bill Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We visit the Mayo on a regular basis, & decided to try returning to this hotel after staying at another local hotel the last couple of years. We used to stay here all the time. I was very disappointed upon entering the room, due to the very poor quality energy efficient light bulbs - it was like candlelight! They eventually warmed up & improved a little, but the room was dark. There was not enough room between the desk & the end if the sofa - i had to squeeze in to sit at the desk. We stayed on the concierge floor. The staff was very thoughtful, but the snacks were very limited.
The concierge floor is a significant extra cost, so I would expect to have decent light & snacks. The halls were also dark & in need of renovation to coordinate with the lobby. This was a poor value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Susan R,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your stay at the Rochester Marriott, 101 !st Ave SW, Rochester, MN. I will take another look at the snacks we put out in the evening for our Concierge guests. I am sorry that the lite bulbs did not meet your exceptions. I will review your comments with the engineering staff to make sure they are using the proper bulbs in the rooms.

Again thank you for your feedback. Maybe next time we can do a better job.

Bill Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Overpriced compared to similar hotels in the immediate vicinity. They are at least double the price of the Doubletree or Holiday Inn. Bathrooms are tiny, stall showers with handheld heads. Room temperature is not automatic. On a warm winter day there is no a/c available. They offer executive lounge access, but only Mon.-Fri. Food available is the worst in town. Most guests are here for the Mayo Clinic, and are elderly, or suffering and in pain. We have stayed in Marriott Hotels around the globe, and loyal repeat customers. But, never again in Rochester, Mn. Free Internet is usually available at no charge at 5star luxury hotels, especially when you are paying $600 per day. Not only do they charge, but will argue about it if you ask. Normally I would not stay another night under these conditions, but having just undergone a complete knee replacement surgery, I was trapped. There are so many fine alternatives, I would never stay here again. This location will ruin Marriots fine worldwide reputation.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmrpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mr. ZMRPaul,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay in the Rochester Marriott, 101 1st Ave SW, Rochester, Mn. I am sorry you got an impression we are 5 star. We are rated by all the travel sites as 3 and one half stars. I do remember talking to you during your stay. I am sorry about the mis understanding by you about the hours of the Concierge lounge. It is only closed in the evening shift on Friday and Saturday nights like we discussed during your stay. Your room charge was for a Suite and not a regular room because at the time you wanted to move rooms and that is only room we had open for the rest of your stay and the staff advised you of that before you moved to the Suite.

Again I am sorry we did not meet all of your expectations,

Bill Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We found the staff to be very attentive and helpful. The location could not be better for easy access to the Mayo Clinic and downtown restaurants. Which brings me to a big negative, thank goodness for convenience to downtown restaurants because we found the food at this Marriott to be poor and OVER priced. Our room was nice but only came with one seat and a desk chair. We had a lot of down time in your room because of medical appointments over a 10 day stay, and found it to be uncomfortable to sit in the room and read. We were disappointed when we called and asked about another seat and were told that we could not be accommodated. We are Platinum rewards members with Marriott so we were disappointed that a simple request could not be honored. The concierge lounge's staff was nice, had average snack type foods in the evening, and breakfast basics but limited and pricey bar options in the evening. We preferred using the lobby bar or going out to some really great dining and bar places nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillTarboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear BillTarboro,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay at the Rochester Marriott, 101 1St ave SW, Rochester, Mn. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on our food. I am glad the staff treated you well during your stay. I hope to serve your again in the future if the need arises.

Bill Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hancock, michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is right across the street from St. Mary's Hospital and very convenient to other Mayo Clinic buildings. The hotel is clean and the rooms are well appointed with the latest amenities. They have a restaurant and lounge in the hotel. The food is delicious and reasonably priced. The staff are all very welcoming and professional. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Mayo's.

Room Tip: They don't provide roll away beds in the two queen beds rooms but they do have a twin size sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suomilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Suomilainem,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Rochester Marriott 101 1st Ave SW, Rochester, MN. I will pass on your comments to the staff about thier service to you during your stay with us.

Bill Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The people here make our stay. A friendly and most helpful staff. The convenience to the clinic can't be beat. It is quiet, clean and comfortable. We have stayed here many times over the years and it remains consistant.

Room Tip: We like the upper floors near elevators for being quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC33330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear JC33330,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay at the Rochester Marriott, 101 1St Ave SW, Rochester, MN. I will pass on your comments to the staff.

Bill Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#16 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 101 1st Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rochester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#17 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern updated guestrooms and a convenient location connected to Mayo Clinic make Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area one of the top hotels in Downtown Rochester, Minnesota. The hotel offers 202 renovated guestrooms and suites, Salute wine bar and more. This downtown Marriott also has easy access to local attractions including the Mayo Civic Center and shopping options via climate-controlled walkways. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, coming to Rochester for leisure, or traveling for business, our downtown hotel provides everything you need to make your stay seamless: in-room dining service, business services, a fitness center, and convenient continental and full American breakfast each morning available in our restaurant (for a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Marriott Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing