We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay if you are visiting Mayo Clinic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed July 30, 2014

It's close to the Mayo buildings and connected by subway walkways if you don't want to go outside (but going outside might save you some time -- the subways are not always the most direct route). The room was clean, spacious and quiet. No one seems to be here to party. Shower was kind of weak. If you don't find parking in the tiny lot below the property, go to the Graham parking facility next to the inn. When I was there, the hotel would validate your ticket, so parking is free, The staff who clean the rooms were very friendly and efficient, I left at 9 am for an appt and stopped back at 11:30 am and my room was already cleaned.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank allefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 812 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Kahler Inn and Suites is a fantastic place to stay. It is connected to the tunnels that connect to the Mayo and it is very clean and comfortable. The staff is always there at the desk with a friendly and intelligent response to any/all inquires. They have a nice pool and hot tub to soak, along with a gym to get even more exercise. Complementary breakfast is always tasty. The linens are top threat count, & each bed has a nice variety of pillow types. The suites are the only type of room we've ever stayed in. They have nicely stocked kitchenettes. There are additional types of suites that make a stay even better. I could go on and on about how great the Kahler Inn and Suites can make a stay that much better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was my third consecutive stay at the Kahler Inn and Suites during the annual Mayo physical. The location is fine both for those with a car and those who fly in and shuttle directly to the front door. The Inn is connected by subways and walkways to Mayo facilities, local shopping, church, restaurants; even the University of Minnesota at Rochester. The accommodations are quite comfortable, without being overly ostentatious. The front desk staff is very knowledgeable and helpful, and over the three visits I have seen a few familiar faces there.
Complimentary breakfast is quite adequate and the long operating but very dull café which had been attached to the hotel for years has now been replaced by a much more attractive eatery with a bar and good food to boot. Best of all, this is not a pricey place to stay in Rochester. I will return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors facing the stone-covered utility equipment area have a boring view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Merle1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was a great place to stay if you are seeing Doctors at the Mayo Clinic Gonda building or Mayo Clinic Methodist Hospital. It is conveniently located across the street from the Hospital and diagonal from the Gonda building. The room was clean. Elevator wait time was minimal. We were fortunate enough to park in the North parking garage most of the time. It was great. The South parking garage was two way traffic were it should have only been one way & was a little scary. Parking was free and as I understand, if their parking was full, you could park at the parking garage across the street for free. Parking at Mayo could be quite costly. The air conditioner in our room wasn't as powerful as I'd have liked. We'd been gone all day and when we came back, housekeeping must have turned the AC up. Then it took a long time to get the room cooled back down. The only faults I found were the south parking garage, slow drain in the shower, and slow AC. Otherwise, great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Kahler Inn and Suites was an ideal place to stay while I was a patient at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. It was close and conveniently connected to the pedestrian subway to the Clinic. There were staff people who took me to my appointments in a wheelchair. The meals were well prepared, presented, and served. The staff was very caring and helpful. My room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERTA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is fantastic! I am a regular patient at Mayo and stay here at least 2 times per year for at least several days. For my last appointment I had to come alone and was scheduled for a procedure that Mayo would not let me leave unless I was accompanied. Kahler, along with Mayo, have a fantastic program - A Ticket to Ride. What a wonderful program and Cory, the bell man, was wonderful!! Thanks to the entire staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a small suite which turned out to be a blessing, as my husband developed pneumonia while undergoing some testing at the clinic. So our time was extended from one week to two and one-half weeks. It was no problem getting the extensions, which was greatly appreciated. We had a small suite - living room with tiny kitchenette and bedroom - very roomy and comfortable and an excellent "home away from home.." I appreciated the free shuttle and the desk's willingness to call a taxi for me on weekends and their pushers taking my husband back and forth to the clinic. Considering all the unexpected time, stress and illness that happened, the Kahler was a good refuge..

Room Tip: If you are staying any length, choose a small or mini suite - the extra room and kitchenette make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#37 of 50 in Rochester
1,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 50 in Rochester
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $115 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing