We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, average food”
Review of Opa Opa

Opa Opa
Ranked #105 of 302 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great service, average food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I ate here on a freezing cold night. I felt like I was being welcomed into a friends house. My waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. The choice of food is large. My meal was OK, not bad, just not real Greek food as I know it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbit1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, but doesn't seem too Greek in there.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Someone who greeted me at the door sounded like Cheech Marin the whole time he was talking to me. "What's the matter, man?" "Why you lookin' so sad, man?" "Aw man, aw man....." It was like a cheech and chong movie. I was a regular here, but after listening to that jargon I may not be back. Maybe I AM sad. Maybe I'm dying. How uneducated and rude to talk to people that way.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ikeyhummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Greek food!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

"Husband & I had a craving for gyros, so we decided to check out those advertised at Opa! Opa!. We were surprised at how small the place was, but once the food came out we were amazed at how wonderful that was! I ordered the regular gyro pate with egg-lemon soup, and husband ordered the "Spicy Gyro" ("After all, how spicy can it be?"). We both ended up just shaking our heads at each other -"Wow!" My egg-lemon soup was rich and flavorful - I want the recipe! And dear husband, who is all about HOT spices, relished every bite of his "Spicy Gyro". We agreed that the combination of seasoned beef and lamb meats contributed a lot to what we considered to be superior gyros.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonaZ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very tasty, good enough value. Service was excellent. I had a service dog and there was no problem with that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunshineKaren2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a great place! I love it!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food is great, and the people who work there are so nice and genuinely friendly. The cooks even look happy back there. What a neat place, great Gyros. I've been meaning to sample the rest of the menu and I will soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bantheprimadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opa Opa also viewed

 

Been to Opa Opa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing