We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Soup & Service”

Salad Brothers Cafe & Deli
Ranked #61 of 303 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Soup & Service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a great place and so conveniently located with skyway access. I am usually in a hurry so it is nice to have this option. The fresh baked rolls are to die for!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Extremeoutdoorsman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A LUNCH TIME OASIS”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Tucked away on the Skyway (the enclosed bridge system that connects much of downtown Rochester) sits Salad Brothers. If you are looking for ambiance or room to spread out Salad Brothers may not work for you. But if you are looking for marvelous home made soups, delicious salads and sandwiches and yummy fresh baked rolls, this is the spot. The restaurant claims to make the best soup in town, they will get no argument from me. In fact I told them after our second visit that I thought their soup would be the best soup in a lot of towns. The menu is displayed on a chalk board next to the counter and changes somewhat each day. It can be very busy at the height of lunch hour, but if you go before or after the lunch rush there is rarely a wait. We usually have soup and an order of the bread sticks, normally comes to less than six bucks for the two of us. Bon Appetit

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gmathual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch - quick - great rolls”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This restaurant is in the Galleria on the second floor (above Talbots). It is a quick stop for lunch or early dinner. Limited seating, self serve. They have great rolls included with all selections. I find the food quite heavy except for some of the salads but they do have a large selection. Lots of Mayo staff and visitors eat here at lunch but a long line moves quickly. Prices are reasonable for the amount of food they serve and staff are friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank joxxxxxjoxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not bad, but just average”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Grabbed some carry out here for lunch while between appointments at Mayo. Grabbed a couple of different salads and soup for my wife and I. Bottom line on this one is that the food was just OK- nothing great, but not bad either. If I had one complaint, it was that the server and the cashier that I dealt with with were both in incredibly bad moods. Granted, it was the lunch hour rush, but in my inion, that doesn't excuse having an attitude with the customers. The bottom line is that, if you are just looking for an OK salad/soup/sandwich while at Mayo, this place will probably work for you. Just don't expect anything beyond average.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Surprising Mall Food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great place for lunch or dinner, soup selection was fantastic and there staff is very helpful in describing each one. Ask for samples to make sure you get what your taste buds are after. Fresh bread is very good and there's plenty to go around. A++

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bones1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salad Brothers Cafe & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Salad Brothers Cafe & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing