We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and reasonable rate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
“Very comfortable and reasonable rate”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I must say that we've been quite pleased with this hotel; the price is low for what it offers. it was clean; the room was quite big; bed was comfortable; front desk people were very friendly and helpful and quick. The best perhaps was its shuttle that took us every where.
they offer typical standard breakfast; I didn't eat much there as I'm a picky eater and don't eat white bread and didn't like the taste of their coffee. But many people were eating happily. Again I didn't expect a better breakfast for this price anyways. Only I wish they had better coffee!

Room Tip: King size bed room was quite big and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahra39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Best Western Soldiers Field. We are happy to hear that you were delighted with the hotel and what we have to offer. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and were able to relax and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful during your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our shuttle service that we provide and were able to let them do your driving for you! We have recently been looking into adding additional options to our breakfast buffet. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy the coffee. Was it too weak, too strong or was it just not a flavor profile that you prefer. We would love to know and we will also ask other guests their thoughts on it and we will definitely make a change if needed. Thanks again for your comments and we hope that if you are ever in Rochester again you will choose to stay with us. Please contact me, myron@soldiersfield.com if you have any questions. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    136
    52
    30
    34
See reviews for
182
66
40
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I can't say anything positive about this Best Western. We were here for testing at the Mayo Clinic, as most people probably are. We requested a suite, which was in the next building from the front desk. Unfortunately, when making the reservation, they fail to tell you that the only access to the sub-par "suite" is by outside steps-no elevator. This will present a challenge to anyone who needs assistance or is handicapped. THEY DO NOT TELL YOU THAT!!! iF YOU FALL INTO THIS CATEGORY, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE! When checking out, someone was attempting to check in with her terminally ill 90 year old mother who COULDNT MAKE IT UP THE STEPS. It appeared that the front desk help was using many excuses, but not solving the issue. The lady was extremely frustrated and said she is going someplace else.

DON'T HOTELS CLEAN THE ROOM DAILY? NOT AT THE BEST WESTERN! We were at the Mayo for testing; came back at 2pm-the cleaners were on our floor so we left to go to lunch. Got back at 4pm....room was NOT cleaned. Called the front desk and they said they are full and would try to get to it. They never did....the next day when I complained to the front desk (again!) their reply was, "do you want your room cleaned every day?" Hello? Hello? YOU HAVE TO ASK FOR IT TO BE CLEANED? Thats absurd.

They "cleaned" it the next day. Empty mint wrappers not thrown away (there were only 2); empty coffee container not thrown away. If they cleaned efficiently, they wouldn't have missed this. And...this is after I had to ASK for cleaning, so you would think they'd be more efficient. Not the case.

Oh, by the way....in a suite the air conditioning unit is only in the main "living" area..there is no unit in the bedroom.

There are other places to stay...that do provide shuttles and are NOT more expensive.

Breakfast? Sausage and eggs everyday. No variety...Instant oatmeal...belgium waffle maker needs to be cleaned.

Other than that, it was a great hotel.

Room Tip: Only stay in the main "tower" (not a tower but they are dissilutioned to think it is) beca...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gogirl10-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We couldn’t be sorrier that your experience at the Best Western Soldiers Field was not to your liking. Would you be so kind as to contact us to discuss the issues at hand further. We will use your comments as a teaching moment for both our front desk and housekeeping. We did recently replace a front desk agent who had lost their zest for hospitality. We feel this may have been the person you spoke to regarding having your room cleaned, but we want to be certain.

Our Guest Suites are located in three outer buildings with exterior entrances. There are elevators in each of the three buildings, with only 5 of the 90 guest suites not accessible by elevator, we apologize if you received one of the 5 rooms and that our front desk agent did not accommodate a room change. Housekeeping services rooms daily. If a room was skipped it is usually because it has a “Do Not Disturb” on it. I am not sure what happened during your stay, but I wonder if they incorrectly wrote down your room number as a “Do Not Disturb”. I truly can’t be sorrier. I also believe that the comment, “You want your room cleaned every day?" was this specific front desk agent’s attempt at being funny. His banter with the guests has occasionally been misinterpreted in the past. We had to replace him for issues as you spoke about. I am just really sorry for how he handled it. In the event that we have the wrong person, we are going ahead and using this review as a training opportunity for our staff so this does not ever happen again. If you could let us know your date of stay and room number, we can look into which housekeeper was assigned to your room during your stay with us. Again, we will speak to all housekeepers regarding your situation, but we would really like to help the specific housekeeper do a better job.

I will also look into the breakfast to see where we can vary the buffet menu. Thanks for letting me know and I will speak to our chef to add variation.

Again, I am really sorry. If you are in town again, I hope you can give us a second chance. Please contact me myron@soldiersfield.com to discuss further.

Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Angie and nick were the ones at the front desk who were very helpfu and smiling. Did a great job, great P.R which everyone needs.the hotel itself is very clean,they have a shuttle to where ever one wants to go in the evening. They also have twigs bar and restaurant with outdoor seating with heaters and fire pits that have glass in them so they look pretty. The beds are very clean and comfortable. I slept like a baby every night. They have a small retrieve in the room. We were ther for a conference again. Love staying there. Thanks very much

Room Tip: Stay in the newer part
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at the Best Western Soldiers Field. We are so happy to hear that Angie and Nick were very helpful during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the shuttle service and you were able to relax on the patio and see the fire pits when they are lit. They are beautiful. It is great to hear that you were able to get a good night’s rest in our comfortable beds. We will pass along all of your comments to the different departments that you mentioned as it means the world to them to know that they are doing a good job. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

In town for my niece's wedding. Check in was fast but desk personnel could have been friendlier. Rooms nice and clean. Complimentary breakfast was very good and plentiful. Corridors very clean and quiet no noisy people. Cleaning staff very friendly. Very enjoyable stay. It was an excellent value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenmom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that check in was very fast. We are saddened to hear that our front desk agents did not greet you with the hospitality that they are so typically known for. We have spoken to our front desk agents about this. I am glad that our housekeeping staff was friendly and your guestroom was nice and clean. We are happy to hear that the corridors were clean and quiet so no noisy people kept you awake at night. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here on a trip driving from the West Coast to the Midwest. We were traveling with our cat, and needed to stay at a place that allowed pets. This was our third Best Western of the trip, and we arrived relatively late (after 9:00 pm). We stayed in the suites, which are across the street from the building that has the front desk. The suite was a bit dated, but seemed clean and relatively spacious. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. This wasn't anything fancy, but we would stay here again. This hotel is very close the Mayo Clinic if you are seeking a place to stay when in that area of Rochester.

Room Tip: They suites are spacious and have a separate bedroom if anyone needs privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwk0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Best Western Soldiers Field Tower & Suites. We are happy to hear that you felt your pet friendly room was clean and spacious. We have recently installed new carpet and bedding and very soon will be adding flat screen televisions to all of our guestrooms. When you come back, and we certainly hope that you will, we think you will be pleased. Thank you again for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Had a reservation, but when arrived my room was gone. "We will upgrade you." Great, but 10 minutes later told that was not possible. "But we can get your original room, it will take 10 minutes to clean it up.".
Okay. I explained I and the other members of my party, both handicapped and not comfortable getting out of the car until the room was ready, would be waiting out front.
One hour later, still no progress. Front desk clerk said ift was Travelocity's fault.
Right. We left.

Since the hotal overbooked, the staff should have helped us find another hotel and / or offered some coupon for the inconvenience.
If you are going to Rochester, avoid this hotel. They do not live up to the Best Western brand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We couldn’t be sorrier for how you were treated when you arrived at the hotel. When you arrived at check in, your pet-friendly room had mistakenly not been serviced by housekeeping and our front desk agent did not realize that in this circumstance we would have allowed a pet in any room of the hotel. She erroneously thought that because it was a pet-friendly reservation and we only had one pet-friendly room available that she had to use that room for your reservation. Again I apologize for how this was handled and we have spoken to our housekeeping staff and front desk agents and informed them that when situations like this arise we need to do everything possible to accommodate our guests quickly. I have spoken to the agent that assisted you and she feels horrible as to how this was handled and wanted to apologize to you and your family as well. We hope that you accept our apologies and if you are ever in the Rochester area you will give us another chance to prove that this type of service is not normal for our hotel or staff. Please contact me, myron@soldiersfield.com if you have any questions or would like to discuss this situation further. Sincerely Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The people here are very helpful. They have a free shuttle service that hasn't kept us waiting more than 5 minutes. They take you to numerous mayo clinic stops as well as downtown. We had a room in the exterior building which must have been apartments in the past. Small kitchen and separate bedroom was nice. The bedroom didn't have it's own AC but a fan in the wall circulated the air (not the best but worked). The attached restaurant has very good food which decent prices. Overall, a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms are nice for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lockpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was very helpful and the shuttle service was everything we strive for in accommodating our guests after a long day. We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. We are thrilled that you enjoyed Twigs Tavern and Grille. We have worked extensively in providing a great meal at a reasonable price. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.5 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#17 of 52 in Rochester
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 52 in Rochester
1,205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Property: Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#20 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing