We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, clean and really nice new hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Venice, Florida
1 review
“Fresh, clean and really nice new hotel.”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice new hotel and reasonable rates. The staff is excellent and the breakfast was also very good. The hot cinnamon buns were excellent. The hotel has an underground garage with an elevator that goes right to your floor. The rooms are very large and as would be expected very well furnished. The lobby area has several large leather chairs and a couch with a large screen television. The staff was nice and personable. They do not yet have a shuttle to the clinic. I absolutely will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEV33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank-you for your comments regarding your recent visit to our Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Rochester, West Medical Center. Comments such as yours are essential to the success of our hotel's operations.

First let me say, I too agree the hot cinnamon rolls are very tastey! The cinnamon rolls are very popular and go well with a cup of hot chocolate or coffee. Next, I want to thank you for the comments you shared regarding our staff. I will be sure to pass along your compliments about our great staff as well.

Once again, thank you for the great comments and my staff and I look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    35
    15
    4
    10
See reviews for
40
25
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I spent a week staying at the new (9/12) Holiday Inn Epress while at a meeting in Rochester. The property is about three miles from the convention center but only a few blocks from the St. Mary's Campus Hospital building.
The Inn delivered on all its promises. I had an East-facing room (note earlier reviews) and noted no road noise. There was occasional helicopter noise, but I think this may be a general feature of Rochester. The room was spacious and clean. The TV was HD, although local network channels were not HD (but ESPN, FOX, TBS etc. were) Free wireless internet access was prompt. The no-charge-added breakfast was more than continental; there were eggs, sausage, biscuits and pancakes as well as the typical bagels and jam. There was pretty good coffee close to 24/7. The front desk clerks and housekeepers were very pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful. There is a washer/dryer on each floor; mine worked well.
From here I used a car to go to the meetings at the civic center. Parking at the Inn was free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potscrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback you provided regarding your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Rochester West Medical, Rochester, MN. Feedback such as your's is invaluable to the success of our hotel. We use this information to improve our facilities where possible.

I want to thank you for commending our front desk and housekeeping team members who work so hard to make sure all of our guests expectations are exceeded. I would also have to agree with you regarding our Express Start Breakfast which offers more variety then just breads and muffins. I have to admit the hot eggs, sausage and biscuits are very popular among our guests.

Once again thank you for the great remarks! I will be sure to share these with our team members and hope to see you again when you need a great place to stay in Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I found this by accident because it just opened in June and we were there the first weekend in August. It is a brand new property, so everything was fresh and clean. The staff was exceptional. We were greeted like old friends and immediately upgraded to a King Suite. The check in personnel took the time to give us a briefing on the area, including dining suggestions and directions to a store my wife wanted to visit.
It was a girls state softball tournament and there were several families staying there. No problem at all. Our room was quiet and it must have been a great group of families because there were no disturbances at all.
They have underground parking available and I took advantage because storms were predicted. Excellent choice, it was pouring when we wanted to go out in the morning, but we were dry since we parked inside and it had stopped raining when we reached our destination.
I will be staying there next time I am in Rochester and recommend this hotel to other without reservation. Great location, great property and great value. Very near to St. Mary's and only a few blocks from the other Rochester hospitals/clinics. Right on 2nd St.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a King Suite and the extra room really made the experience more comfortable. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you Professor Holland for your wonderful review of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Rochester West Medical. My staff and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at our new hotel. Your travel tips are great ideas and agree that if your a light sleeper guests should be sure to inquire about being placed on the east side of the building. I'm also glad you took advantage of our garage parking. I know this will be very popular in the winter months.

Again, thank you for your great comments. Feedback such as yours help us to continue to strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express we can be exceeding all of our guest expectations. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We did not have reservations, as we did not know where we would end up that day, we walked in & were given quick, friendly, great service. Very comfortable king size room. Did not hear any road noise, especially good since it is across the street from the hospital. Lots of variety for breakfast. Very clean hotel. Will plan on staying here or any other Holiday Inn Express again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlandmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent posting on Trip Advisor.com on September4, 2012. Feedback such as yours is wonderful and truly warms our hearts and gives us motivation to continue to do what we do best and that is to exceed all of our customers expectations. I know I speak for my staff in saying that we are delighted that you had a great stay. I will be sure that your wonderful comments are shared with our staff and we look forward to the opportunity to host your stay whenever your lodging needs bring you through our doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great place to stay (rooms are always clean) and as expected the free breakfast was hot and fresh. The front desk staff was over the top helping with directions and help icing down our cooler. Very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent lodging experience at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Rochester West Medical Center. Comments such as yours help us to recognize those employees are are exceeding our customers expectations. I will surely share your great comments with all of our staff. I'm very proud of the great work they do taking care of our customers. Thank you once again for your wonderful comments and my staff and I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This Hotel, which has just opened is absolutely the best hotels in Rochester. We have been coming here for 2 years and staying at various hotels, but will never even consider anywhere else from now on. Everyone on staff was so friendly. The place was impeccably clean and cared for. Anyone planning on coming to the MAYO should have this place #1 on your list!!! I would also book early, as the word gets out about this place, they will ALWAYS be full.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyed059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your recent lodging experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites – Rochester, MN. Your wonderful comments warm our hearts and give us fuel to work even harder to impress all of our future guests. Thank you once again for your great words of kindness and my staff and I look forward to the next time we have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is clean, convenient, well run and modern. I highly recommend this property. It has easy access to St Mary's hospital and is a twenty minute walk from the Mayo clinic. The only negative is proximity to the highway and road noise. The management of this hotel is first rate and I will stay here whenever I visit Rochester.

Room Tip: Stay on the East side, non-highway side by asking for an odd numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tullymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank-you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rochester, MN. My staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the time when we can see you again. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff and continue to work to exceed all of our guests expectations. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.3 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#10 of 52 in Rochester
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
Address: 155 16th Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel near the Mayo Clinic in Rochester MN? The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rochester offers visitors to Rochester, Minnesota great value in an ideal downtown location. Staying smart in Rochester has never been this easy! Our GREEN ENGAGE property means we value our footprint as much as your stay. When visiting Rochester and the Holiday Inn Express & Suites be sure to take advantage of FREE WiFi, HOT breakfast and free garage parking! Yes; garage parking which translates to an easy clear access to your car in our on-site parking garage. No snow or ice to shovel or scrape, just get in the car and go! Visiting the Mayo Clinic? Did you know that parking downtown can be costly and elusive? Make your stay easy! Park your car and use our complimentary weekday shuttle service to Rochester Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital & Rochester Methodist Hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing