We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice large hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahler Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kahler Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Kahler Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice large hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the mayo clinic once. The hotel was very nice and friendly. This is a big hotel there are a lot of people and a lot of noise. This is a good one night stay if you are going to the clinic, but I don't recommend it for a long period of time. I had quite the noise nabber and didn't get a good night sleep. I asked to be moved to another room and was told to stay put and that they would tale care of the matter. Well all they did was place a call to the next door room asking them to be a little quieter. That didn't do much. That's why I only recommend this hotel fore a one night stay.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Room was in excellent shape, enough places to plug in phones, computers, etc. for 3 people! We had a room with a kitchenette, very handy.

Motel needs more signage in hall ways after getting off elevator & mostly in rooms. We had no idea
where or how to get to the pool/hot tub until we asked the front desk.

Parking at motel is limited & front desk should also instruct via map, etc. of where to park when they run out of spaces.
Parking deck next door but does the motel validate parking when one has to park there? It would be nice to know that upon check in.Motel guests should not have to pay to park in the parking deck. In many instances one might not have to leave via car if all medical app'ts. are right next door in the Mayo & Gonda bldgs. Nasty weather & one doesn't have to go outside, just use the tunnel to the bldgs.

Room Tip: If you are there for medical purposes & your appointments are across the street, this is the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Di L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Rochester, including the Guesthaus hotel, which we have reviewed on this site as well. While the Guesthaus is the best overall least expensive hotel, there are times when you need to be within walking distance of Mayo Clinic (e.g., the weather, the need to go back and forth easily to your hotel, or impracticality of transport by car).

In these cases, we stay at the Kahler Inn and Suites, which is connected to the Gonda building (Mayo Clinic is actually two buildings that are connected, one called Gonda and one called Mayo) by underground walkways. It is less than a block's walk in total distance, all without having to step foot outside. You can easily get from the underground parking to your room and to the underground connection to Gonda by walking or wheelchair within 5 minutes.

We stayed at the Kahler Inn and Suites two years ago and it was not very nice, to be honest, but it has now been completely renovated and the rooms are very nice, if a bit small in some cases. We stayed in room 252, which had a narrow entrance hallway to the room area, which was just big enough for a queen bed, desk area, single sink vanity, and a bathroom. The rooms on this side of the hallway on the second floor have direct access to the workout room and pool, which is very convenient if you want to do that. It is a LITTLE odd to have a "window" that looks out onto the workout center, but the drapes are light blocking and the rooms are very quiet, so it is no big deal.

We paid $122 per night, which is much less than other hotels with such good walking access to Mayo, and we were very satisfied with the room.

Two final notes about this hotel: Housekeeping staff are excellent there--we left a bag there and did not realize it until we were back home. We called and talked to Becky, who may be the head of housekeeping (not sure) who was SUPER helpful and friendly. She offered to ship the bag back to us using our credit card information on file and walked it over to UPS herself. She then called us back and said she had shipped it overnight, but that it was going to be $116, and did we want her to try to change that. She then contacted UPS and had them change it to two day which was half the cost. All well above and beyond the call of duty, and super friendly and professional throughout. Thanks, Becky!

Finally, be sure you get the right Kahler--this is NOT the same as the Kahler Grand Hotel. We have stayed there as well, and it was VERY poor (beds were awful, no good food in the hotel, very expensive).

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on even side of hall have doors that open onto a semi-private patio and the worko...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick_and_Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Needed a one nighter for vball tournament. Convenient location but rather old and dark. Free breakfast not for health conscious. Caribou Coffee attached. Everything else rather 1960 or 70s..nice folks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JocDocSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here after 2 nights in the Kahler Grand. Lots of black mold in the Kahler Grand bathrooms had me concerned for my wife's health. Was very surprised at how nice and clean the rooms are and roomier as well here at the Inn. Housekeepers are the nicest that I have come across. Front desk staff, restaurant staff(besides the manager who just walked by customers) bellmen and Mike were all very nice. This is how it should be-especially so close to the hospital where you have know idea the medical issues/circumstances that your customer's may be dealing with. It is actually more convenient than the Grand also. 100 yards up the subway and you are in the Gonda building. Or walk out of the hotel and Rochester Meth. Hospital is right across the street which is very convenient if you have a loved one that has just had surgery. Definitely would stay here again. Moving out while wife is in hospital for a week in favor of a efficency room, but will be back when she gets out prior to flying back home. Definitely Recommend The Kahler Inn for anyone that is coming from afar that is stressed out enough from their long trip!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdkak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As natives and residents of Texas, we were apprehensive about visiting Rochester to go to the Mayo Clinic in January. We had been told there was a pedestrian subway between Kahler Inn & Suites which would enable us to get to our appointment without going outside. Little did we know, however, that it would take 10 minutes max to reach the the doctor's office. My husband uses a motorized scooter, and this made it so easy to navigate what we feared would be a difficult passage.

In addition, the staff at the Kahler couldn't have been friendlier--from the bellman who greeted us at the taxi to the bellwoman who helped us with our bags as we were leaving. Everyone had a big smile and provided whatever service or directions we needed in a timely manner.

The room was a mini-suite which had everything we needed. Although we had not requested a fully accessible room, the mini-suite had plenty of room for my husband's scooter and his needs.


The complimentary breakfast had great variety, and we enjoyed a full breakfast at the Center Street Cafe one morning when we were too late for the complimentary one. We also had dinner twice at the Center Street Cafe, which has friendly service and great dining choices.

We used the exercise room which was clean and large. My only suggestion would be that an exercise bicycle be added to their equipment.

When we come back for the annual follow-up, you can be sure we will stay at the Kahler Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YolandaGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived about 1 am after a long day at Methodist hospital with a family member. I just walked across the street from the hospital to the hotel entrance. Front desk gentleman was a young man who was VERY nice. I was quickly given room keys and on my way to my room. Room was nice and clean. Beds were comfortable. Because of proximity to Methodist hospital, there were people in the halls all night long. So, there is some noise to deal with but this is not the fault of the hotel. Bathroom was small but clean and adequate. No available parking in underground parking in hotel but was given a pass for the Graham parking lot. Biggest complaint is the breakfast in the morning. Blech. Instead, went to the Caribou Coffee that is attached to the hotel. Had breakfast and coffee there. There is also a sub shop attached which I used one evening.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WisKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#34 of 57 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.7 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#12 of 57 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Address: 9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing