We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Beware of 516”
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I have to share my reasons for rating this only 'Okay' first. My credit card was charged the full amount 2 weeks prior to our arrival date. Checking in took as long as in Las Vegas. We arrived about 5:30 p.m. on a Thursday evening. The hotel was full, there were two staff at the counter, but the wait was quite long...for the location. We settled in, finding our room to have an 'old person's smell', and decided to head to the bar for a relaxing cocktail. Upon returning to our room about 7:30, neither my friend's key, nor mine worked. A woman and her son at the elevator asked what we were doing. In short, their keys allowed them into our room and we were now locked out of our room. The front desk did 'fix' the situation and our belongings did not seem to have been disrupted. The shower barely drained, but we didn't alert staff as one of us showered in the evening, the other in the morning. (It drained by morning) However, on our third night, after a long, hot, dry day antiquing outdoors, we returned to our room to shower Saturday evening before dinner. The tub was filled with hair, black substance, and goodness knows what. We called the front desk who assured us someone would be there shortly. A young, perhaps, non-English speaking individual came to the door and immediately proceeded to clean the bathroom. He didn't answer or acknowledge our questions. He left without a word. Ick! The hotel is very quiet, conveniently located, and the breakfast staff is wonderful. I was prepared to share my concerns upon checkout. However, I was never asked how the stay was. I would NEVER stay here again.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    138
    53
    31
    35
See reviews for
185
66
41
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

First and foremost, after staying for 3 weeks, this hotel has the best shuttle service and staff! Everyone (housekeepers, breakfast servers, front desk, shuttle drivers) was extremely polite and helpful.
1. Shuttle Service - Fantastic!!!! They will pick you up at your building or the lobby and take you ANYWHERE in Rochester with little to no wait.
2. Breakfast was very good. Waffles made to order, fresh fruit (grapes, melon, pineapple), scrambled eggs, sausage, pastries, oatmeal, toast, and 4 kinds of juice. The dining area was always kept very clean and the staff did a great job making waffles.
3. Front Desk - these people couldn't have been any nicer. You need anything.....all you have to do is ask.
4. Housekeeping - Great
5. Pool - Very nice and clean
Overall - would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Liked — Amazing shuttle service
  • Disliked — rooms could be updated in building 3
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NebraskaHuskerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

While visiting Mayo Clinic we tried the BW Soldiers Field and found it very much adequate for our needs. Rating is based on "class" of facility...as in typical star class. Did not ask for "Clinic Rate" as it appeared it would likely be same as AAA or AARP rates. Room comments are based on "Premier King Bed" room in main tower...other rooms, especially in out buildings, may vary.

Check in was swift and accurate and staff friendly. Nominal check in is 4pm but we got there at 2pm no problem and had time to walk to the clinic (4-5 blocks). They have their own shuttle service to clinic & hospitals as well as just about anywehre in Rochester including airport. Shuttle wait for clinic was 5-10 minutes at either end.

Room was very spacious with a recliner AND a sofa (w/bed) and the king bed. Bathroom was small but efficient. Tub/shower with sliding glass doors instead of curtain. Shower head was extended extra high...we are short so adjusting was difficult. Original location would maybe have been too low for tall people....can't please everyone. Mirror fogged up badly and took a long time to clear....it would be easy to retrofit with electric mirror defogger pad behind the mirror like many hotels are doing.

Room was spotless and everything in good shape. TV has only standard cable channels....no HBO or pay-movies. Room had both a small refrigerator and a small microwave plus coffee maker.

Pool area (indoor) was OK looking but we did not use. Would have liked to use the sauna but ran out of time. Ice makers on even floors with a Pepsi machine and on odd floors Coke machine instead of ice. Fair amount of free parking but open to public access so not real secure - use at own risk as they advise on permit to be placed on dash.

Breakfast was good but very crowded with limited seating forcing overflow into lobby. Waffles, rolls, cereals etc... but also for a set time there are hot items like scrambled eggs (from mix) and sausage...plus mixed mellon & fruit salad. Splenda available. A rare low-carb friendly complementary breakfast

All in all we were pleased. The approx $100/nt AAA rate is a bit more than we usually pay but the location is convenient to the Clinic and Methodist Hospital and the shuttle serivce would be extremely handy for anyone flying in with no car rental. So could be a very good deal for some.

  • Liked — Convenience to Mayo Clinic, room size
  • Disliked — Parking (limited handicap spots)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sequim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Three of us stayed here for two weeks for my daughter's surgery. We stayed in the extended stay room, #913, with 2 queens (1 a queen murphy bed), full kitchen, two TVs. Alot of room and clean! The building was across the street from the hotel. No problem, it wasn't a busy street. Most of the drivers stopped so that you could cross. Very nice people in Rochester! The stuttle was amazing. The drivers were excellent. They will take you anywhere up to 10pm; unheard of at the other hotels. Also, the drivers will pick you up at your room. The free breakfast was excellent. We never got bored with the choices; eggs, sausage, waffles, pastries, cereal, breads. We went for dinner at the hotel. Very good and reasonable! The hotel has a great pool, game room, and sizeable gym. Most importantly, all the staff was wonderful. They made a difficult time an easier time. Thank you! I will definally stay here again.

  • Liked — Staff and shuttle
  • Disliked — Heavier cleaning needed: rugs and furniture
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cath102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2007

We stayed here while in Rochester for a visit at the Mayo Clinic. The hotel provides a Mayo rate, which was slightly better than that AAA rate. We planned to stay for the whole week, but were released from the Clinic earlier, so it was just an overnight stay. The room was OK - seemed a bit outdated but fairly clean. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle service was wonderful - went to the Apache Mall and to the Mayo Clinic. It was great to be dropped off at the front door and not have to deal with the hassle of parking. The breakfast buffet was good and served in the hotel restaurant, so wasn't as crowded as other establishments often are. I would recommend this as a good place to stay while in Rochester.

  • Liked — Shuttle Service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

I visited my parents who live in the area during Thanksgiving. I needed a place to stay for one night. I checked in and discovered a very friendly and helpful front desk staff. My room was in the 3rd building (the motel covers 3 buildings). It was very clean and had a stove, fridge, sink, cupboards, utensils etc.. My party booked a room with a double bed and a fold out couch (single bed). If you are picky about a bed, the fold out might not work for you....but I was o-k with it for one night. Ask for extra blankets as soon as you check in as there was only one blanket for the fold out. Good location. Soldiers field is nearby park that is good for walking. You can walk to downown or take the shuttle which also goes to the mall etc. I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank Spade22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

My dad had a week-long evaluation at Mayo and we had some really specific requirements for our hotel--needed a fridge for medication and a recliner for sleeping. They delivered on both counts. I worked with the reservations desk and they were great.
The shuttle is worth the $10-15 you save each day in parking. We spent very little time waiting for the shutttle because they have their own--not shared with other Rochester hotels. Drivers were very courteous. The hotel restaurant offers a free breakfast that is the best I've seen for free including hot food like scrambled eggs and sausage.

My only complaint was that their business center had computers that were not operational for part of our visit. Also, the front desk staff working in the evening were not very professional, making inappropriate comments about customers and talking about their personal lives. Both of these were minor complaints compared to the excellent service in other areas.

  • Liked — services and amenities
  • Disliked — unprofessional front desk staff on evening shift
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MNLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
1,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
743 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#20 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing