We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Top Secret Restaurant and Bar in Rochester”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newt's Downtown

Newt's Downtown
Ranked #7 of 300 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
minnesota
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Top Secret Restaurant and Bar in Rochester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Newts has the hands down best hamburgers in Rochester! We have been among the secret band of regulars for 20 years. The only way to get to Newts is up a long flight of stairs; there is no place to wait (and you frequently have to wait for a seat) and the decorating is so old that it gives the place a feel of authenticity. Free popcorn is part of the experience. We like to sit by the windows over-looking the street below. The TV's are tuned to sporting events but it feels much better than a typical sports bar. If you are looking for health food eat somewhere else. If you want good food, climb the steps!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birgerjarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    196
    78
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hamburger restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

As hamburger joints go , Newt's is pretty good. Located on the second floor next to the City Cafe. Service was friendly but not particularly fast. Casual, with a very local daily business clientele. Very family friendly. Lots of booths. Quaint atmosphere. There is a "satellite" Newt`s in the skyway near the University square shopping area that may be more convenient but I have never eaten there. I would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stillwatercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandstone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ignored,locals favored”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Everyone around us,that came after we ordered,had there meals way before we did,in a very short time!seems like locals,are favored! Our food was overdone,and on the cold side!! The waiters do more visiting than waiting on the customers orders!!
Would not return again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RVMV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron, minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

For a number of years this place has been noted for 'The Best Burger in Town". On my occasions there it has lived up to that expectation. The fries were good, however I like healhtier sides to choose from. It seemed to lack that.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Newt's burgers are phenomenal. The only suggestion I would make is to warn that they cook on the rare side. Make sure that when you order a "Med Well" burger that you specify that you want zero pink or you will get a med rare hamburger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newt's Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Newt's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing