We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They emloy handicapped/mentallyt challenged personnel in housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Great suites, great rates, free wireless internet (that actually works), free parking and free long distance calls make this hotel an excellent choice. Also, props to management/ownership for employing handicapped/mentally challenged employees to work in housekeeping. They do an excellent job!! Their policy to allow dogs for $10 is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpoferl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear gpoferl,
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. However, we are no longer pet friendly. We hope that doesn't deter you from staying with us in the future. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2010

when we checked into the hotel, they said there was no room, i had made the reservation a year prior to this. When we finally did get in the room, it smelled so bad that we had to go and buy 4 air fresheners to at least try to get rid of the stench! The carpets in the halls as well as in our room was filthy and needs to be cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Please let me take a moment to reach out to you on this matter. We have taken every step to ensure that our housekeeping staff follows procedures and policies that allow them to efficiently clean every room. We would like to apologize in advance for your room not meeting our satisfactory standards. Our carpets in the rooms and in the hallways are cleaned and shampooed by a professional. Our management team are always willing to provide the best cleanliness possible and I can assure you that this matter has been addressed and taken care of. We would like to apologize again for your unpleasant stay and thank you for your attention to this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed three nights while my wife was having tests at Mayo Clinic. The free shuttle to Clinic was timely and efficient not to mention very easy to use (they run every 50 min).
Microtel specializes in compact rooms that are clean, comfortable and efficiant. with WIFI.
The free continental breakfast included use of a waffle maker and they had enough to get you started for the day. They are located close to a number of dining options.
the rooms are only $52 for Mayo patients and they have free parking.
Not my choice for spending a lot of room time but great on the pocket when you are staying one night on the road or won't be in the room for long hours.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAG102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear jkwalkers,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our free Mayo Clinic shuttle service. We have also added hard boiled eggs to our breakfast. Hope to see you next time you are in Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed at the Microtel in Rochester and found it to be clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. We stayed 2 nights and all desk staff were friendly and professional. Breakfast had a nice selection of rolls, muffins, cereals, waffles, juices with plenty of places to sit down. Right off the highway--easy to find. Plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. Shuttle to Mayo Clinic ran on time each day with many pick up times throughout the day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_fools95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear traveling_fools95,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your loyal business. We are glad that you enjoyed the time you spent with us and that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the restaurants and shopping near by. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Checked in after my camping plans went awry. Room was small but very functional and very clean. Window seat over the heater was a nice touch. Noisy family checking out next door woke me around 6am but I fell back to sleep after that. Price (59) seemed a little steep for an economy chain in a suburban setting, but I slept really well.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfitz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear bigfitz79,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the time you spent with us. We appreciate your business. Hope to see you next time you are in Rochester, Mn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Room was very small, hence the name 'Microtel'. But, for the price it was perfect. Very clean, great service. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinKaycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear WisconsinKaycat,
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate your business. Our staff pride themselves on making every guest feel comfortable and welcome here. We also offer a bigger room that has a queen bed, kitchen cabinets, a microwave, fridge, kitchen sink and a sleeper sofa for only around $20 extra a night. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

I stayed at the Microtel during a short visit to Rochester and I did not get much sleep because of the noise coming through the paper-thin walls. I could hear the people talking, walking and opening/closing doors in the adjacent room. Even my teenage son who is a heavy sleeper was awakened by the noise. Mind you, the people next door were not screaming, just plain talking in a normal voice. Also, I was in a non-smoking room, but you couldn't tell because of the strong smell of cigarette smoke in the hallways and in the bathroom (Coming through the vent). Needless to say, I checked out early the next morning and went to the Country Suites nearby. The room was clean, had WiFi, but the beds were not comfortable, contrary to what other reviewers had mentioned here. Breakfast was limited but acceptable, though there is no place to sit (It's a tiny space with food on counters). I would pay a few extra bucks and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BeenToManyPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
microtelrochester, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear BeenToManyPlaces,
Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We have made the whole hotel non-smoking and the noise problem is being taken care off. Hope to see you again we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
3.6 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,263 reviews
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
5.7 mi away
Super 8 Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester
6.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester

Address: 4210 Highway 52 North, West Frontage Road, Rochester, MN 55901-5921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#9 Business Hotel in Rochester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#12 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: $73 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Shuttle Service to Mayo clinic, Saint Mary's and Methodist Hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Microtel Inn And Suites Rochester
Microtel Rochester
Rochester Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing