We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff needs training!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
MINNESOTA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Staff needs training!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Location is great if you are going to Methodist. Suite rooms are nice and roomy. Hard to get room service, so don't plan on that. Breakfast is typical, toast and cereal. Front desk staff are unhappy so don't think your going to get help!
Great restaurant, good food and service. Caribou is in lobby and staff are So nice.
If you have an issue don't bother letting the general manager, Adam, know because he doesn't care.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyresorterpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to start by apologizing if I was unable to attend to your issues while staying at the Kahler Inn and Suites. I care a great deal about the staff as well as the guests that stay at our hotel. I work very hard to follow-up on any guest concerns we may have.
Once again I apologize things didn't work out that way for you. Thank you for commenting on our great location as well as our on-site restaurant Crossings Bistro & Bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    208
    118
    46
    34
See reviews for
278
90
72
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a great place to stay for medical visits. My room was attractive with a separate sitting area, nice sized fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. with a small dining table. The breakfast, included with the room, was fine although the coffee was weak. The only issue is with the workout area. It is not a separate room, was freezing cold and had only two treadmills - very basic and uninviting. However you can use the workout room at the Grand Kahler free of charge which is what i did every day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisispro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you commenting on our convenience for Mayo Clinic patients. During this cold weather the underground heated walkway makes visits to the clinic very easy. I will certainly have our maintenance personnel follow-up on the cold workout area.
Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Have stayed here many times over the past 3 1/2 years and once you get the hang of things such as parking in the basement, this hotel is convenient to Mayo by tunnel. I have had one bad experience in a room with a single bed, no refrig. or hair drier on the NINTH floor next to the elevator machinery, the only elevator across from the front desk that goes to the ninth floor! Hotel web site said all rooms had refrigerators and hand driers!

Room Tip: If you had radiation at Mayo and after about 2 weeks you get into American Cancer Society Hope Lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you taking the time to comment on our property. We greatly appreciate you staying with us the past 3 1/2 years. Thanks again and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We check in and told to bring our ticket for parking to get validated for free. We have a parking pass but since we were told free validation we decided to use the validated pass. we were here and staying cause my moms cancer check up. They don't have a big income at all. In the morning she gets an invoice from kahler with food charges and parking charges on it. I called front desk because we paid for our meal at the restaurant. Also we were told parking was free but there is a 12$ charge? The front desk lady was rude, wouldn't listen and said that the only way they would take it off is it we didn't have a car? Made no sense at all. she just pushed us aside and helped the next person. We told them they can have their pass back we will not use it and if we give it back can we get refunded. She said no. We arnt going to use it why will we still get charged and can hand it back to you? Never staying here again! Policy was terribly explained and lack of any customer service. Thank you for the headache!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mooseandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear about your experience while in Rochester. The parking situation in downtown Rochester is very limited. I understand this was not communicated to you in the way it should have been. We take all comments very seriously and continually review our policies to best serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We tried this hotel, just for a change of scenery. We have tried most of the other local hotels. We booked through Priceline. We were not told ahead of time, but we were charged $12/ day for parking. When I asked about it, the woman at the desk simply stated "you need to book through us". I drove around for 15 minutes and didn't ever get to park in the Kaylor lot. I was told to park in the Graham lot, and my ticket would be validated. Upon check in, I should have been informed that I was a second class guest for booking through Priceline. For $130/ night this hotel at its 2 star status is nothing special. Not happy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 797Wendy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
I apologize your experience at the Kahler Inn & Suites was not what you expected. I will work with the staff to better inform our guests of our policies and procedures.
Once again I apologize for the experience you had and hope the next time you are in Rochester you have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Wonderful location in downtown Rochester for business and for Mayo Clinic appointments. Across from Methodist Hospital and connected to underground walkway, great when inclement weather conditions exist. Suites are nice size but double beds are full size not queens.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Kahler Inn & Suites. I am very happy you pointed out our climate controlled underground walkway that connects you to shops and all the Mayo Clinic buildings in the Rochester downtown. We are one of the few hotels downtown that have the underground connection to all the clinic building. This is very helpful during these Minnesota winters.
Thanks again and have a wonderful 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here 5 years ago and found it met our needs for location but the room looked a bit tired.
it was a welcomed and pleasant surprise to find our room looking updated and fresh.
we also enjoyed a nice meal at the on site bistro. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone making a medical visit to Mayo Clinic, or any other reason.

Room Tip: The 6th floor room we had was away from elevators and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Nancy,
I am so glad to here your experience at the Kahler Inn & Suites was a pleasant one. We have been working very hard to keep our property updated and fresh. I am thankful you pointed out our wonderful restaurant at the hotel. Crossings Bistro & Bar has been a great place for our guests to enjoy a meal or relax at the bar. Thank you for staying at the Kahler Inn & Suites and next time you are in Rochester we would love to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#39 of 52 in Rochester
1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Property: Kahler Inn and Suites
Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing