We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Location & comfort”
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This hotel is not fancy or plush. We did find a pair of dirty socks in the hide-a-bed. There is 5 of us that go for our Mothers 6 month checkups. Breakfasts are plenty, healthy and not sooo healthy biscuits and gravy, but all is good. The coffee was undrinkable! Very bitter and tasted like it was cooked all night!! The milk and juice are nice and cold.
I love having Caribou coffee right there. Parking can be a hassle. If you have to park in the ramp across the street, you have the hotel validate it for you and it is free with your hotel stay. There actually is more room at the ramp then underneath the hotel. The frontdesk was very helpful, when we asked for extra pillows and blankets, they were brought up in a half hour. The hot tub is small but we were the only ones in it.
We love walking from the hotel to find someplace to eat and enjoy the beauty of the city and how safe it is at all hours of the day or night. Sometimes the elevators are slow, just go around the corner and try the other one if possible, the side one seems less used and faster than the pretty glass one right by the front desk. We will be back in 3 months.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKLMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    211
    123
    49
    35
See reviews for
283
92
75
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel for our first visit to Mayo clinic. The convenience of this hotel was wonderful. We stayed in a small suite that had a mini kitchen, pull out couch/seating area in addition to two queen beds. The hotel room was very standard but definitely served our needs. It was comfortable and clean and I felt well worth 109$ per night. But note, it is nothing fancy - from what I understand, nothing is in this area. Ours was on the second floor which is the same floor as the complimentary breakfast, workout area, and pool. Our room, number 241, and the others on that hallway, all had large ( maybe 12 X12?) balconies which would have been wonderful to use had the weather been warmer. In addition, staying on the second floor enabled us to avoid the slow elevators.
It appears that the hotel is working to improve some of the issues mentioned by previous reviewers over the past few years. Our comforter was definitely new and the bed did have several pillows. There is now an additional blanket and pillow (presumably for the pullout) stored on a closet shelf. Interestingly, we noticed the room next door to us was under some sort of contruction as there was a construction/supply cart parked outside the room literally all day. When I peeked in, the room was completely torn apart! I asked the person working in the room what was being done - upgrade? new fixtures? what? I was told that this was something that was done routinely. The room was taken out of rotation for 24 hours and all maintenance was performed like regrouting, tightening fixtures, etc. I was impressed.
Overall, I thought the size of the room was a real plus. Both of us were going through medical tests at Mayo and having the kitchen and seating area allowed us to spread out and not feel cramped in a small hotel room with the usual limited floor space.
The parking lot of the Inn is small and low ceilinged! We drive a Toyota Sequoiya and it did not fit - a near tragedy since we did pull in! We ended up parking at the nearby Graham Parking Deck and had our ticket validated at the hotel. We still paid the $12 per day at our hotel but it was charged to our account so we did not have to hassle to pay the parking attendant at the parking deck.
The restaurant is adequate. The wait staff was very friendly and the food was decent. We only ate there once though. The Jimmie Johns sandwich shop is also attached to the hotel and we bought sandwiches, then heated them up in our microwave for a warm meal in front of the tv.

We will definitely stay here again, and I can recommend it without any qualms.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gee_ess61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We were pleased with the underground subway straight to the clinic. Positives include:
-pets allowed
-free breakfast, but not very good...fruit choice was green bananas or overripe pears and apples. I thought the pastry was very bad.
-good supply of towels, blankets and pillows
-we had a mini suite which included microwave, frig , kitchen sink and small dining table. We bought fast food in the subway each day and then warmed it up at night for dinner.

Negatives:
-furniture never moved for cleaning
-maid woke us up at 7:15 Sunday morning to clean the room. It was the only day out of 7 that we planned to sleep in.
-no "free" newspaper on Sat or Sun available. Desk clerk said they were all gone, although it was only 7:30 a.m. and hardly any guests were up yet. There were plenty M-F, but none available on the weekend when you actually had time to enjoy it.
-We asked for extra blankets and had to stay awake until 11:10 pm to receive them, as they were locked up in storage.
-Our requested shuttle to the airport did not come and we had to take a taxi or risk missing our flight.
-Coffee maker was dirty, but replaced upon request.
-Slow elevators
-Hotel restaurant was closed on Friday and Saturday.

Would we stay again? Yes, because they allow pets and are so very convenient to the clinic!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomofFiveBuffaloNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Not too bad. Only problem was elevators were slow and parking can be a problem as there are not enough spaces immediatly below the motel. If you have early surgery next morning at Methodist Hospital all you have to do is walk accross the street.
Continental breakfast wasn't too bad. Should have been a few more tables. Staff was prompt and friendly. We rented a larger room. There was a couch and a table along with a microwave. Bathroom was very small, and furniture was a bit old.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimm8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Kahler Inn and Suites for our annual dental meeting sponsored by the Mayo Clinic. The Inn was close, connected to the skyways and had a great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMVDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed two nights at Kahler Inn...changed at the last minute from the Kahler Grand because it was really cold at night and at the Grand you cannot be guaranteed individual heat/ac control...only in some rooms so depending on how you like your temp you may not be happy. I called and was told the rooms at the Kahler Inn have individual controls and my room was temperature perfect. Actually after reading some reviews here I was nervous but it turned out to be a nice room (took mini suite with two beds) with refridge and micro...nice bathroom...nothing fancy but really comfortable and quiet. Nice service at desk and even a complimentary breakfast with lots of choices. It could certainly use some "deep cleaning" in spots but for a stay just to go to the clinic it was pefect for me. I would stay there again. Hated the underground parking as barely room for one car but it is two way but got out okay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Comments:

Room---Coffee and ice bucket trays were dirty. Coffee maker was stained, and the coffee tasted awful. Coffee carafe was like a dribble glass to pour. Hair dryer was loose on the wall and tilted. The TV channel changer button stuck each time I pressed it. The desk chair was dirty and dusty. The chair next to the bed was broken and useless. The door did not close on its own, I had to give it a hard push every time I went in or out.

9th Floor---It felt like I was staying in an attic. NO ice machine, and the 8th floor ice machine was broken. Carpets stained. Ceiling-high towel carts all over the hall. Every other floor had 3 elevators, 9th only has one.

Front Desk---There was often no answer on the phone. I also observed front desk personnel talking to others and letting the phone ring off the hook. When I checked out, the clerk did my paperwork and then just moved on to another guest without a word to me. When she saw I was still standing there, she dismissed me by telling me I wasn’t getting any paperwork. Then she turned away again.

Café---It smelled bad in the café. The seats and tables were dirty with crumbs. The waitress had a blaring voice that could break glass. There seemed to be no air conditioning. Staff communicated with each other often by yelling between the kitchen and dining room. The café was only open certain days and times.

I will never stay here again, and I will warn others to avoid this hotel. Feh!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Merlin1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Property: Kahler Inn and Suites
Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing