We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, honest, people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Rochester Downtown
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Oxford, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean, honest, people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Rooms are older style. Which is fine with me. Most important is the rooms are clean, the people are honest and helpful. I went to get ice I laid down my wallet with my money in it near by the ice machine the maintenance man found it and returned it to the desk. my id was not in my wallet but they knew it was mine because I told them I was unable to get any ice that is why he was there to check out the ice machine. They called my room immediately to let me know they found it before I knew it was gone. These are the people I want to stay with. The restaurant is wonderful very clean and friendly. food is exceptional. Other places may have hot tubs and extras, But the feel of someone looking after me and showing so much kindness is far more important to me. I just want to say thank you for being so kind.

Room Tip: Room with one bed tend to be a little small. Get a room with to double beds. Great place if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    175
    175
    115
    107
See reviews for
177
104
112
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gainesville, fl.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

...but not so bad if you like early 20th century Americana, or have ever traveled in Europe. This is NOT your "contemporary" chain hotel, but an old mid-town building typical of what one would have found in the 1920s, with "new world" amenities, with an attached restaurant and old-style bakery. FUN! If you want modern, boring, glass and chrome, beside-the-Interstate type lodging, then you should go back to the Interstate. If you don't mind a little peeling paint, cozy rooms, original hardware and woodwork, conveniently located for walking to many downtown businesses, then you should really enjoy this property. Be open-minded and give it a try!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obilon-kanobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is an old hotel with a lot of character. Facilities were pristine clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Loved our room and that the location was so close to Mayo Clinic. We will return and encourage others to not overlook it just because it is an older facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were surprised to find the perfect spot for our stay 2 short blocks from the Mayo Clinic. The staff was friendly, the room was exceptionally clean (iffy rugs, though) and cozy. Only one tiny, slow shared elevator, a functional but comfortable lobby. Nice sidewalk seating, free parking. I hope the Days Inn folks will restore this little gem, but NOT remodel.

Room Tip: Ask about the view if it's important to you,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Reasonably clean, very old building. But priced about right. Worst part of the experience is - the staff don't understand what "do not disturb" means.

My mother is ill, and is being treated at the Mayo Clinic. Anyone who has been through cancer treatments with a loved one understands - you have to get sleep when you can get it.

We had finally been able to sleep one afternoon when the maid pounded on the door in spite of the do not disturb sign on the door.

The next day, I asked if they could come and service the room before I laid down to sleep. They did, and in spite of being advised that I needed to sleep, two men from "maintenance" came to investigate if someone was smoking in a room on the floor. The men did not wear uniforms, nor name tags. I did see one of them later behind the front desk so they were from the hotel, but they could have been there to slit my throat from their appearance.

First they said that the maid who serviced the room reported someone smoking in the room, then they said a customer smelled smoke on the floor. Needless to say, the truth isn't something they are well acquainted with, nor is client trust.

Needless to say, my sleep was ruined, and I felt incredibly put upon as a customer.

I rented this room to sleep, and couldn't sleep at all - primarily because of David and Jesse from "maintenance."

On the positive side, it's located close to the Mayo Clinic. There is a diner style restaurant in the building downstairs, good service, and pretty good food.

The showers run hot and cold, and you'll be scalded and then frozen when you take a shower, it's happened in every room we've stayed in here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Rooms are very small, but quaint. Location was great for downtown activity. Check-in person was unknowledgeable and rude throughout our stay. Check-out person was great!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Brentwood Inn and Suites
Brentwood Inn and Suites
#25 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Rochester Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Property: Days Inn Rochester Downtown
Address: 1st Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Rochester Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Rochester-Downtown Hotel Rochester
Rochester Days Inn
Days Inn Rochester Mn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing