We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This property is across the street from St. Mary's hospital. It is a modern hotel in an area that makes you feel like you are walking down the street in the 1940's. The rooms are very roomy and we had three rooms for families. The onsite restaurant and bar are very convenient and there are many places to eat in the immediate area. There is are also a few places to get a cup of coffee just down the street. If you are a runner, there are great roads to run both east and west. In just a few miles, you are in the country enjoying the signts and sounds of farming life. The staff was very helpful and provided anything we asked for. The fitness center is small with limited equipment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thank you for the compliments regarding our hotel, restaurant and community. The staff takes pride in our property and Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    64
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
93
43
22
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed here for four nights while our dad was at St. Mary's Hospital. We wanted a quiet, clean, comfortable hotel room with nice beds and lots of pillows. It is one of the nicest rooms we've ever stayed in and was a wonderful place to come to during a difficult time. It was very quiet, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. An added bonus was the restaurant which had excellent food and service. Our room was spacious, and the bathroom sparkled. Thank you to the Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room being at the end of the hall, and it had a balcony which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tchnrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
We are glad that you found comfort and convenience during your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott during such a difficult time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed there on 3 nights. The main strength of this hotel that it is just opposite St. Mary's Hospital. We saw the St. Mary's staff help a patient who was just discharged from the hospital put his suitcase and belongings on a wheelchair. He then wheeled the wheelchair across the street and checked into the Marriott Courtyard! The wheelchairs are, apparently, regularly picked up at the hotel and returned to the hospital.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. We did not see any bellhops to help with luggage etc. When we asked for help, they told us that we could drive our car up to the second floor of the hotel garage and unload our luggage near the elevator, and use the elevator to take the luggage up to the room. This worked out very well. There is a restaurant on the main floor. We had a quick lunch there and found the food to be quite adequate. Breakfast is not included in the tariff but you can get a good breakfast at the restaurant for $8-10. There is an exercise area - small but adequate. For Mayo Clinic patients, there is regular shuttle service from the hotel to the clinic (or they can walk across the street to St. Mary's and take the patient shuttle from there).

One small problem we encountered was that they were unable to email the folio to us (this is routine in other Marriott Courtyard hotels). They were very apologetic about this issue and promised to email the folios when the manager returned from his vacation. We did not find this to be a big deal as they gave us printouts of the folio. Would definitely stay at this hotel if we have further business at St. Mary's Hospital.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for the positive comments about the Courtyard by Marriott. We are always striving to make each individuals stay as comfortable as possible no matter what reason they are here for. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My brother got married in Rochester and used this hotel for out of town guests.

Check in was simple and quick. The rooms were clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The bar inside the hotel usually closes at 11pm but the female bartender kept it open for a couple of hours. After the wedding reception we were able to use a conference room for the after party. The room rates were very reasonable. If it wasn't for the below I would have rated this experience a 5.

WARNING: There is a male with glasses and brown hair who served us breakfast in the morning. He seemed a little awkward telling my brother and I that he had lost 40 pounds in 30 days or something like that. This same male worked the bar prior to the wedding in the hotel. This employee showed up at the reception uninvited late in the night with a video camera. He scared female wedding guests by saying, "He knew how to get into rooms." Many of us didn't find this out until later the following day after leaving. The hotel was notified of this male. I don't know how or if this situation was addressed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bluelineMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you very much for the compliments regarding our hotel. We are incredibly disappointed that a former member of our staff impacted your experience at our hotel. Please be assured that this type of behavior is unacceptable and not to our usual standard. We are so sorry that this affected your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Great location and amenities. The rooms were spacious and the beds were some of the best we've slept in. The breakfast buffet is a good value and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PM0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnmv, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

A recently constructed hotel in a good location across from St. Mary's hospital. A bit pricey- charge for parking and no breakfast included also. But very clean with nice lobby bar and a restaurant so you can have room service. The rooms are lovely with a quiet heater and room thermostat. If you can afford it, this is the best hotel in the area. Small workout room and nice pool.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtoncritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRochester, General Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
I would like to say thank you for staying at The Courtyard by Marriott Rochester, MN

We want The Courtyard by Marriott Rochester and its services to run at 100% when it comes to guest satisfaction.

Again thank you for staying with use it was a pleasure having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed at the Courtyard on March 27, 2011 for business at St. Mary's Hospital. The hotel is right across the street, which is very nice. The room was $129.00 per night. The room was clean or so i thought it was. After coming back from supper I noticed a used condom laying on the floor next to the bed. I guess i could see how the housekeeping may have missed it, but still at $129.00 you expect a nice clean room that smells good. I should have called the front desk about this, but i just threw it away. Parking is $4.00 which should be free at $129.00. We ate at the hotel's restaurant and had a mushroom and swiss burger, which was great. The young man was was our waiter was very friendly. I wish i knew his name because i would have contacted the manager and gave me a nice report on him. I will be in town next month again, but will stay some place else. The only reason really is because of the high room rate. I spoke to a few hospital staff at the hospital during our meeting and they also said they recommend other hotels in town because of the price rate. I guess if you want to be close to the hospital then this is the place. I will come back though for a great burger next month. I also sould give a shout out to the nice front desk girl that checked us in. She was very nice, but she needs to get rid of that nose ring. I dont want to see that when i am checking into the Courtyard. Maybe the motel 6 that would be ok, but Courtyard? Its just my opinion i guess.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranger2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRochester, General Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
I would like to say thank you for staying at The Courtyard by Marriott Rochester, MN

We want The Courtyard by Marriott Rochester and its services to run at 100% when it comes to guest satisfaction.

Again thank you for staying with use it was a pleasure having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.1 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#10 of 52 in Rochester
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.8 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Property: Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Address: 161 13th Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902-0349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#6 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys Hotel Rochester
Rochester Courtyard
Rochester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing