We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The GOOD, the WONDERFDUL, and the UGLY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The GOOD, the WONDERFDUL, and the UGLY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I spent a total of almost 4 weeks at the Centerstone (formerly Best Western) in April and June/July while she was being evaluated for surgery and for the surgery itself. I had researched reviews extensively and believe I can offer some insights (especially about the suites) and help put into perspective my experience along with many others I read here.

THE GOOD
Location: The hotel is about a mile away from St. Mary's entrance and probably half a mile to Gonda/Mayo buildings. It's an easy and safe walk in nice weather. The "out-building" suites offer a full kitchen with a full-size refrigerator. That alone saved me a small fortune as I am a foodie. And even a hospital as good as Mayo does not always serve the most appealing food.

The shuttle service is the handiest in town. (Will discuss more under WONDERFUL.) A beautiful food coop is about 3 blocks away and a huge supermarket and drug store are a little over a mile away. The price is reasonable. The beds are reasonably comfortable. THE WALLS ARE CONCRETE AND SOUNDPROOF. Having free wifi and hot breakfast available is handy. Kitchen has full size appliances. No one would argue that these accommodations are luxurious but they are well worth the prices charged.

THE WONDERFUL
The STAFF. We wanted to take them home with us! Service at a "5 star" hotel would be more formal but could not meet the standards or friendliness of the team at the Centerstone. I think very highly of Minnesotans' hospitality to begin with, but this team of folks is exceptional.

The front desk folks were always accommodating and tried to figure out ways to help solve every little problem they could. They look for every way they can to make your life easier while you are there. As many people have commented here, the shuttle drivers are amazing. They are efficient, flexible, caring. There is NO need to have a car here. Even the fact that there always seem to be at least 2 drivers available at all times makes getting around worry- and stress-free. That service alone is worth half the price of the room.

During our second stay, we encountered an unexpected surprise in the category of random acts of kindness. My wife was hobbling around outside trying to find a place to grab a few puffs of a cigarette. Jeff B, in Maintenance, got us set up quickly. After that, he took care of some small complaints with the room. And then, he wrote down his personal phone number for us. He offered to take us up to Walmart for whatever we needed to be more comfortable. He offered to find and install some accessible equipment we thought we needed post-surgery. While my wife was up in St. Mary's, he stopped by several times to ask me if I needed him to do anything for me (on his own time). He helped me get things ready to leave. Jeff's genuine concern for our well-being and comfort was truly above and beyond the call of duty. That genuine, real concern is not something you can get for any price at a 5 star hotel.

THE UGLY
(I base this on 2 "out building" experiences.) Air conditioners are old, noisy, and inefficient and should be replaced. AC to the bedroom is problematic as others have suggested. Fortunately, MN weather and double pane windows with screens help mitigate that. Carpets could use a good cleaning or replacing. (I did not feel comfortable walking barefoot.) Couches, as well, should be replaced. Bed sheets and mattress covers should be replaced. Drapes and bedspreads, too.

BOTTOM LINE: Considering all the value we got for our money and the exceptional service and hospitality, I can easily overlook the UGLY and will stay there again if we ever need to go back to Mayo.

Room Tip: For long stays, opt for the one bedroom suites. The full kitchen will save you money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stays with us at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed our location to the Mayo Clinic Campus and Saint Marys Hospital. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stays in our Extended Stay Suites. The full kitchens definitely make a long stay more enjoyable, we try to make it our guests home away from home. We are ecstatic to hear how much you enjoyed the Express Shuttle Service that we offer and that you didn't have to use your car one bit while staying with us. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on our staff, they are all so gracious and caring. We can't wait to share your comments with them, they love to hear how much our guests appreciate everything that they do. Thank you for letting us know about the air conditioner in your guestroom, we are replacing them and have made note to get a new one into that room. We appreciate all of your feedback more than you will ever know. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    131
    51
    29
    34
See reviews for
173
64
40
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is terrible. We’re used to Hampton Inns but are here for a family event. We have a room in one of the “out-buildings” without indoor room entrances. We’re on the 1st floor and the room is extremely damp. The AC unit is running and cooling but it appears that the condensed water doesn’t drain anywhere. The humidity in the room is about 100%. About the AC – this room is a kitchenette with a separate bedroom. The bedroom does not have AC – there is a fan in the wall between the living room and the bedroom to move cool air into there. It works OK, but how cheap can you get? The room smells musty, the carpet is damp, the tile floor felt damp, and even the couch feels damp because of the high humidity. The carpet is not clean. My feet got immediately dirty after showering. It smells a bit like cigarette smoke in the room – either people have been illegally smoking, or there is still residual smoke smell from the past – cleaning?? The kitchen area and bathroom walls are that plastic coated metal type walls that you see in fast food restrooms. What else? There are silverware and dishes in the kitchen cabinets – have to use the glasses from there since there are none in the bathroom. That was gross – all of the glasses had fingerprints and lip prints on them! Ewww! I had to wash them with shampoo before using. The staff definitely has not been trained to do this. Now – the bathroom was clean; no mildew there, which you can’t say about many cheaper hotels these days. The bed was fine; not at all uncomfortable. Based on their webpage when you sign onto wifi, it appears we’re in one of the recently renovated room because we have the granite countertops that are “coming in 2013” (its 2014!). I’d hate to see rooms that haven’t been renovated.
The price is about the same as one of the Hampton Inns in town (probably not the one near the Mayo). If you don’t need to be very close to the Mayo, don’t stay here. Even if you do, ask to see your room before you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealJackTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area. We are so sorry to hear about your experience. Our housekeeping staff has been trained during the warmer months to leave the air conditioner on and the fan running to circulate the air flow throughout the room, had this been done the dampness that you refer to would have been eliminated. We apologize that this was not done prior to your arrival. I am so sorry to hear that the carpet was not cleaned to our standards and there was a lingering odor. We have our maintenance staff looking into your comments to assure that this does not happen again. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and were able to get a good night's rest. Thank you for letting us know that the website had not been updated, we have made that change. I have spoken to our staff to make sure everyone is aware of the issues you brought to our attention and can assure you that these have been addressed and will never happen again. On every level we are so very sorry. This is in no way the experience we would ever want a guest to have. I hope that if you are ever in the Rochester area you will give us another chance to redeem ourselves. Please contact me as I would like to discuss the issues further, myron@soldiersfield.com Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel was ok, but very convenient to have the shuttle to take and pick up from Clinic. The kitchenette does not have alot of kitchen items, so would recommend that you bring some of your own if you plan to cook. We had the suite, which had a separate bedroom. There was not an air conditioner in the room, just an exhaust fan to push the air from the living room. If it was warmer it may not have been comfortable. Was glad I took a fan. The breakfast was your normal free breakfast. I would most likely stay there again due to the shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location to the Mayo Clinic. We are thrilled that you were able to utilize our express on-call shuttle service that we offer to only our guests and found it very convenient. We are so sorry to hear that your guestroom was not stocked with the appropriate kitchen items, each room is to have 4 sets of dinnerware, a sauce pot, a sauté pan, and cooking utensils. I am sorry to hear that your accommodations were warmer than expected, can you please contact me directly to discuss this further, myron@soldiersfield.com. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet that we serve daily with waffles, pancakes, scrambled eggs, breakfast meats. cereal, donuts, coffee, juices and many other items. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

with in walking distance to Mayo Clinic.Luckily I only had to be there for the day. Staff very helpful and considerate, well groomed and pleasant personalitys The room we stayed in is in desperate need of a major overhaul. . Only way to cool bedroom was either open windows or turn on fan that went thru to the living room where ac was. Could see right through the wall. Nice kitchenette. Sofa and chair were almost impossible to sit on,Beds were comfortable. 2 dbl beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area. We are so happy to hear how helpful and considerate our staff was during your stay. We can't wait to share your wonderful comments with them! I am so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your guestroom accommodations. The air conditioning in our Extended Stay Suites circulates from the living room into the bedroom when the fan is running, our staff is to ensure that this is running prior to our guests arrival. I apologize that this was not done prior to you checking in. We have spoken with our housekeeping staff to ensure that this does not happen again. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed having a full size stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, and microwave in your guestroom. I am sorry that the that the sofa and chair were uncomfortable, can you please contact me directly to discuss this further, myron@soldiersfield.com. I am thrilled that you were able to relax in our comfortable beds. Thank you so much for bringing these issues to my attention, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I read reviews online that scared me a bit about this hotel, but it turned out to be rather nice. Yes the rooms are a bit dated to the 80s but the lobby is large and accommodates a lot of people. The breakfast was your average free breakfast but the location to the soldiers baseball fields was perfect.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us at the Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our large lobby and were able to gather as a team. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location to Soldiers Field Park. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Rochester. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

The desk service, shuttle drivers and service, and on-site restaurant (Twigs) at this facility are fantastic. We stayed in the main tower in the building with the reception area. We are not sure what the other buildings were like. The breakfast had great variety, and the bar/lounge had a good vibe. Nice workout area; two hot tubs and a nice size pool with great lighting. This hotel is not in downtown rochester, but is only 8 blocks away (we walked it 3 times) and the shuttle is available for free (tip the driver!) much of the day. You will not regret your choice to stay here - good value, great service, and clean, contemporary decor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area. We couldn't' be happier to hear how fantastic all of our staff was during your stay with us. We are glad you were able to enjoyed our complimentary expanded breakfast buffet and enjoyed the pancakes, waffles, scrambled eggs, breakfast meats and many many other items that we serve daily. We are thrilled that you enjoyed Twigs Tavern and Grille. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the fitness center and pool area. Thank you again for your wonderful comments, they mean the world to us. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hotel was very clean, Room was quiet and very comfortable. Restaurant was great,excellent food and choices ,prices were very reasonable and wonderful service also. We have stayed there many times and would definitely come back again. We also appreciated the free shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 660ronr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus SOLDIERS FIELD. We are so happy to hear how wonderful your stay was and how much you appreciated our Express Shuttle Service that we offer to only our guests. We are thrilled to hear how comfortable and quiet you found your guestroom accommodations. We are so excited to hear that you dined in Twigs Tavern and Grille and enjoyed a excellent meal with wonderful service. We are ecstatic to hear how many times you have stayed with us in the past and we are looking forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#18 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#20 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing