We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never an elevator when you need one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“never an elevator when you need one”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

the most frustrating experience was the complete lack of elevators, you waited so long it was so frustrating, and i admit we could take the stairs but with seven people in our family it looks like an evacuation of the hotel.
the first problem was the room confusion, do we have a fridge or not?
parking was no picnic, and if you want breakfast get in the car you will wait 20minutes in line for cereal. Dont look forward to swiming in the pool, its maybe 2' feet deep.
even the kids were like you gotta be kidding me.
staff was helpfull, room was clean just not what it looks or sounds like.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5isenoughMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    208
    118
    46
    34
See reviews for
278
90
72
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

When visiting Mayo clinic, being atttahed to subway system is an advantage. Stayed on second floor and rooms have adequate seating area with couch, chair, table and lamp. While two queen beds, only silver ware for three, not four. Beds were comfortable and pillows of varying quality. Kitchen area with frig, microwave, coffee pot and toaster. On weekends, there is NO restaurant in building - whcih is ridiculous for disabled clients. Food there is uninspired, but filling. Building is outdated in that bathrooms are small and low toilets need replacement. Need more bars for safety. Prices taking advantage of being stuck in Ruchester for medical care. Personnel fine. Wheelchair assistance available to Clinic.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go_USC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

If you are going to Mayo and want the comfort of being able to walk to your room between appointments this hotel is perfect. The staff is friendly and helpful. However, if you want a quality room you might try elsewhere. We asked for a room in the newly redecorated section and were given our request. Our room was small, dingy, and not very clean. As mentioned in another review-the sheets are not fitted and neither is the mattress pad. If one tosses or turns at all, the bedding turns in to a wad of mountains and valleys that will fight the need to sleep all night.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank willtjbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed in a mini-suite for three nights and were generally pleased with the accommodations. The separate sitting/kitchen area was nice with a few dishes and silverwear. The bathroom was small but adequate with separate sink area.

Elevators were slow even though there were three per floor. It was nice to have free parking and breakfast, which was adequate--hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, muffins, bagels, etc.

The biggest complaint was the bottom sheet was the length of the top of the bed and could not be tucked in at the head or foot so the sheet came loose and kept revealing the underlying pad. With correctly fitting sheets, the bed would have been fine. There were a variety of pillows from flat to plump so had a choice of which to use.

The reserved price had increased by $10 per night at check-in as there had been a price increase effective June 1. A bit of a surprise but understandable with the cost of goods related to gas/transportation prices.

  • Liked — good location to Mayo, downtown
  • Disliked — sheets
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyn0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

I have stayed at the Kahler Inn many times over the years when visiting the Mayo Clinic. The location, available by underground tunnel to the Mayo Clinic is the most convenient, moderately priced hotel. The parking is difficult under the hotel but when full, space is available at a ramp across the street. And yes, you can get reimbursed but it is a nuisance.
Shuttle service is offered but the Mayo shuttles stop across the street, offering more options for getting to St. Mary's. The breakfast is OK but for most staying there and going to the clinic, you normally have to fast anyway...
Most rooms are decent. They serve the needs of those visiting the Clinic. Excercise machines are available and an in-house restaurant serves decent food. A sub sandwich shop and a coffee shop are also on-site.
Because of the tunnel system, it's possible to walk for several blocks without seeing the light of day. There are many shops and stores in the downtown area.
I have tried a few other downtown hotels but always come back.

  • Liked — Convenience, location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Penstemon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cokato, MN
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2008

I have read the reviews listed and I couldn't find anything wrong with this hotel. Our room was clean, smelled good, exactly as stated in their ad. The parking may be limited, but we had no problems with handicapped parking. The subway made our stay so easy and would definately stay again. I think maybe some of the bad reviews were from people you just can't make happy. I wholeheartily recommend.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank contentCokatoMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2008

We made reservations for only four days, but additional days were needed because of unforseen events. Hotel worked around their crowed schedule to help us with our extended stay.

Yes, the hotel is showing its age, but the housekeeping kept up with our needs. One problem could be corrected with the addition of sheets and blankets that actually fit the beds. That was our only major complaint, except the possible mold that has a habit in growing in areas that tub grout is missing and needs replacement.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lark1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 52 in Rochester
1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Property: Kahler Inn and Suites
Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing