We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not super fancy but comfy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
grandmahenry
Level Contributor
423 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Not super fancy but comfy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a lovely super clean room. Huge bed, coffee maker, fridge and a gorgeous old dresser. Our room was quiet and seemed freshly painted. It's not fancy but it was comfy, the air worked really well. We would definitely stay there again. The pillows were a bit hard and the breakfast minimal but it was great value for the money! The room even had a RECLINER!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
24
14
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The price is great. The rooms are being updated one project at a time. Newer carpet and updated bathroom. There are still things for them to do. Take this into account when you book.. No elevator..
Amit and his mom are over and above helpful. They are the best....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It is a great place to stay. Comfortable bed. Nice clean room and no smoking in the building at all. The rates are excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate. Nice shower. The refrigerator and microwave worked just fine. There is a recliner, a table and chairs and TV in each room. We enjoyed our stay as it was a good place to come back to after a long day at the Mayo clinic. The shuttle bus is a great feature.

Room Tip: We have stayed twice. Once in 111 and next in 112. Very nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionRoseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently spent three nights at the Red Carpet Inn during a trip to the Mayo Clinic. It is an older building with no luxuries--a truly basic, economy motel. It is very clean and quiet (unless you are there on a Friday night). The owners went above and beyond by graciously giving us some milk and yougart from their personal stache, as the motel can't serve those items due to not having a kitchen.

The motel did have shuttle service for Mayo Clinic, but we drove since the times didn't work well with our clinic schedule.

The only drawback I encountered was the air conditioning in the room. It didn't cool as much as I would have liked, but it was sufficient. There was a lot of noise from someone banging on doors for over thirty minutes on Friday night. But, you might experience that anywhere you stay. The upside was the service, the clean room, comfortable bed, and wonderful shower. I'd suggest staying on the first floor. My Mom stayed on the level above the office, and the room needed updating and was warm.

For a price of $44.00 a night, it can't be beat.

Room Tip: I would stay on the first floor. The room above the lobby was not updated and a little too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Red Carpet Inn for one night, as we had a wedding in Rochester. The motel is very average at the most, rooms had a standard bed. Check in was very easy and service was nice. The common areas and hallways are not Air conditioned which causes the building to smell very mildew and moist. The room was okay, newly updated bathroom, all the AC's are quite old as they are window units, they do not get very cold but it is manageable. The bed was mediocre and decor was as well. The rooms could have been kept cleaner, mattress was stained in area's carpet, etc. The motel is very outdated.

Overall: You really get what you pay for, with that being i would definitely of spent 10-20 more to stay at a more comfortable hotel. If you are looking for cheapest hotel in the area this is the place. The service and employee's were very nice.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go north up the road, there are more modern and more comfortable hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is just ok. I really don't know why people are giving it 5 outa 5. We had a long stay so we needed a cheap hotel and thast what we got. The hotel can use a lot of tlc. Maybe one day it will get it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Clean comfortable rooms. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable if you are visiting Mayo Clinic. The photos are true to what we experienced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justDeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Rochester Inn
#38 of 56 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
1.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#24 of 56 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#6 of 56 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Property: Red Carpet Inn
Address: 2214 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Carpet Inn is conveniently located just 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic and downtown Rochester, yet it sits away from the congestion of the downtown area. Those who are wishing to stay close to the Rochester Civic Center, the Rochester Fairgrounds, the Rochester Graham Arena Complex, Rochester Technical and Community College, and the University of Minnesota-Rochester will find our facilities to be the perfect place to end the day. The Red Carpet Inn is also located nearby several shopping centers; and a wide array of dining is just minutes away. Come Relax in Rochester at the Red Carpet Inn. Our facilities offer Clean, Quite, and Comfortable rooms with Friendly Service. The Red Carpet Inn's facilities are 100% NON-SMOKING and PET FREE. FREE WI-FI internet in ALL rooms! Amenities Include:>Free Courtesy Shuttle to Mayo Clinic and Hospitals.>Clinic patient, AARP, and Senior Citizen Discount Rates.>Complimentary Continental Breakfast.>Free Wireless Internet in all Rooms and Public Areas.>Free Local Calls>Microwave, Mini-fridge, and Coffee Pot in every room.>Free On-Site Parking.>Kitchenettes upon availability.>Guest Laundry>27" Remote Televisions with Extended Cable and HBO.>Restaurants & Shopping nearby.>Individual Climate Control - Heating and A/C.>Recliners in all rooms.>Weekly and Monthly Discount Rates>Hair Dryer, Iron, and Ironing Board available upon request.>Wake Up Service, and Alarm Clocks in all rooms.>Ice Machine, Snack, and Soda vendors on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Rochester
Red Carpet Inn Rochester
Rochester Red Carpet Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing