We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can I give more than 5 stars?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brentwood on 2nd

Brentwood on 2nd
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brentwood on 2nd
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Goldfield, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can I give more than 5 stars?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Staff is outstanding, rooms are super clean and rates were very reasonable. Free off street is a special consideration. Brentwood on 2nd made my stay in Rochester with my husband in St Mary's so much less stressful. I knew that when I got back to my room, I would be comfortable and could get a good night's sleep. Charlie's Eatery and Pub downstairs offers terrific meals and even has a small cozy bar area. I cannot stress enough how clean my room was - and great pillows! (I hate flat pillows!) Thank you Brentwood on 2nd to all your staff! I would like to come back and be able to stay just for pleasure. Merry Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveandNancyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Brentwood on 2nd, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Nancy;

Thank you so much for your very favorable review of the Brentwood on 2nd!

I am so happy to hear that during a stressful time, you found our hotel and Staff to be welcoming and friendly. It's also very good to hear that your room was comfortable and clean. Our staff work very hard to make sure each Guest room is impeccable considering the majority of our Guests are St. Mary's patients or their families.

We are very fortunate to have ample free parking considering our close proximity to St. Mary's Hospital. Our Guests truly appreciate it as it's one less thing to worry about.

I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed Charlie's Eatery & Pub! It's a great restaurant and so convenient for our Guests.

Should you have to return to Rochester, MN in the future, the Brentwood on 2nd would be more than happy to welcome you back!

Happy New Year!

Amy R. Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
18
17
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have traveled all my life for business and all over the world on vacations, but this is a one of a kind hotel! Friendly staff, Great restaurant, Unique little bar, and a truly care free stay.

This was my first and hopefully only trip to Rochester Minnesota. I was scheduled for an operation at St. Marys and had several appointments at the Mayo Clinic downtown. I found the Brentwood on 2nd online. The person who took my reservation was great, they took the time to answer all my questions and help me understand a little more about where my appointments would be. St. Marys is just across the street and I took the free shuttle to my appointments downtown.

The room was reasonably sized with all the creature comforts you could need right in the hotel. Very clean, nice and modern, and the prices were just about the lowest I saw online in the area.

Every time we had time to waste the front desk was able to help us find something to do. One of the front desk clerks (Ron??? Rob???) was great!! He knew what to do in town, where to eat, and was very knowledgeable of local history and history of the clinic. We weren't just given directions, he helped us find things that we would like, was able to tell us about them from personal experience, then gave us printed directions.

Like I said I don't plan to come back to Rochester, but I know where I will always stay if I need to.

Room Tip: They were building something across the street so it was a little noisy in the room. Nothing the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Brentwood on 2nd, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Don;

Thank you so very much for writing such a shining review of our hotel!
It's a pleasure to hear that on your first, (and hopefully only) trip to Rochester, MN, you chose Brentwood on 2nd for your accommodations.
I feel very fortunate to have the helpful, friendly staff that I do. We truly are committed to making every Guest's stay an enjoyable one. We understand that some Guests will have "down time" between appointments so we try to keep well informed of various local interests so we can assist Guests in finding activities they might enjoy.
Charlie's Eatery & Pub is a great convenience for our Guests and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the cozy bar as well.

Should you ever need to return to Rochester, MN, the Brentwood on 2nd would be pleased to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,

Amy R. Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Here to visit relative who is at Mayo hospital. Very clean rooms, pleasant staff, reasonable rates, with a nice restaurant and even a small bar. Not fancy, very basic, but all you need when you may have to find someplace to stay during an unpleasant time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan36384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Brentwood on 2nd, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Susan;

I really appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Brentwood on 2nd! It's good to hear you found our location so convenient and that your stay was pleasant considering your need to be in Rochester, MN. We get lots of compliments on our restaurant, Charlie's Eatery & Pub. It's nice for visitors to have an in-house place to relax and unwind.
I'm very fortunate to have exceptionally friendly staff who really care about each Guest and do their very best to ensure each room is thoroughly clean and comfortable.
Should you need to visit Rochester again, please be our Guest at the Brentwood on 2nd. We'd be pleased to see you again!

Truly,

Amy R. Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My family and I were here for surgery at St. Mary's. This hotel is so convenient, the staff so friendly and the rooms are clean. The front desk employee even made me coffee at 3:30 am because I asked. Great customer service. Would definitely stay at the Brentwood again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Brentwood on 2nd, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hello Robyn;

Thank you for taking a moment to write such a very flattering review of the Brentwood on 2nd. The Staff and I take great pride in our hotel and truly want each and every Guest to feel welcome and comfortable in a very clean and lovely room while they are staying with us. We understand that the majority of our Guests are, like you, here for medical purposes and not a vacation so we do our very best to ensure each Guest is comfortable. I'm so fortunate to have such a caring, friendly staff and that they made you feel "at home."
The Brentwood on 2nd definitely has an excellent location to St. Mary's Hospital. Visitors can't get any closer without actually being admitted! It makes it very convenient for family who have loved one's in the hospital.
Should you ever need to return to Rochester, MN, the Brentwood on 2nd would be more than happy to be your "Home Away From Home" again.

Truly,

Amy R. Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

At the last minute we had to change our room from Brentwood Inn to Brentwood on 2nd because of location to St Mary's. Rob was excellent at handling our original reservation and also at helping me to change rooms after the first night. Can't remember the name of the gentlemen who checked me out but also wonderful to deal with. Really appreciated the coupon each day for Charlie's. Medical appointments can get quite expensive and the coupon helped ease our expenses. As of now, it looks like we won't have to come south again, but if we do have to come to St Mary's this is where I'll lay my head. (Told you I'd be on Tripadvisor :-) )
Judy

Room Tip: I always ask for top floor, but I don't think it matters here. Rob told me the walls and floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minntac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Brentwood on 2nd, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello!

Thank you very much for writing such a shining review of the Brentwood on 2nd! It's always good for me to hear that my Staff is helpful and committed to making every Guest's stay at our hotel a comfortable and convenient one! Thank you especially for acknowledging Rob who is our Front Desk Manager. I'm very fortunate to have a Team that truly cares about every Guest.
Although you don't plan on returning to Rochester/St. Mary's, (and I certainly hope that's the case!), I appreciate your intentions to stay with us again should you have to be in the area.

Take care and Stay Well!

Truly,

Amy R. Sullivan
General Manager
Brentwood on 2nd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

When a family member had medical appointments far from home at the Mayo Clinic and then surgery at St. Mary's Hospital, we scoured the internet looking for convenient and inexpensive places to stay. With four of us traveling, we realized the benefit of staying close to the hospital, within walking distance, and narrowed our search to several hotels. Brentwood on 2nd was exactly across the street from the front entrance of St. Mary's Hospital and our lodging location could not have been more convenient. Our first day we drove to the downtown Mayo Clinic for appointments; the next day (having more time) we walked downtown (an easy mile or so walk each way). The third day we simply walked across the street to the hospital at 5:30 am for surgery check in. It should be noted that a shuttle comes by the hotel at specified times to take patients and their families to the farther Mayo location (a mile away), but we never took the shuttle. Parking at Brentwood on 2nd was free and very convenient for our needs. Using the $5 per room coupon for the restaurant downstairs, we ate there daily, sometimes just having breakfast, and other times, every meal. The food was good and once again, there is a lot to be said for convenience when traveling far from home for a family member's surgery. The lobby of the hotel was smaller but decorated very nicely. The front desk clerks varied...some knew information about the surrounding area and some were fairly clueless but pleasant, nonetheless. The rooms were clean, not large, but adequate for our needs. Overall, we were very pleased with our choice of lodging and our family member having had successful surgery, we hope never to have to travel to the Mayo Clinic again; however, if we do, we will be staying at Brentwood on 2nd.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idaho208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Brentwood on 2nd, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello;

Thank you for taking the time to write such a shining review of the Brentwood on 2nd. I'm very happy to hear that our location was convenient for your family and that you found such great value in staying with us.
Our shuttle was a new addition in September and has been very helpful to Guests who have appointments downtown. Obviously this will be especially true in the upcoming winter. We truly strive to make sure visitors from out town have everything they need at their fingertips when they stay with us.
Also good to hear was that you enjoyed and took advantage of the coupon for Charlie's Eatery & Pub. It's so nice to have two on-site restaurants.
Our Front Desk staff is currently going through an extensive Tourism Ambassador program through the City of Rochester. As each staff member attends the training, they will gain a great deal of knowledge about Rochester history, things to do in Rochester and the surrounding areas. I attended the training myself and found it very beneficial! I believe the knowledge gained by our staff will be a great asset to our Guests in their "down time."
As you said, we hope you don't have to come back to St. Mary's or Mayo Clinic, but if you and your family do return, we would be pleased to have you as our Guests again.

Thank you,

Amy R. Sullivan
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've stayed at some of the chain properties in Rochester for Mayo visits and usually use Priceline to get a cheaper rate. I had to come in for one night for a conference, and a lot of the hotels were full. Brentwood on 2nd had a reasonable rate (less than I ever paid on previous visits - why didn't I stay here before?!). Previous reviews seemed pretty accurate. Older building with recent renovation. My room with two queen beds was pleasant, the bed was comfy, and it had everything I needed for my short stay. It's right across the street from St. Mary's if that's helpful to you, and parking is free in the hotel lot. They let me keep my car there later in the day after I checked out while I was at the Civic Center for my conference. Few dings - wifi didn't work; when I called before coming to see if the room had a hair dryer so I hopefully didn't have to bring one, the girl who answered had no clue (really?!); person at front desk when I checked in also had no clue if they offered government rates. Overall though I was really pleased. They also give you a $5 voucher to use in their restaurant, which I didn't just because of the short time I was there. I'd consider staying here again on future visits since the price is reasonable and the place is just as comfortable for me as the pricier chains I've stayed at near St. Mary's or between there and the main Mayo buildings. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, Manager at Brentwood on 2nd, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Zoe;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Brentwood on 2nd for TripAdvisor! You are clearly a very busy and savvy traveler and your feedback is greatly appreciated.
I am so happy you discovered the Brentwood on 2nd and that you found it as comfortable, clean and convenient as the major chain hotels in the area. I also appreciate hearing that you found value in staying with us not only because of our excellent rate, but because of the free parking and restaurant coupon.
We are diligently working to improve the wifi throughout the property. My apologies for the service being troublesome for you. For future reference, and so you can inform others, the Brentwood on 2nd does offer government rates with a valid Government ID.
Again, thank you for the "Thumbs Up!" I hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit to Rochester!

Sincerely,

Amy R. Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.8 mi away
Brentwood Inn and Suites
Brentwood Inn and Suites
#25 of 52 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Select Hotel
Aspen Select Hotel
#17 of 52 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
0.1 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#8 of 52 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brentwood on 2nd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood on 2nd

Property: Brentwood on 2nd
Address: 1406 2nd St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-0317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brentwood on 2nd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brentwood on 2nd has been beautifully remodeled from floor to ceiling and is proud to offer all our Guests a spacious, comfortable and clean room. Our convenient location is just steps from the main entrance of St. Mary's Hospital, making getting to appointments easy. Shuttle service to the downtown Mayo campus is also available, free of charge. Our helpful and friendly Front Desk Staff are here 24/7 and are committed to making your stay comfortable and pleasant. Once you stay at the Brentwood on 2nd, we are sure you'll be so pleased with your accommodations you will be happy to return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Brentwood on 2nd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing