We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location, and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were so impressed with the quality of the staff, food, and shuttle service that we've already booked another stay at the Best Western. For a long stay in Rochester this is the place to be. The pool was fun for the kids between appointments and we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub after a long day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Twigs Tavern and Grille and were able to enjoy a nice relaxing meal. We are glad to hear that our staff was great during your stay with us and that you enjoyed our one of a kind shuttle service! We can’t wait to pass along your comments to our staff as they love to hear how much our guests appreciate them! We are thrilled that your kids were able to play in the pool area in between appointments and you were able to relax after a long day at Mayo Clinic. Thank you again for your great comments and we look forward to your next stay with us! Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 501 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were plesantly surprised while staying at the Best Western Soldier Fields. The staff was extremely helpful and great people to deal with. They always seemed to go above and beyond our expectations. We stayed in the extended stay with kitchen. The shuttle service was fantastic - they made it so easy to go back and forth to the Mayo Clinic and restuarants. The room was clean and in good shape. The only thing that would have been better would be a little larger bathroom - we found the storage tight for three people. Also the food at Twigs was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Mayo Clinic or just a long stay in Rochester.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower & Suites. We are thrilled that our staff was so helpful and went above and beyond for you during your stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Extended Stay Suites. We are glad you were able to use our shuttle service that we offer only our guests and were able to get back and forth with no extra added [stress! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed Twigs Tavern and Grille and were able to enjoy a nice relaxing meal. Thank you so much for your recommendation, it means the world to us! We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our volleyball club was in town for Rochester Cup and we had the best experience. We reserved a banquet "party" room for our team to gather. The staff was very accommodating and hotel rooms were very clean. And the BREAKFAST...wow I felt like I was at Perkins... it was amazing!
Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We love our sports teams. We are glad you were able to gather in our banquet room with your team and enjoyed your downtime from the Volleyball tournament. We are so happy to hear how accommodating and helpful our staff was and your guestroom was beyond your expectations. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our free expanded breakfast buffet. Thanks again for your great comments and we look forward to the next time your volleyball team stays with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

By far this is the worst Best Western i have ever stayed at. I am a PLATINUM REWARDS card holder. The customer service i received was below average. So i talk to the manger Myron. Now i see where his employees get their customer service skills from. If i was part of the Best Western franchise i would take the name away from them. i would rate my family's all around experience with this Best Western as well below average. The suite that i stayed in reminded me of my old college dorm room. The only good thing that i can come up with that was good about this hotel was the location. I will be staying at a different hotel on my next trip to Rochester.

Room Tip: Don't stay in their suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We truly apologize that you were not pleased with your stay here at the Best Western Plus Soldiers Field. I am sad that we were not able to resolve your concerns while you were staying here. As I tried to clarify to you on the telephone, it is up to each individual banking institution to decide how to process debit card pre-authorizations. I know that you were frustrated with the situation. I am genuinely sorry that the information on the pre-authorization was not explained clearly to you and we have discussed this with our staff to be certain that this situation does not occur again.

We have been notified by Best Western Corporate that they reimbursed you 10,000 Best Western Rewards Points. We hope that this gesture by Best Western helps to alleviate the situation. Please know how important you are to the Best Western Brand. Again, we apologize. If you would like to discuss anything further please contact me, myron@soldiersfield.com. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I are so thankful for everything.. We took our adventure to Rochester, MN for the purpose of the MAYO Clinic. A time of stress, sadness and uncertainty. There are no real words to express how grateful I am for the staff, the shuttle service, friendliness, cleanliness and overall compassionate atmosphere provided at this location. The breakfast - perfect. The pool and game room - perfect. I know that we will have to return to Rochester quarterly... and it is with the utmost certainty that I can say we have found a home at the Best Western Soldiers Field.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

WOW! We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us We are so happy to hear that all of our staff showed you the compassion and consideration that we strive for on a daily basis. Our job is to help make you as comfortable as we can when you are visiting Rochester and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of our staff, our shuttle service and we were able to help make your trips so much easier! We are glad that your guestroom accommodations were clean and comfortable! We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our free expanded breakfast buffet during your stay and were able to utilize the pool and arcade as well. Again we cannot thank you enough for your kind words about the Best Western Soldiers Field. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

When we first pulled up to the tower we were staying in, I was very hesitant. When we opened the door to our room, WOW! Clean, nice and comfortable and convenient to Mayo Clinic. The shuttle staff were amazing and made the trips back and forth easy. I would not hesitate to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomstersFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Best Western Soldiers Field. We couldn’t be happier to hear how amazing our shuttle staff was during your stay. We are so glad we could help make your trips to and from the Mayo Clinic as easy as possible. We are in the midst of a complete facelift of our exterior buildings and can’t wait to start the first phase this spring. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your guestroom and how comfortable your stay was. Thanks again for your wonderful comments and we can’t wait to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
764 reviews
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 50 in Rochester
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#21 of 50 in Rochester
815 reviews
3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Family Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $125 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IBC Hospitality, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing