We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burger, Fun Staff Close to Hotel”
Review of Newt's North

Newt's North
Ranked #18 of 300 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
178 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Burger, Fun Staff Close to Hotel”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Place was packed on a Tueday night, we split a Works Burger which was a handmade pretty good quality beef burger loaded with lots of stuff on a very nice, large bun. Hard Apple Cider on tap was fresh tasty and reasonable at $4. a pint, waiter gave some samples of some chocolate and vanilla flavored exotic dark beer, very unique! Large Beer selection. Onion rings were really good, staff was professional & attentive. Would love to re visit this place when in the area. Make sure to LOOK UP when you first walk in the place and check out the beer bottle chandlier....just TOO cool to miss!
SUGGESTION: They serve a bowl of popcorn when you first sit down. I suggest they pop their own good quality popcorn and then instead of pouring on "heart attack in a bottle" fake butter...USE FLAVORED OLIVE OIL! I perfer Tangerine Olive Oil on my popcorn....it would be NEW & NOVEL for a resturant to serve this as nobody else has ever tried it!! (Oh yeah, if I suggest you try flavored olive oil on your ice cream??? Don't knock it until you try it!")

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mabarley777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    65
    26
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Yep, get the onion rings and a burger!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

So true - the onion rings are wonderful. As were our burgers and fries. The burgers were flavorful and real - not pre-formed patties. Our waiter was great--checked up on us frequently. Extremely convenient to the Hampton Inn North, where we were staying. I'd definitely go back and probably keep ordering the same thing over and over. Oh yeah, and as a popcorn fanatic I appreciated being able to dive right in when we were seated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sisterchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
473 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great place to eat.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a bar and grill in the hotel area right off of 52. There is a sister restaurant down town but I would go to this one to avoid parking issues and crowds. Burgers are the best in the city. Good portions at reasonable prices. The bar area is huge with tables surrounding the area. Be hungry before you go here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WItraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stopped by Newt's for the first time last night with some friends and LOVED it. The service was EXCELLENT. Our server was so incredibly friendly, welcoming and just on point - not too overbearing and stopped by at just the right times. The food was great. Juicy, flavorful food and they give you a ton! We also loved the atmosphere - kind of a down home bar feel to the place! We will definitely be back for more next time we are in Rochester!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great burger”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good service and great burger. Enjoyed the pre-meal popcorn as well. Good drink prices. Would absolutely eat there again. We ate one dinner one night and went back the next night for late drinks and snacks since near our hotel

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cubs2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newt's North also viewed

 

Been to Newt's North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing