We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite possibly the best Thai I've ever had ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mango Thai

Mango Thai
Ranked #19 of 300 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best Thai I've ever had ”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Once you get past the crowd and wait for what seems like an eternity...you learn why. Order the Pad Kee Mow. You won't be sorry. Flavored spot on. The right amount of heat and not skimpy on quality meat (not the scraps). Ambience is new/ modern. Large selection of beer and wine. Again, be prepared to wait, be prepared for a crowd, be prepared to shout to your neighbor, but it was GOOD.

Helpful?
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    40
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“YUM YUM”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Try the rama peanut and spinach curry with the green tea ice cream. Great dinner out in a intimate setting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hans1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Rochester”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This space on Broadway has been occupied by 2 different restaurants in the past few years, so when we went to Mango Thai the first time, we had reservations this might just be another restaurant in passing that was okay, but not good enough to stay. We were pleasantly surprised however by the both the environment of the restaurant as well as the food. The selection of Thai dishes was extensive and each plate that we had was truly incredible. This is a restaurant that serves to impress; it definitely impressed us and we look forward to the next time we can go back. This is easily in a close tie for our favorite restaurant in Rochester!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank epi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai Food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just went here for lunch with a friend today. There have been many other restaurants at this location, and honestly I hope that this place does well! We had great service and delicious pad thai-style noodle bowls. I am not a huge Curry person, so I guess I can't attest to that part of the menu. Very tasty, and I will definitely go back and try something else on the menu!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome addition to Rochester”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have been here four time since it opened a few months ago and cannot recommend it enough. The food has always been spectacular. Rochester needs more places like this. The atmosphere is relaxed and fun, and there are not blaring televisions. The service was a bit clumsy when they first opened but it seems like that has been worked out. Most importantly, the food is awesome. I have tried a couple of their curries, which have been very tasty with a nice amount of spice. I have also tried a couple of their noodle dishes, again super tasty with some real spice to them. This is a must try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 79KC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Thai also viewed

 

Been to Mango Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing