We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tasty Treat”
Review of Michael's - CLOSED

Michael's
Price range: $8 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The "Classic American Restaurant" has been serving quality steaks and fresh and innovative seafood for over 62 years. The "New" Michael's now proudly run by third generation restaurateurs, Michael, George, James, Laurie and Barbara blends a combination of established traditional steakhouse cuisine with current cutting edge foods and new culinary trends to create an ever-evolving dining experience for our guests. This will mean healthier, more organic salads and vegetables, sustainable wild-caught fish and seafood, and a larger selection of prime/high choice, natural and grass fed meats. Enjoy a daily lunch, dinner, a special business meeting or romantic occasion in one of our many warm and inviting dining rooms. Please join our new and longtime patrons who have enjoyed many fond memories over the years as dining guests in our restaurant. Michael's a "New" Classic American Restaurant.
Marengo, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Tasty Treat”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wow!! If you are looking for a cut above the rest-- Michael's is a top notch place to eat, Great steaks and seafood!! I only wish they were open on Sundays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    83
    38
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, IL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average meal that was overpriced.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went here with the intent to have a steak but ended up with pasta because of the price. Their cheapest steaks were more than what I wanted to pay. The food was alright but average. I would not order the dessert here again because you got a tiny piece for the price. Just not a favorite of mine.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorwife23320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining experience--”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After winding our way through the maze of subways and skyways from our hotel to Michael's, we were not disappointed in what we found. Paneled library-style dining room with a fireplace and comfortable tables and chairs made a leisurely early dinner very enjoyable. A Manhattan and Martini added to the delight. Steaks were recommended, and my filet mignon was prepared to perfection--very tender, medium rare as I like it, but it had a very bland flavor. My husband's wall-eye was battered and fried very well, but was also very bland. I suspect it is a regional preference. The meal was very reasonably priced, and all in all, we had a good experience at Michael's.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank YolandaGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visited Michaels in Rochester MN to celebrate my sister's birthday on Jan 15, 2013. We requested a quiet area and were seated in a beautiful area which we felt was special to us. Since we had a friend with us who needed a walker for stability, the staff was careful to place us in a larger area where we would not be bumped or disrupted in any way.
Food was superior. We (3) ordered different entrees and each of us was delighted with the presentation, indulgence, and taste. Waitress was patient, responsive, and very courteous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phylf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Michael's”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Was not my favorite place to eat when I visited Rochester. Once was enough. My colleague who was with me had a similar opinion.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeLoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing