We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Hound Dog burger!”

Canadian Honker Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #5 of 303 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get the Hound Dog burger!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

This place was exactly what we were looking for, friendly, fast, and tasty.

We had a party of 13 and were sat in less than 10 min during the noon-hour.

Very friendly wait staff made suggestions and I ordered the hound dog burger which has peanut butter, banana and bacon. It was a little out if my normal order but it was very good. I'd recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    322
    115
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food can't be beat. Once in awhile, it's busy and you have to wait but I have never been disappointed. The taco salad is awesome, and the chocolate cake with raspberry sauce is to die for!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“WALLEYE & PRIME RIB”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Best walleye around. Weekend specials are fantastic. Friday evening special: all you can eat walleye / shrimp. Sat evening prime rib 8 or12 oz. Cleanliness is very important to me and Honker's owners.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDnMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
“dads meal”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The staff was highly flexible while helping adjust their menu to help my dad on an evening prior to a test at the Mayo Clinic. Never felt like I was putting them out of place while showing them his dietary requirements and they were more than willing to help. Thanks to the Staff!! Will be seeing them again in the near future as another trip is required.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VernonT882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were lured to Canadian Honker by all the great reviews but were disappointed. The fish was good, but the potatoes were odd tasting. My husband's mashed potatoes were no better than cafeteria potatoes. He asked for his steak medium rare and it was brown all the way through. The waitress brought his beer out with about a foot of foam on the top. We didn't enjoy the experience, especially not for how expensive it was!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadian Honker Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Honker Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing