We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff is very respectful and willing to go out of their way to help you with anything you need. In the lobby and on the shuttle, you notice the staff acknowledging many returning guests and inquiring into how they are doing. The cleaning staff are very kind and want to help with anything they can. The General Manager will go above and beyond to help you. Also being just off of Hwy 52, it is very convenient to many things - restaurants, shopping, the Mayo. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    71
    29
    12
    13
See reviews for
115
37
27
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Really liked the location as it was close to family. It was clean, the beds great, and a wonderful complimentary breakfast. The whirlpool was down though. There was a loud sound that would come and go during the evening. It sounded like a big generator or another piece of equipment outside of the suite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I only stayed here for one night but found this hotel to be very nice, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast selection was good. I would stay here with my family in the future. Staff members were always available and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chugwater, Wyoming
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This facility is badly in need of some "country care". There was a time when this chain would have been our 1st choice. However, over the years the competition has left them in the dust of a badly rutted country road.

Lack of cleanliness of the room was most disappointing. In addition, to a badly stained bathroom, the TV program card was covered with nasal discharge. The carpet was old and stained and bedding had holes.

The front desk left much to be desired. When inquiring about possible dinning suggestions the "young" lady's 2 suggestions given in a "whatever" response was made without her eyes ever leaving the computer. Finally, when presenting the TV program card to the "young" man the following morning he failed to acknowledge any concern or potential action to the departing guests.

Country Inn & Suites, good-by old friend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Guest feedback is a powerful training tool and without it we could not get better. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with the cleanliness of your room. I also want to apologize for the lack of assistance from our front desk staff. I assure you that I will be talking to my staff to resolve these problems and hope that you may give us another chance the next time you are in the Rochester area. Sincerely, Jeff A General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our opinion is the hotel is in need of better management. We stayed two nights and our beds were not fixed and coffee was not replenished in the room. Our biggest disappointment was the breakfast room. It was very small and unorganized. The employee in charge of it was not friendly and appeared to be overwhelmed by her responsibilities. Breakfast was advertised to be open until 10:30, we were down there by nine and several items were already gone and it was very messy. The real coffee cups were all dirty and none of the tables were wiped off. When we left the breakfast employee was outside smoking. With all the other hotels to pick from in Rochester, stay clear of this one!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Guest feedback is a powerful training tool and without it we could not get better. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. I apologize for the experience you had during our breakfast hours. I also want to apologize that your beds were not made and your coffee wasn't replenished. I assure you that I will be talking to my staff to resolve these problems and hope that you may give us another chance the next time you are in the Rochester area.

Sincerely,
Jeff A
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

After staying the previous night at an overpriced hotel that was terrible, we hoped for the best with this one. We were not disappointed. The welcoming decor and staff were all that hotels should be. The hotel is 3/4 newly renovated. We requested a corner room on an upper floor by an exit, and received exactly that. Unfortunately, in a short while our air conditioner began to leak. Our staff person came up personally to look over the problem, and immediately showed us to another room. He personally checked THAT air conditioner and everything else in the room to be sure that everything was perfect. It was. This hotel offered a nice breakfast, with one caveat. Do NOT use the syrup! It was glue! I thought it was just one package, but several were the same way. You could literally turn it upside down and nothing came out. If you spread it with a knife, it st-r-r-e-t-c-h-e-d out into a big sticky sheet! Weird. Otherwise, the food was fine. When we visit my brother again, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottygirl329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
945 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Although the Country Inn is not in the heart of Rochester, they provide shuttle service into downtown area & Mayo facilities as well. Rooms are adaquate and comfortable. Breakfast is standard - nothing special. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Ronald,

We are happy to see you were pleased with your stay at the Country Inn and Suites. We are glad you enjoyed our complementary shuttle to the downtown area. Hopefully next time you stay we can change your mind and make the breakfast special.

Thanks for the review,

Jeff Amundson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, MN
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
3.6 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#19 of 52 in Rochester
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester
Address: 4323 Highway 52 N, Rochester, MN 55901-4154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rochester
#18 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rochester, MN hotel offers all the essential modern amenities for your relaxing stay near the Mayo Clinic, University of Minnesota Rochester and IBM Rochester headquarters. The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN offers free shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic in downtown Rochester as well as the IBM headquarters and the Rochester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Country Inn And Suites Rochester
Country Inn Rochester
Rochester Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing