We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspen Suites Rochester
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a great hotel for the money... This property is well maintained, clean and laid out very nicely... Free laundry, Free breakfast, and a nice recreation area with Jacuzzi, ping pong table, arcade games and work out area. The staff was very nice and accomodating. My one recomendation and I almost feel guity saying this, but! Just a suggestion. All the rooms have 32" HD flat panels and I think they should have their cable provider program their cable boxes to show just the chanels that are availible.. The boxes allow you to surf over 700 chanels and less than a third are avaiible... This would make it easy to chanel up or down easily... I would highly recomend this hotel...

Room Tip: If you get a room on the first floor you wouldn't have to bother with the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey201248014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenManagement, General Manager at Aspen Suites Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel and staff. I am very pleased that you had a great experience at the hotel. Your comments about the TV channels is extremely valid! We recently upgraded our channels to include some premium channells, and more HD channels - also part of the upgrade is an on screen menu guide as you mentioned. This is supposed to be completed by the end of June, 2013. We hope the company is able to meet this deadline.

I do hope there was a printed channel guide in your room that describes what the channels are, but I realize it is not helpful when looking for a specific show. Thank you again and we hope to see you again at the Aspen Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 299 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Aspen Suites for 25 days in March while undergoing treatment at the Mayo Clinic. Everything about this hotel was comfortable and convient. The fact that it was right across the street from St. Mary's was a huge plus since I walked there every day for my treatment. The staff was very friendly, and the rooms were clean. I had a suite with the bedroom separate from the kitchen and sitting area, which made the long stay a lot easier. It was also nice to have the stove, and I cooked dinner in the room quite a few times during my stay. I ate breakfast every morning in the lobby, and while it's nothing extraordinary it was nice to have a nice hot breakfast (with choices) right outside my room. The TV was also surprisingly large, and included HD channels...which was a nice little perk. The hotel is also close enough to walk to downtown Rochester (about a mile away, about a 15 minute walk for me.) If walking isn't an option there are a few different shuttles (free) that you can take right from the hotel. The bus system in Rochester is also very easy to figure out (with very nice bus drivers) and there are stops right across the street and right next to the hotel. All in all it was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: I had a first floor room and it was really nice to not have to use the elevator or stairs for the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamsoftraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

we were concerned that this place had changed hands. we were wrong, out stay was plesant, comfortable and enjoyable. their locations to St. Mary's hopital is great, breakfast was wonderful, so many choices, coffee always hot and ready, use of computer and printer was very helpful. their remodeling was a done very nicely and our room was clean and convient. we will be going back when we return to St. Mary's

Room Tip: directly across the street from St. Marys, shuttles to Mayo clinic downtown. takes about 20 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The 1 thing that we would have liked is an actual ovenor even a toaster oven. Other than that we were very comfortable. It was reasonably quiet. We had a two bedroom suite. The rooms were large and with two teenagers and a child it was nice to have the sinks outside the bathrooms. The bathrooms were large, there was plenty of room for lots of luggage and still room to move around. Friendly and helpful staff. The recreation room was great. We walked to the clinic most times as it isn't quite a mile. It would be helpful if the shuttle was more often.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite. It was large, and reasonably quiet for a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plrjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at Aspen. Our dog was welcomed at every turn, including complementary treats and dog waste clean-up bags on our arrival. Our family included four plus our dog in an enormous two-bedroom suite at the far rear of the property. The walk to the room was considerable but well worth it for the peace and quiet afforded by the room location. This assignment also made sense to me given that we were weekend leisure visitors when many of the guests at Aspen are there for long-term stays whilst their loved ones are admitted for treatment at St. Mary's Hospital (front entrance directly across the street).
More about the room: two large bedrooms, each with its own full bathroom, separated by a kitchen/living room. If you are planning to stay a week or longer, the kitchen would be ideal: full sized refrigerator with freezer, two electric stove burners, huge microwave oven and full sized dishwasher. Everyone in our group agreed that the beds were comfortable and allowed for restful sleep. I found the knobbly blanket to be a bit odd, but that's a matter of personal taste. Everything was very clean in the suite, which is no mean feat given its vast size. Kudos to the housekeeping staff! Since Aspen caters to long-term visitors, there is no scheduled weekend room refresh - if you want weekend housekeeping, you must request it.
Breakfast is served from a buffet each morning - fine for our needs, but far from the best breakfast I have eaten at similar hotel properties. With that said, the restaurant next door does a fine full breakfast and there is a Caribou Coffee one block away. Aspen is located within 4 blocks of two large city parks, so it wasn't a problem providing our dog with good exercise opportunities. We also found the municipal dog park, but that is located 6 miles away - good if you have a vehicle. Parking is tight within the free, underground garage, but it was nice to be off the street since surrounding parking is very limited and tightly controlled.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank TreeToadMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is our second time and second stay at Aspen. Great rooms, nice staff, and calming atmosphere will keep us coming back. The rooms are spacious and clean, and quite. Nice complimentary breakfast and located close to other restaurants and downtown. Fast Internet service in every room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tgoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I primarily chose Aspen Suites due to it's proximity to St. Mary's Hospital where my husband was to have surgery. I have never been so impressed with hotel as I have with Aspen! It was new, fresh and well appointed. The breakfast was plentiful and even on Tues. thru Thurs. evenings, they serve a light supper for their guests! That's going above and beyond in my book! With all of this, you'd expect higher rates, but that was another wonderful surprise! Another bonus was the Canadian Honker restaurant right next door - Excellent food!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.8 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Aspen Select Hotel
Aspen Select Hotel
#13 of 50 in Rochester
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
0.7 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#21 of 50 in Rochester
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Suites Rochester

Address: 1211 2nd St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1941 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Rochester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#5 Family Hotel in Rochester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $150 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspen Suites Rochester 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Aspen Suites in Rochester, MN! Located just off of Highway 52 and less than 10 miles from the Rochester International Airport. Whether you are in town on leisure or business travel, we invite you to experience our award winning hotel which is conveniently located directly across the street from St. Marys Hospital and less than 1 mile from downtown and the Mayo Clinic. Local businesses include IBM, Schmidt Printing, Kemps, Benchmark, University of Minnesota Rochester, and Rochester Community and Technical College.The Aspen Suites is an all suite hotel designed to let travelers feel more comfortable! Guests may choose from our studio, one bedroom, and the two bedroom/two bathroom suites; all featuring fully-equipped kitchens complete with full size refrigerators, 2 burner stoves, microwave oven and utensils.Our spacious living areas offer comfortable furniture and televisions with a DVD player. All rooms come with free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), two phone lines and personalized voice mail, ample closet space and storage areas, 24-hour business center with computer terminals, complimentary guest laundry, fitness center, and whirlpool spa. All guests will enjoy a free deluxe breakfast every morning and an evening Suite Social on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings where we serve a light snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aspen Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing