We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definately a popular spot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definately a popular spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Like so many other reviewers, I booked this hotel for the easy access to Mayo. Literally around the corner & down the street from Mayo. The morning complimentary breakfast got us a good start to what was a long medical day. Then we hopped on the free shuttle the hotel provides to Mayo for our appointment. Otherwise, Mayo DOES charge for use of their parking garage.

The hotel was really very busy. You could tell that by the front desk's phone ringing off the hook & the amount of dirt in the carpet in the main hallway at the end of the day. The room was average, probably needing an updating soon. All the typical amenities were provided. Comfortable night's rest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HouseWifey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western Soldiers Field. We are happy to hear that you chose us for easy access to the Mayo Clinic and enjoyed our shuttle service. We are glad to hear that our complimentary breakfast buffet was a great start to your mornings. The rooms have recently been updated with new carpet, new bedding, and flat screen televisions. We are in the midst of a complete facelift of our exterior buildings and will begin the first phase this spring. We are thrilled that you were able to get a comfortable nights rest while staying in the hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    130
    51
    29
    34
See reviews for
173
64
39
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

we happened to stay for almost a month, due to a long visit in mayo clinic. we recieved a wonderful feeling from all the staff, from the reception team to the shuttle drivers, felt really "at home" though we stayed far away from home. hotel itself is in very good condition. rooms are big and always clean, fresh beddings and lots of light. breakfast (included) is dissent, and very convenient when leaving early in the morning for the clinic. Twigs restaurant is a perfect solution if you are too tired to look for dinner outside the hotel, and with its great atmosphere and delicious food you shouldn't miss it. on top of all- the shuttle service..... what a great service. they will take you everywhere you need, not only the clinic. (and will always recommend a good place for dinner). hopefully won't need to visit Mayo again, but can definitely recommend staying in this hotel to others.

Room Tip: we stayed at the tower. all rooms are the same size, very big and lighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miranker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us! I am so happy to hear that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay with us like home! We can’t wait to pass along those comments to them. I am glad you enjoyed your large, clean room and the adequate lighting was just what you needed. I am thrilled you were able to utilize the free expanded breakfast buffet that we serve daily and found it convenient before your shuttle ride to the clinic. Thanks for your great comments about Twigs Tavern and Grille. We are glad we were able to provide you with a perfect solution on days when it was too much to venture out and couldn’t be happier that you enjoyed the atmosphere and our delicious food! We are so very happy that you enjoyed the shuttle service. We have worked very hard to ensure that our guests are taken care of and never have to worry about parking issues downtown. Thank you so much for your recommendations! We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Expect and always receive excellent service from BW Plus Soldiers Field Rochester, MN. Employees are always friendly from the front desk to the house keeping staff and shuttle driver. Will always stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and comments regarding our great staff here at the Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower & Suites. I am thrilled that our staff is always friendly during your stays with us and I can’t wait to pass along your comments to each and every one of them. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in the towers in March 2013.

The good things:
Room was clean and in pretty good shape. Everything worked in the room except we didn't have a channel guide for the TV. Twigs Restaurant was awesome. Food was wonderfully tasty and decor was new, fresh and stylish. Shuttle to Mayo ran even with 7 inches of fresh snow. They were on time and friendly staff. Cost was lower than hotels attached to Mayo Clinic.

The not-so-great things:
Lobby was very dirty and in a state of disrepair. Elevators were dirty, smelled and the floors were all cracked and sticky. Room was cold - I had to bump the heat up to 78 to get the room warm. Hallways on every floor and the whole entire first floor was VERY cold. I couldn't imagine going from the pool to your room down the hallway. Pool appeared clean but sauna didn't work. Several machines in the arcade didn't work. Fitness room was okay. Staff were often joking around and were loud and spoke mostly in Spanish & some were dressed in what I would call almost a gangster style. I really didn't feel safe in that hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Best Western Soldiers Field Tower & Suites I am sorry to hear that you did not have a channel guide in your room, thank you for letting us know. We have spoken with our housekeeping staff to ensure that they are double checking the information in the guest directory book in each of our rooms. Yes many of our staff is bilingual they do communicate to each other in Spanish. We will discuss with them to be certain that their voice levels are kept softer. Our housekeeping staffs uniform is a charcoal gray smock with black dress pants. We will reconfirm that the staff are all wearing their uniforms appropriately. We adore each and every one of our housekeeping staff, and I can assure you that our staff is incredibly friendly and you were safe here at all times. We will look into the temperature issue of the corridors of the hotel. With the incredible snow storm that came through, for the safety of our guests we put salt and sand all over the entire parking lot and stairs outside. This created quite a housekeeping issue as they were trying to keep up on removing the salt and sand that got tracked in throughout the weekend. We apologize if our staff were unable to keep up and we will speak to them about this and have them vacuum and sweep more often when it is storming out. I am so glad you were able to enjoy a wonderful meal and dining experience in Twigs Tavern and Grille. I am happy to hear you were able to use the shuttle service during the snow storm and that our drivers were on time and friendly. If you would like to discuss anything further please contact me, myron@soldiersfield.com. We hope that if you are ever in the Rochester area again you will give us a second chance. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Needed to be at Mayo clinic. This hotel is awesome and not to pricey. Nice people, great restaurant , free shuttle to most places. Room is clean and quite. You also can get a kitchen suite.Free breakfast .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We couldn’t be happier to hear that our staff as great and you enjoyed dining in Twigs Tavern and Grille! We are happy to hear that your room was clean and quiet during your stay. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the shuttle service around the area. We are glad you enjoyed the free breakfast buffet that we offer seven days a week. We can’t wait to share your comments with our staff as they LOVE to hear our guests comments! We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Minnesota, Usa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The apartment-like suit was very nice. Everyone was nice. Snow was cleaned away quickly. Breakfast was o.k. The Shuttle to and from the hospital was a great convenience; it would have been nice to know that security would pick me up when the shuttle was off before I was panicking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Extended Stay Suites. I am thrilled you found a great convenience with our shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic and the hospitals. In case of emergency, security will come and get a guest after hours if they have to stay late at the hospital and happen to miss our final shuttle, but because security continuously makes rounds on the property we only offer this in case of rare unplanned circumstances. I am so glad to hear that our staff was very nice during your stay and our maintenance crew was able to clear away the snow quickly. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#16 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#20 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing