We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian food!!”
Review of India Garden

India Garden
Ranked #57 of 303 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Indian food!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Great dinner in Rochester! The food is very tasty, however the food can be a little pricey, but we always leave full and with left overs. It is easily the best Indian food in town!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    35
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unfriendly place and Not really indian food.”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were in Rochester, and we visited couple of time India Garden Restaurant and every time we felt that the owner was very rude and food was not Authentic Indian food. I don't know why the name is India garden because he dose not like Indian customers. Everything is fake. Fake Indian food, fake flower decoration and fake receipt. I will never ever go this place now after the experience I had last time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank prince1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deocrah, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Family-friendly and delicious!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

First time at India Garden, and I'll be back! Service was fast and friendly, and the lunch buffet was delicious. The atmosphere was very casual, and it would have been nice for those of us who are inexperienced in Indian cuisine to have had descriptions of each dish on the buffet, but it was fun to try the unknown. Thanks for a great lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fox4cefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The best of its class in Rochester”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Rochester doesn't have a lot of Indian restaurants at its disposal, but the India Garden provides good food! We enjoyed the Chicken ticka misala and shimp curry. The rice is amazing too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank epi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Felt discriminated.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

came to visit mayo in rochestor, heard about this great indian place from a friend. went to have lunch, since they were offering buffet, wanted to try that one... as soon as we stepped inside, i felt discriminated, the first time ever in usa by own "indian countrymen" lol. No proper waiter service or anything.As soon as we said we will have buffet ..they made faces at us. Food was ok..it was all cold.we are vegeterian so they had quite a few items but the taste was so..so.. All around us were other people (non indians) who were offered great service , the manager or so i believe was hanging around the table and filling up water in their glasses whereas we didnt even get asked for water. such a weired place..will never visit this place again.
P.S visit only if you are white ..indians Beware !!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank lucky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Garden also viewed

 

Been to India Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing