We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient location, reasonably priced, spacious rooms!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kahler Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very convenient location, reasonably priced, spacious rooms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the kahler inn and suites three times already. It is across the street from the charlton bld at mayo clinic. On the ground floor there is a caribou coffee shop and a jimmy jones subs shop. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms also. In my opinion it is a simple hotel, clean, and at a very good location. I will definitely stay again when in rochester .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YAYOUKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear you found our location to be accommodating to your needs. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    194
    111
    44
    31
See reviews for
264
85
66
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Everything you look for in a hotel. Weekend rate is affordable, the staff were friendly, and the room was clean and nicely sized. The TVs worked - which isn't always the case in less expensive hotels - and the wifi was fast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Wendy,
Happy to hear you had a great stay while at the Kahler Inn & Suites. Thank you for staying with us and hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our stay was during a deep freeze (20 below zero) and the connection to the Gonda and Mayo buildings was quick, easy and WARM. We were glad to have Jimmy John's and Caribou Coffee accessible via the lobby. The Crossings restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Will definitely stay at the Kahler Inn and Suites again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Wendy,
I am very happy to hear you had a good stay at the Kahler Inn & Suites. This time of your our underground heated pedestrian walkway is next to none. I am glad you mentioned our wonderful restaurant Crossings. We have great food and a great staff that loves to serve. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our stay was short, just an overnight on two separate occasions. We found the staff to be courteous, friendly and very willing to help. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The convenience of being able to use the subway corridors to access the Mayo clininc and other buildings is wonderful. Restaurant food and service were good. It's also nice to have a Caribou and Jimmy John's sandwich shop right off the lobby. Continental breakfast was adequate and the room that is setup up for breakfast is very nice. Will definitely stay again if we return to Rochester.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Jeanette,
Thank you for submitting a review to Trip Advisor for the Kahler Inn & Suites. I am happy that you had a pleasant stay while in Rochester. I will certainly pass along your kind words to all the staff. They work very hard to make sure our guests are comfortable while at the property. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenary, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the Kahler Inn and Suites for ten days while my husband was hospitalized at Rochester Methodist Hospital and then St Mary's Hospital. We were there during the -40 degree wind chill days in early January. The subway corridors beneath the building meant that we never had to go outside in the cold to get from the Kahler Inn and Suites to the Rochester Methodist Hospital or the Mayo Clinic buildings. For that matter we could get to a shopping area and restaurants as well through the subway. We did have to drive to St. Mary's hospital but we could get to the parking garage through the subway and from the parking garage at the hospital into the building without going outside.
The suite we had at the Kahler Inn and Suites met our needs well. It had a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave and refrigerator. A sitting area and sleeping area. The price was reasonable and we could save five dollars for each day we did not have housekeeping come in.

Room Tip: We had a small suite $144.00 per night. If you want a microwave, and sitting area this size is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Elaine,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Kahler Inn & Suites. I am very thankful you mentioned our subway corridors that connect to the Mayo Clinic. The connection to Mayo Clinic is the best in the city. Thanks again for staying with us at the Kahler Inn & Suites and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNESOTA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Location is great if you are going to Methodist. Suite rooms are nice and roomy. Hard to get room service, so don't plan on that. Breakfast is typical, toast and cereal. Front desk staff are unhappy so don't think your going to get help!
Great restaurant, good food and service. Caribou is in lobby and staff are So nice.
If you have an issue don't bother letting the general manager, Adam, know because he doesn't care.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyresorterpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to start by apologizing if I was unable to attend to your issues while staying at the Kahler Inn and Suites. I care a great deal about the staff as well as the guests that stay at our hotel. I work very hard to follow-up on any guest concerns we may have.
Once again I apologize things didn't work out that way for you. Thank you for commenting on our great location as well as our on-site restaurant Crossings Bistro & Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a great place to stay for medical visits. My room was attractive with a separate sitting area, nice sized fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. with a small dining table. The breakfast, included with the room, was fine although the coffee was weak. The only issue is with the workout area. It is not a separate room, was freezing cold and had only two treadmills - very basic and uninviting. However you can use the workout room at the Grand Kahler free of charge which is what i did every day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crisispro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you commenting on our convenience for Mayo Clinic patients. During this cold weather the underground heated walkway makes visits to the clinic very easy. I will certainly have our maintenance personnel follow-up on the cold workout area.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 52 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Property: Kahler Inn and Suites
Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing