We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay when visiting Mayo Clinic...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahler Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting Mayo Clinic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As natives and residents of Texas, we were apprehensive about visiting Rochester to go to the Mayo Clinic in January. We had been told there was a pedestrian subway between Kahler Inn & Suites which would enable us to get to our appointment without going outside. Little did we know, however, that it would take 10 minutes max to reach the the doctor's office. My husband uses a motorized scooter, and this made it so easy to navigate what we feared would be a difficult passage.

In addition, the staff at the Kahler couldn't have been friendlier--from the bellman who greeted us at the taxi to the bellwoman who helped us with our bags as we were leaving. Everyone had a big smile and provided whatever service or directions we needed in a timely manner.

The room was a mini-suite which had everything we needed. Although we had not requested a fully accessible room, the mini-suite had plenty of room for my husband's scooter and his needs.


The complimentary breakfast had great variety, and we enjoyed a full breakfast at the Center Street Cafe one morning when we were too late for the complimentary one. We also had dinner twice at the Center Street Cafe, which has friendly service and great dining choices.

We used the exercise room which was clean and large. My only suggestion would be that an exercise bicycle be added to their equipment.

When we come back for the annual follow-up, you can be sure we will stay at the Kahler Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YolandaGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    168
    93
    39
    26
See reviews for
224
68
58
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived about 1 am after a long day at Methodist hospital with a family member. I just walked across the street from the hospital to the hotel entrance. Front desk gentleman was a young man who was VERY nice. I was quickly given room keys and on my way to my room. Room was nice and clean. Beds were comfortable. Because of proximity to Methodist hospital, there were people in the halls all night long. So, there is some noise to deal with but this is not the fault of the hotel. Bathroom was small but clean and adequate. No available parking in underground parking in hotel but was given a pass for the Graham parking lot. Biggest complaint is the breakfast in the morning. Blech. Instead, went to the Caribou Coffee that is attached to the hotel. Had breakfast and coffee there. There is also a sub shop attached which I used one evening.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WisKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

It always helps when ur sick or sad and away from home to feel like ur at home the rooms were very clean and tidy loved the full kitchen the stove was very old though. Ps if u have a hard time walking u might want to stay closer to mayo its about 20 minet walk if u hurry

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The recent updates have made this a much more enjoyable place to stay. The rooms and halls are brighter, the frig is a welcome addition, and the staff was helpful. Appreciate the access to the subway system in the cold weather and the free parking. Makes the trip to Mayo much easier,

Room Tip: Dining is on the first floor and swimming pool and exercise area on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The room was very nice; good quality remodel. Great location with access to the subway walkway. Also a good value with free parking, although it was somewhat limited and we were advised we might need to use a parking ramp down the street (we didn't have to but parking was not plentiful). The hotel staff was pleasant but not overly friendly; this didn't cause us any problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange city, IA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is attatched to the Mayo by the underground tunnel (subway walkway), and free parking all day for guests which does save $. There are other hotels more expensive, and others more cheap, but this is a good value for how convenient and how nice the rooms are. My daughters came with us (16 and 12), so we had a queen suite, and the fold out sofa was very nice. The downfall was the small bathroom right off the bed area, but you do get a small fridge, microwave, dishes and sink to use! The pool was nice, hot tub is very small, but fit three of us at once.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jujuhul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is adjacent to Mayo Clinic and is connected via tunnels to all buildings and hospitals. Very convenient. It has been newly renovated and the mini-suites are especially nice. After years of staying here we were faced earlier this year with a $100.00 fee for our small dog which previously was complimentary if you stayed in a mini-suite. This flat fee is outrageous considering most hotels charge from $10.00 (Best Western) to $35.00 at some upscale hotels per night. Still complimentary at most Comfort Inns. The complimentary breakfast is so-so at best, but adequate. We've been attached to this place for many years but may look elsewhere next spring due solely to the pet fee since our stays are usually 2-3 nights.

Room Tip: Try the Doubletree Hotel down the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LR8131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#34 of 56 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Property: Kahler Inn and Suites
Address: 9 3rd Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901-2891
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#20 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, visiting Rochester for business, or enjoying leisure travel in the heart of downtown, Kahler Inn & Suites is convenient, friendly and ideal for extended stays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing