We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, Rundown, but Cheaper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in the towers in March 2013.

The good things:
Room was clean and in pretty good shape. Everything worked in the room except we didn't have a channel guide for the TV. Twigs Restaurant was awesome. Food was wonderfully tasty and decor was new, fresh and stylish. Shuttle to Mayo ran even with 7 inches of fresh snow. They were on time and friendly staff. Cost was lower than hotels attached to Mayo Clinic.

The not-so-great things:
Lobby was very dirty and in a state of disrepair. Elevators were dirty, smelled and the floors were all cracked and sticky. Room was cold - I had to bump the heat up to 78 to get the room warm. Hallways on every floor and the whole entire first floor was VERY cold. I couldn't imagine going from the pool to your room down the hallway. Pool appeared clean but sauna didn't work. Several machines in the arcade didn't work. Fitness room was okay. Staff were often joking around and were loud and spoke mostly in Spanish & some were dressed in what I would call almost a gangster style. I really didn't feel safe in that hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Best Western Soldiers Field Tower & Suites I am sorry to hear that you did not have a channel guide in your room, thank you for letting us know. We have spoken with our housekeeping staff to ensure that they are double checking the information in the guest directory book in each of our rooms. Yes many of our staff is bilingual they do communicate to each other in Spanish. We will discuss with them to be certain that their voice levels are kept softer. Our housekeeping staffs uniform is a charcoal gray smock with black dress pants. We will reconfirm that the staff are all wearing their uniforms appropriately. We adore each and every one of our housekeeping staff, and I can assure you that our staff is incredibly friendly and you were safe here at all times. We will look into the temperature issue of the corridors of the hotel. With the incredible snow storm that came through, for the safety of our guests we put salt and sand all over the entire parking lot and stairs outside. This created quite a housekeeping issue as they were trying to keep up on removing the salt and sand that got tracked in throughout the weekend. We apologize if our staff were unable to keep up and we will speak to them about this and have them vacuum and sweep more often when it is storming out. I am so glad you were able to enjoy a wonderful meal and dining experience in Twigs Tavern and Grille. I am happy to hear you were able to use the shuttle service during the snow storm and that our drivers were on time and friendly. If you would like to discuss anything further please contact me, myron@soldiersfield.com. We hope that if you are ever in the Rochester area again you will give us a second chance. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 501 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Needed to be at Mayo clinic. This hotel is awesome and not to pricey. Nice people, great restaurant , free shuttle to most places. Room is clean and quite. You also can get a kitchen suite.Free breakfast .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhowarth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review! We couldn’t be happier to hear that our staff as great and you enjoyed dining in Twigs Tavern and Grille! We are happy to hear that your room was clean and quiet during your stay. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the shuttle service around the area. We are glad you enjoyed the free breakfast buffet that we offer seven days a week. We can’t wait to share your comments with our staff as they LOVE to hear our guests comments! We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The apartment-like suit was very nice. Everyone was nice. Snow was cleaned away quickly. Breakfast was o.k. The Shuttle to and from the hospital was a great convenience; it would have been nice to know that security would pick me up when the shuttle was off before I was panicking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Extended Stay Suites. I am thrilled you found a great convenience with our shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic and the hospitals. In case of emergency, security will come and get a guest after hours if they have to stay late at the hospital and happen to miss our final shuttle, but because security continuously makes rounds on the property we only offer this in case of rare unplanned circumstances. I am so glad to hear that our staff was very nice during your stay and our maintenance crew was able to clear away the snow quickly. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here twice in February for Mayo Clinic visits (a total of 7 nights). There could not be nicer people to care for you. The desk staff really want to see to your comfort. My spouse is an amputee and the handicap shower in our room on the first stay was excellent for him to use. When we could not be in that room for our second stay, the staff provided a shower chair moments after our request. Since my spouse could not sleep flat due to the pain he was having, they even brought a recliner to our room just as quickly. Just as valuable to us was the shuttle service which is run by wonderful engaging staff. A request from the doormen at Mayo brings them quickly and the drivers are very quick to see to your safety getting off and on. In fact, you can park and forget it since they will even take you to nearby restaurants. In the winter this is great because fear of falling on any ice or snow is pretty much eliminated. We will always look here first for a room when we return to Rochester.

As for other comments, the rooms are pretty well kept up. Lots of lighting was available which is often an issue for us in hotels. My only comment to staff would be a change in shower curtains. On both stays they could have been cleaner (one had definite mildew on the outer bottom side that faced the tub wall.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quiltingangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am so happy to hear that our front desk staff was able to help make your stays with us comfortable with a caring attitude. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the shuttle service and were able to leave your car parked until you were ready to head back home. Our drivers are one of a kind. Thank you for letting us know about the shower curtain. We have since replaced them all with brand new hookless curtains. We can’t wait to pass along your comments to our staff. They enjoy hearing how much they are appreciated by our guests. Thanks again for your comments, we truly appreciate them. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Rochester. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in the towers for daughters hockey tourney. Liked the shuttle service they offered. They have a nice bar/restaurant on site and pool. The hotel does a great job or getting teams on same floors. They come through hallways at 10:30 to make sure people are being quiet. Good breakfast in morning. eggs, sausage, toasts, oatmeal, cereals, muffins, donuts, fruit, and make your own waffle. The only complaints I had was the beds were not comfy and saggy. felt like I was going to fall off as it was down on 1 side. also never enough towels at the pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kerijo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed having the shuttle service and were able to use the service to get to and from the arena. I am glad you were able to enjoy the pool area and Twigs Tavern and Grille. I am thrilled we were able to get you and your team on the same floor, we work really hard to accommodate all of our teams. I am happy to hear that our staff walked through the halls to ensure everyone was enjoying themselves at a comfortable level. Thanks for your comments on our complimentary breakfast buffet, we have recently added a few extra hot items which include an egg bake, American fries, and a pancake machine for our guests enjoyment. I am sorry to hear that you found our beds uncomfortable, we have recently added a mattress topper to all of our beds, can you please contact me to let me know which room you stayed in so we can ensure that this room was not missed during our installation? I apologize that there was not enough pool towels in the pool area, we have spoken to our staff to remind them that they need to continuously restock the pool towels. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, without guests like you we would not know about these issues. We greatly appreciate your comments. If you would like to discuss anything further, please contact me Myron@soldiersfield.com. Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been visiting Mayo Clinic at least once every year since 1989. We always stay at Best Western Soldier's Field for it's convenient location, transportation service, clean rooms and overall friendliness of staff and guests. We stayed at a different hotel a couple of times when BWSF was full. Now, we make sure our reservations are made early. No comparison!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank waterbug823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for staying with us for so many years! Your kind words mean everything to us and the fact that you keep coming back says alot! Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoy the location, the shuttles, cleanliness of your room, and our staff and guests. Our drivers have been with us for years and love our guests, this comment will mean the world to them. We have a new Executive Head Housekeeper who has done an amazing job working with her staff and I am thrilled you are happy with the cleanliness of your room, we will pass this on to them as well. Our front desk and Twigs staff are such nice people and I agree, the guests we meet are wonderful too! We are lucky to have you and thank you for choosing us! Sincerely, Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 50 in Rochester
764 reviews
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 50 in Rochester
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#21 of 50 in Rochester
811 reviews
3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#15 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $125 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, IBC Hospitality, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing