We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking Autumn View!”

Salem Glen Vineyard and Winery
Ranked #12 of 48 things to do in Rochester
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Autumn View!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Incredibly warm and welcoming vineyard! Ambient music, cheerful wait staff and a variety of wines to sample made this an excellent stop on our local winery tour. The environment is relaxed but has a serious appreciation for its craft. I was very impressed with the Sabrevois and Frontenac varietals. Hoping to see more from this quaint and very pleasant winery!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Winery and Tasting”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went here on a whim since we had time to burn during our trip and it became one of the highlights of our vacation. The tasting was great and the staff was very friendly. We also had the cheese plate which was great. My favorite was the Fireside fortified wine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leftstriker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Terrific winery!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

On the basis of the one other review, we decided to give this winery a try. Besides the fact that we felt it needs a little more signage, we thought it to be amazing. We tasted 8 wines, we had a terrific cheese plate, a private tour of the vineyard and processing area, got to enjoy live music, sitting out on the gorgeous patio. It was busy, but didn't feel like it was. Everything was perfect, we bought a case of wine to bring home, and were there for 4 hours!

They will soon have an observatory for star gazing as well!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Grandma1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Mayo Trip”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I went with family to this winery and vineyard. It was absolutely relaxing, beautiful and made our day. We had such a wonderful time that we went back the following day. It used to be an old dairy farm out in the country. They have built a beautiful venue for parties, tasting, and just hanging out. Gorgeous landscaping, 7 acres of vineyards. They make their own wine. Family owned. We really appreciated the care and attention of the family and staff as they asked about our lives and why we were in Rochester (my mom is sick and we had come hoping to help her). They had a very tasty cheese tray as well as some great wines. We loved it. We went to about 5 Tripadvisor attractions during our week, and this was the absolute best of them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cindylhenry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salem Glen Vineyard and Winery also viewed

 

Been to Salem Glen Vineyard and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing