We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, noisy guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel is very clean, well-kept and inviting. Good breakfast. The receptionist was very warm, friendly and helpful. The only problem we ran into was a youth baseball team that was staying there over the weekend. These baseball players, who were maybe 11 or so, were noisy and took over the pool. There were way too many kids in the pool and hot tub, and they were so loud and obnoxious that my two kids were afraid to get in the pool with them. Their coach tried to get them to calm down, but they didn't listen, so we left the pool and told the receptionist, who went to talk to them, but it didn't change anything. The hotel should enforce maximum number of people in the pool and ask obnoxious guests to leave so quiet guests can use the pool as well.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevators--or near a youth baseball team.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryvanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear maryvanb,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We are so happy that you were able to enjoy our Express Start Breakfast. We had a really busy week. We are sorry you were not able to enjoy our pool area.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This was well worth the points. The room was clean and quiet, the shower and bathroom were clean.

They seemed to have trouble keeping up with a light breakfast crowd this day. I guess the delivery truck didn't show up.

All and all this was a pleasant one night stay in a comfortable room at a more than reasonable cost! I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Scott H,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We are so happy to hear that you were able to use your points to enjoy your stay. We apologize you were not able to enjoy the breakfast bar at it's full potential.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is the third or fourth time I stayed at this hotel since its opening. I was pleased once more with the cleanliness of the hotel and room, and the exceptional breakfast buffet. As a Mayo patient, I am grateful for the large selection of channels on the TV when I need to stay in my room. I have not encountered any noise other than street traffic, so I'm guessing the other reviewers might have been there on a weekend. The staff is very accommodating and pleasant, which is why I return there for each Mayo visit.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor on the side away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Lorraine B,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We are so happy that you are able to enjoy your time at our location while you are in town for Mayo. Thank you so much for mentioning my staff. It is our staff that sets us apart from other locations in town.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on two occasions. First stay was several days and uneventful. On the second stay we were there only one night. That night the HVAC unit made a sharp clicking sound once every minute and a half. I slept right through it, my more sensitive wife was much disturbed. If she had mentioned it I imagine they would have moved us, but she let me sleep. When I checked out the next morning I complained to the fellow at the desk. He offered to discount the room for our inconvenience. I suggested half price as I slept fine my wife not much at all. And that's where we settled.

It's very convenient to Mayo Clinic (the reason Rochester, MN exists) and has heated under the hotel parking. Nice breakfast buffet. You will want the top (fourth floor) to avoid as much noise as possible.

Room Tip: Fourth floor corner will be quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old-Salty-Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Old-Salty-Sailor;

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We are so glad that you brought it to our attention during check out and that we were able to make things right for you. We always try to go above and beyond for our guest to ensure that they have a great stay with us.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I spent a night at the hotel. The receptions were friendly and the entrance looks good. They have a nice guest rooms at the entrance.
Internet service (Wi Fi) is available. Internet speed was slow when I tired to hook my xbox 360 online.
The room has a big window and the street below is loaded with cars. I found that it was loud to me at night. Felt like Chicago than Rochester since it was loud.
However, They have free excellent breakfast in morning and big parking garage. Area is considered safe.
Staying there for fun is ok but for business, it was loud.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Bravo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Bravo 1982,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We are glad you wre able to enjoy our Start Express Breakfast bar. The underground parking is really nice. We are sorry about the noise. We do have ear plugs and white noise machines at the front desk. On your next visit we can put you in a room overlooking the parking lot.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights this weekend. It is a newer hotel, quite clean, and in a good location. Parking and breakfast is included so that is good. Rooms are comfortable. Unfortunately, I didn't have a very restful stay because of excessive noise. There is street noise which I can deal with, but there appeared to be many families staying this weekend who allowed their children to run WILD late into the evening - I'm talking banging on doors, slamming doors, running down the halls, talking/yelling as though they were at a playground at 11 and 12 o'clock. Of course I fault the parents for allowing this, but I do think the hotel staff should have intervened. I have traveled a lot and never been in a hotel where that kind of noise was allowed to go on so long. My room was not in a good location (first floor, near the lobby), and I just had to wait it out. I know there are many people who stay at this hotel due to medical appts at the Mayo, and I really felt sorry for these people. I might stay in this hotel again because the location is so good, and the rooms are comfortable, but I would insist on a room that is not on the first floor. Also, I would be calling the front desk right away if there was noise like that late at night.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor, especially rooms close to the lobby area. A room on the top floor would be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We apologize about the noise. We did have a few groups in house due to tournaments in town. We would love to host you again and place you in one of our rooms on the fourth floor overlooking the parking lot.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

When coming to the Mayo complex, we have stayed in this hotel 3 - 4 times. The staff are very helpful and friendly and since the facility isn't very old, it's still in great shape. The comments from other reviewers about noise between the floors with the "thumpers" above you are true. After the first stay, I've always asked for the 4th floor rooms, so being on the top floor you avoid that distraction. They have a nice breakfast buffet, with all you need for a quick bite to start your day. The front desk staff have also been very helpful when we had instances causing us to spend an extra night. They get it!!! The underground parking for a few vehicles is nice frosty mornings - no scraping!!! This hotel is located only a couple of miles from the downtown clinics and it's a very easy drive. It's always our first hotel choice when we need to go to Mayo.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms, looking out towards the front entrance are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We are gald that you are able to enjoy your stay with us when you come to Rochester. Thank you so much for mentioning my staff. It is our staff that sets us a side from other hotels in town.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Select Hotel
Aspen Select Hotel
#13 of 50 in Rochester
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
4.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center

Address: 155 16th Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: $116 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel near the Mayo Clinic in Rochester MN? The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rochester offers visitors to Rochester, Minnesota great value in an ideal downtown location. Staying smart in Rochester has never been this easy! Our GREEN ENGAGE property means we value our footprint as much as your stay. When visiting Rochester and the Holiday Inn Express & Suites be sure to take advantage of FREE WiFi, HOT breakfast and free garage parking! Yes; garage parking which translates to an easy clear access to your car in our on-site parking garage. No snow or ice to shovel or scrape, just get in the car and go! Visiting the Mayo Clinic? Did you know that parking downtown can be costly and elusive? Make your stay easy! Park your car and use our complimentary weekday shuttle service to Rochester Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital & Rochester Methodist Hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing