We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience!! Filthy and RUDE!!!! WATCH OUT!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience!! Filthy and RUDE!!!! WATCH OUT!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We travel regularly, and this was a top 5 disaster. We stayed with another couple, and both of the rooms were filthy. Bathrooms were coated in a greasy film, beds smelled funny, it seemed like there was not a place in the room that you felt comfortable putting your skin up against. When we spoke with the front desk, and eventually the manager we were greeted with attitude, and comments that had us looking to move properties. They refused to let us check out without paying for the night so we decided to tough it out. After a noisy evening with little sleep ( the walls are thin apparently as you could hear guests walking and talking all night ) we checked out ready to forget the place ever existed. NOT THAT EASY !! After we got home we realized that they had charged us another $150. When we called thinking that it was a mistake, the manager rudely informed us that we had been smoking in our room and that we were not going to get our money back. WE BOTH HAVE ASTHMA !! We could not smoke if we wanted to. After 45 minutes of agonizing 1 way communication with this meat head it was obvious that they do this to a lot of people, and we would have to go to court to get our $150 back. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE !!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iFly0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airportgm, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Your comments deeply concern me. As the General Manager, I can honestly say this is a surprise. The room cleanliness does not sound like our standards at all. The rude guest service representatives also do not sound like us. No guest should be treated that way, at any hotel. You may call me, Steve Otto, at the AmericInn directly at 507-536-7000 to discuss this, and I'm sure we can solve this in a civilized manner. I would greatly appreciate your phone call to solve this issue. The thousands of satisfied guests can attest to our high standards of warm friendliness and sparkling cleanliness. Please contact me soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    12
    16
    17
See reviews for
62
31
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed at this motel the night before an early moring flight out of the Rochester, MN airport. Totally satisified with our stay. When we stayed, the motel was transitioning from another motel brand to AmericInn. Our reservation was honored with no problem. Young man at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Motel was clean, quiet and pleasant. Comfortable beds, flat screen TV with good selection of channels, small fridge and microwave, good sized clean bathroom with plush towels and nice tolietries (makeup remover, shower cap, lotion) Breakfast smelled yummy, but we were leaving too early to take advantage. Motel offers a park and fly package, think we may try that next time, and save some $$ over parking at the airport. The motel is only about a 2 minute drive from airport, so either way is super convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FL_4ever2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airportgm, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate the stay, and we were happy to accomodate you. It is nice to hear that our new franchise amenities worked well for you. When you use the park and fly offering next time, be sure to use our complimentary airport shuttle service. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This hotel had all the amenities of a large hotel at a great price. Staff was very friendly and accommodating in helping me arrange transportation to the Mayo Clinic. The restaurant next door delivers room service and is much better than your typical hotel food. Free internet, breakfast, and parking was a nice perk!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adamsshane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airportgm, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to seeing you again. I will pass along your comments to our neighboring restaurant. They will be pleased to hear them. Please join us again for your next stay in Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

This hotel was booked as part of a family trip to the medical facilities in Rochester and I have to admit that I usually like to stay in a "higher" class of hotel. Having said that, this hotel was awesome! It was a pleasant surprise in terms of comfort, cleanliness and price. I'd recommend it on all those bases.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doneyroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
Dear Doneyroney ~ Thank you very much for your kind comments about our Sleep Inn & Suites. We are very proud of our team. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Rochester.
Deborah Knox ~ Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn.
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2010

With myself and several co-workers being put up in this Sleep Inn for weeks at a time, you would think the people there would bend over backwards to keep you happy and coming back. Guess not!!!!! As our job requires us to be at work before 6AM, I asked if the kitchen could be opened early. I was told the kitchen was only open early for airline staff, and that i was welcome to coffee and juice. wow! Sleep Inn would have lost my business, if I was the one paying for it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR007R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear MR007R~ After reading your note, I wanted to let you know that we will work to see what we can do to help get you breakfast prior to 6am. Our management team has received your concern. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as we do value you and your company as a customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

The room was quiet. The bed was a bit soft for my taste. The front desk staff was friendly

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich-in-MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul, mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2008

This hotel had some bad reviews so I was a little hesitant to stay there but it ended up being a perfect stay. The room was clean, the front desk staff was particularly nice and friendly and the hotel wasn't terribly busy which is nice. I was staying overnight to do some tests at Mayo and this hotel was conveniently located considering it was several miles away. As it turns out it was a straight shot to the hospital and there was some shopping not too far away.

The breakfast was yummy--the usual continental breakfast fare but additonally had the make your own waffle thing which was pretty cool. There is a restaurant next door--333 or something? We had dinner there since it was in walking distance. The food was good and reasonably priced and you get 10% off with your hotel room key.

The pool is small but everything was clean and we had the pool area pretty much to ourselves. We tried to use the steam room but couldn't figure out how to run it. I didn't really feel like bothering the staff since I was already wet, so the hot tub sufficed. :)

My only negative comment about this hotel is one that is common to any newer, affordable hotel: the walls are pretty thin, meaning you can hear a lot of the people around. This wasn't that big of an issue for us.

Honestly, I don't know why it's rated a one star hotel. Overall, great experience!

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank modest63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
3.3 mi away
America's Best Inn - Stewartville
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester South
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Rochester
Comfort Suites Rochester
#24 of 52 in Rochester
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
4.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Rochester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport
Address: 7320 Airport View Dr SW, Rochester, MN 55902-1847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn and Suites, Rochester offers every traveler the best location for visiting the Mayo Clinic and the many attractions of Rochester. The new owners and management has freshly remodeled the lobby and breakfast area. Our many amenities are accented by the spacious rooms and comfortable appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Rochester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel And Suites Rochester Airport
Sleep Inn Rochester
Rochester Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing