We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For Mayo Availability”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Sioux Falls
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great For Mayo Availability”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Not too bad. Only problem was elevators were slow and parking can be a problem as there are not enough spaces immediatly below the motel. If you have early surgery next morning at Methodist Hospital all you have to do is walk accross the street.
Continental breakfast wasn't too bad. Should have been a few more tables. Staff was prompt and friendly. We rented a larger room. There was a couch and a table along with a microwave. Bathroom was very small, and furniture was a bit old.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimm8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    211
    123
    49
    35
See reviews for
283
92
75
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Afton, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the Kahler Inn and Suites for our annual dental meeting sponsored by the Mayo Clinic. The Inn was close, connected to the skyways and had a great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMVDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed two nights at Kahler Inn...changed at the last minute from the Kahler Grand because it was really cold at night and at the Grand you cannot be guaranteed individual heat/ac control...only in some rooms so depending on how you like your temp you may not be happy. I called and was told the rooms at the Kahler Inn have individual controls and my room was temperature perfect. Actually after reading some reviews here I was nervous but it turned out to be a nice room (took mini suite with two beds) with refridge and micro...nice bathroom...nothing fancy but really comfortable and quiet. Nice service at desk and even a complimentary breakfast with lots of choices. It could certainly use some "deep cleaning" in spots but for a stay just to go to the clinic it was pefect for me. I would stay there again. Hated the underground parking as barely room for one car but it is two way but got out okay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Comments:

Room---Coffee and ice bucket trays were dirty. Coffee maker was stained, and the coffee tasted awful. Coffee carafe was like a dribble glass to pour. Hair dryer was loose on the wall and tilted. The TV channel changer button stuck each time I pressed it. The desk chair was dirty and dusty. The chair next to the bed was broken and useless. The door did not close on its own, I had to give it a hard push every time I went in or out.

9th Floor---It felt like I was staying in an attic. NO ice machine, and the 8th floor ice machine was broken. Carpets stained. Ceiling-high towel carts all over the hall. Every other floor had 3 elevators, 9th only has one.

Front Desk---There was often no answer on the phone. I also observed front desk personnel talking to others and letting the phone ring off the hook. When I checked out, the clerk did my paperwork and then just moved on to another guest without a word to me. When she saw I was still standing there, she dismissed me by telling me I wasn’t getting any paperwork. Then she turned away again.

Café---It smelled bad in the café. The seats and tables were dirty with crumbs. The waitress had a blaring voice that could break glass. There seemed to be no air conditioning. Staff communicated with each other often by yelling between the kitchen and dining room. The café was only open certain days and times.

I will never stay here again, and I will warn others to avoid this hotel. Feh!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Merlin1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

the most frustrating experience was the complete lack of elevators, you waited so long it was so frustrating, and i admit we could take the stairs but with seven people in our family it looks like an evacuation of the hotel.
the first problem was the room confusion, do we have a fridge or not?
parking was no picnic, and if you want breakfast get in the car you will wait 20minutes in line for cereal. Dont look forward to swiming in the pool, its maybe 2' feet deep.
even the kids were like you gotta be kidding me.
staff was helpfull, room was clean just not what it looks or sounds like.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5isenoughMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

When visiting Mayo clinic, being atttahed to subway system is an advantage. Stayed on second floor and rooms have adequate seating area with couch, chair, table and lamp. While two queen beds, only silver ware for three, not four. Beds were comfortable and pillows of varying quality. Kitchen area with frig, microwave, coffee pot and toaster. On weekends, there is NO restaurant in building - whcih is ridiculous for disabled clients. Food there is uninspired, but filling. Building is outdated in that bathrooms are small and low toilets need replacement. Need more bars for safety. Prices taking advantage of being stuck in Ruchester for medical care. Personnel fine. Wheelchair assistance available to Clinic.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go_USC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

If you are going to Mayo and want the comfort of being able to walk to your room between appointments this hotel is perfect. The staff is friendly and helpful. However, if you want a quality room you might try elsewhere. We asked for a room in the newly redecorated section and were given our request. Our room was small, dingy, and not very clean. As mentioned in another review-the sheets are not fitted and neither is the mattress pad. If one tosses or turns at all, the bedding turns in to a wad of mountains and valleys that will fight the need to sleep all night.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank willtjbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 52 in Rochester
1,218 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Property: Kahler Inn and Suites
Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing