We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Van is great, extra hours above the others. Drivers are so helpful. The suites are old but a good bargain with a kitchen and extra room. The tower rooms are updated so you have a choice. Staff very good. We go for medical care and appreciate any kindness. Friends recommended the hotel to s and we tell others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rose-anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoy our Express Shuttle Service and our drivers are always helpful during your visits. Our property is comprised of four buildings, three of which are exterior buildings with our extended stay suites. We have recently updated the carpet, bedding and installed flat screen televisions throughout the hotel. We will be installing granite countertops in all of the bathrooms by 2014. We are almost half way through our first phase of the exterior building facelift. We can’t wait for you to see it on your next visit. We are thrilled to hear your comments about our staff. We can’t wait to pass them along as they love to hear how much our guests appreciate everything that they do for them. Thank you so much for you recommendations, you don’t know how much they mean to us. We look forward to your next stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Soldiers Field Tower & Suites. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 491 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

From the time my family and I entered the front door Monday night to when we left Friday afternoon, the service was awesome. Personalities from being the desk to maintanence/housekeeping to the shuttle drivers made us feel welcomed and comfortable and one of the family as well as we did them. We had a wonderful experience and would love to visit them again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled to hear about the amazing service you received from all of our staff the moment you walked in the front door. We cannot wait to tell our staff how much you appreciated everything they did for you and your family. We could not be happier with the experience you were given while staying with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Soldiers Field Tower & Suites and we look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Using the Mayo discount places you in the small suites/seperate bldg from the main hotel. My unit had a funny smell. Environment and decor left a lot to be desired. At checkin i tried to upgrade to the main hotel; no rooms available. We ended up spending the night but changed the reservations from 2 nights to 1. Breakfast is adequate but acoustics makes for a very noisy experience; could not even hear the morning news over the many chairs pulled in and out over the tile floor etc. This city has many places to stay so explore your options before booking at this old and tired Best Western property. On the plus side, because I do feel I should add one, is the free hospital shuttle service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLP v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Soldiers Field Tower & Suites. We are sorry to hear that your guestroom accommodations were not what you had expected. Please contact me, myron@soldiersfield.com to discuss the issues further. We do offer Mayo Clinic discounted rates on all of our room types and apologize if this was not offered to you. We do offer different room types with different room rates to choose from. We are glad you were able to enjoy our free expanded breakfast buffet. Breakfast does tend to get busier at times during the morning, we do offer additional seating in the lobby and magnolia room that feature televisions for our guest enjoyment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Express Shuttle Service that we provide to only our guests. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope if you are ever in Rochester again you will give us a second chance. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were able to use our Best Western voucher from thier promotion this summer at this chain to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Soldiers Field Tower & Suites in Rochester, Minnesota. This is a sprawling property with a number of non-connected buildings. It was just for one night, but the price was right because we had a free night voucher. To our suprise, we were given a SUITE with a full kitchen, two big screen TV's, and got to enjoy the complementary breakfast the next morning just off the lobby. I'll continue to stay at Best Western properties if they always treat us this way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Soldiers Field Tower & Suites. We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us to use your free night voucher. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our extended stay suites. We are excited to hear how much you enjoyed having two flat screen televisions in your room. We are glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary expanded breakfast buffet we serve daily for our guest. Thanks again for your wonderful comments, we can’t wait to pass them along to our staff. If you are ever in the Rochester area again we would love to see you. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rooms were nice and clean almost looked new. Shuttle service was great. The restaurant and bar staff were friendly. This is a perfect location near downtown and a park. The outside is being updated our room was clean and updated with new furniture. The maid service was a little slow could use some more staff. We couldnt check in until 4 pm way to late had to sit in the parking lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Soldiers Field Tower & Suites. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations and our location. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy our Express Shuttle Service that we offer only our guests everyday from 5:30am to 10pm. We are very excited about our exterior renovation as well as the granite countertops that will be installed this winter. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the Rochester area. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel has large immaculate rooms, a great hot breakfast and free shuttles that run from 6:30am to 10:00pm to all Mayo Clinic buildings. Unlike other hotels that have shared buses and vans stop at several hotels and takes quite a bit time, this hotel shuttle stops at their hotel only.
The ride to the Clinic is very short...less than 5 minutes depending on traffic lights. The hotel is very close to the clinic. The hotel also has a fabulous restaurant. Better than any hotel I have been at. It also serves many locals which says a lot for the restaurant .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dovebar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Soldiers Field. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your accommodations and found our rooms to be large and immaculate. We are glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary expanded breakfast buffet that we serve our guests daily. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our complimentary Express Courtesy Shuttle that drives only our guests and starts running at 5:30am every day. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy our award winning restaurant, Twigs Tavern and Grille. We can’t wait to pass along your comments to our staff as they love to hear how much our guests appreciate everything that they do. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The business center was not functional during my stay. Both computers were broken, both printers were out of ink, and the staff did nothing to fix either. The problem was brought to the attention of three different front desk shifts and not one thing was done to correct the problem. I stopped back at the place 5 days later and the problems were not fixed. I chose not to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Soldiers Field Tower & Suites. We are so sorry to hear that you were not able to utilize our business center. We tried endlessly to get a hold of our computer service company to come in and fix the issues right away. When they were finally able to come in and look at the computers, they were able to fix what they thought were all of the issues. We have since switched computer service companies and they have properly fixed the computers and everything is operating as it should. We apologize for the inconvenience that this caused you during your stay. We can assure you that we have fixed this issue and appreciate you bringing it to our attention again. Please let me know if you would like to discuss anything further, myron@soldiersfield.com. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 50 in Rochester
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
740 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#20 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $125 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IBC Hospitality, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing