We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$87
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$112
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
$159
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 07/28
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$176
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Rochester(Rochester)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
58
39
18
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
39
18
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmary's hospitalunderground parkingpancake machineshared parking lotstayed at the holiday innmayo clinicwithin walking distancequiet at nightexcellent breakfasta great stayfree breakfastother hotels in the areabiscuits and gravyone night staycomfortable bedfitness roomfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 132 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this property since they opened. Nice , clean, well appointed facility, but it is starting to show some wear and our room did have a few maintenance issues. Most of the staff we’re friendly, a few probably shouldn’t be there. Small dog friendly for a one time $40 charge. There isn’t much green space to walk the dog and the little there is needs the pet waste removed. As of this date there is a large construction site adjacent to the property so this hotel is definitely urban, high density, a bit noisy and there is just room for parking cars only. Good choice if going to Mayo, but not sure I’d return with the dog or for anymore than a few nights stay. Well run standard breakfast area, free Mayo shuttle. Still a good choice.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Driverjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns with us, we do appreciate you staying at our hotel and glad to see for the most part that your stay was an enjoyable one. We will look into some of the points you have made and see if changes can be made. We do hope to see you again when in Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice clean room & hotel, great beds & pillows! Close, easy commute to Mayo. Only suggestion to management (from my husband)...box spring covers need replacement, look very worn. Would stay again!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank HeatherStokely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Thank you for your comments Heather and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Good News, we are replacing all Box Spring Covers this Summer/Fall! We hope to see you back when in Rochester again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018 via mobile

Our room on the highway side of the building was almost laughably loud — overlooking the highway at a major exit and on-ramp.

The white noise machine they provided hardly put a dent in the sounds of acceleration, braking, rumbling semis, etc.

We were told there were no rooms available on the parking lot side of building. (We asked within minutes of arriving.)

Also, we’re not “light sleepers.” The level of noise was obvious the second we walked into the room during the day. Apparently, the parking lot side is known as the one to be on. Too bad for the rest of us, I guess. Unfortunately, I did not read the reviews ahead of time.

(Photo is out window, showing highway on-ramp directly below rooms. This is the main exit/entrance for Mayo Clinic St. Mary’s Hospital and gets heavy traffic day and night.)

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank mplstravelgirl578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and concerns with us. We do understand that being on the West side of the hotel can be slightly noisy and for that we do apologize. This is something we plan to work on this summer. We will be adding double pane glass to all of those windows to try and eliminate the outside highway noise. We do hope you will stay with us again when in Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018

We/I stayed a few nights while my husband had surgery at St. Mary's. We stayed at a couple other hotels in different areas of town and this was the nicest one! Clean, comfortable,quiet (on the parking lot side), and walking distance to the hospital.

There was a wide variety of items (both hot and cold) available at breakfast, which was appreciated for a multi-day stay. And the pancake machine was a novelty and source of amusement during a stressful visit.

Ask about Mayo Clinic pricing when making reservations.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AMC8380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing such a kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast provided and a fan of the Pancake machine! It's definitely a hit for most. We hope to see you again when in Rochester!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017

We stayed in this hotel in November 2017. It is in great condition, and very close to the hospital. Several restaurants in the shared parking lot. Very good condition for being open 5 years, looks brand new. Free breakfast in the morning was very good. It has limited underground parking, a big plus during the winter.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kwshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Dear kwshannon,

Thank you so much for staying with us. I am glad you were able to enjoy our underground parking. It is my favorite feature in the winter. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Melany Laplander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews